Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
45% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Beautiful hotel with amazing staff. Would love to stay here again when in Beaverton
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Chris Our Team would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're all very happy to see that your stay was a great one. We look forward to having you back in the future. Sincerely, Armando Lopez General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to hospital and shopping center

Posted Dec 8, 2017
The location was perfect and the facility was quiet. However, the rooms are dated. There were 3 switches in the bathroom. Only one for the lights worked. Neither the fan (?) or the heat light worked. Old tv, which didn’t turn on unless I hit the power button several times. Quieter heater would be desirable. Appears updates might be occurring, which would make this facility more appealing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest Our team would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate the feedback as this will help us focus our efforts on improving our hotel. We are indeed doing updates all over the hotel and we hope that you'll return to enjoy them. Sincerely, Armando Lopez General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salem, Or

Convenient location

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Pros: The view from the King building was very nice.
Cons: Locks and room cleanliness need improvement.
Location: Convenient to Providence St. Vincent hospital, major highways and an easy commute to downtown—during non peak times.
I stayed in the King building, which uses keys for entry. Main door was tricky to open, but knob/lock was flimsy and felt insecure. While the room door was easy to open, its doorknob also felt flimsy and not totally secure. There was remodeling going on in the building and drywall had left trails throughout. Fixtures, blow dryer, floor corners, etc needed a good scrubbing. The heater was quite noisy. View of gazebo and surrounding area was lovely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Pam, Our team would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. I want to make it a point to thank you for letting me know how the remodeling crew is leaving the conditions. I will personally address immediately. We are making changes down in our King Building and hope that you'll come back once we are completed to enjoy the new look. Sincerely Armando Lopez General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Very outdated, no dinning room, very !limited bar food (having no dinning room) hall carpets old and stained peeling wall paper and peeling baseboards
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest Our team would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate the feedback you offered and we will be working hard to update our hotel, and the the restaurant is also in the process of their updating to bring a nice steakhouse to the hotel. We hope to be done very soon and hope that you'll give our hotel another chance. Sincerely, Armando Lopez General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2017
All the amenities you need! Everything was good. enjOy!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Tone, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Our team is grateful for the feedback. We hope to see you on future trips. Sincerely, Armando Lopez General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Just a room to sleep in

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: See my comments on our experience
Location: Shopping isn't too far and either are places to eat. We were close to the gymnastics gym so that was our main objective there in Beaverton.
We were in Beaverton for gymnastics clinic for my daughter. It was close to the gym so it was very convenient. It was also close to shopping so I had something to do when she was doing gymnastics at OMEGA. My first impression was that it was probably at one time in the 1970's was a nice hotel. Very old, very run down and I felt very overpriced for what we paid. In hindsight I should of paid an extra $40 to get a better hotel room elsewhere. When we checked in they couldn't find my reservation. We got our room and then it was pretty outdated. Old fashioned t.v, furniture etc. When the tub knob broke we got to change rooms and we got a flat screen t.v. and updated tiling in our tub/shower. Still it was very old fashioned. My bed was a bit lopsided too. Also there were no card key entries. They gave us an old fashioned key. There was a sign on all the entry way doors that said after 10 p.m. the only way to get in was by using the key. However the doors were never locked and it felt very unsafe. Also free breakfast was toast w/jam, plain bagels and boxed donuts from a grocery store. Coffee, water, apple and orange juice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Marian First I want to thank you for staying with us and I hope your daughter had a great time at the gymnastics event. I'd like to apologize for your stay being a bad one. Our hotel is under major changes in all the areas that you mention in your feedback. I would like to invite you back in the near future to have an upgraded room, and once our breakfast changes go into effect. Please feel free to reach out to me directly and we can talk more about this. Sincerely, Armando Lopez General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Not the same hotel it was a month ago

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: It is an older hotel with some charm, it is clean
Cons: have some food at the breakfast room, have the rooms cleaned daily
Location: nice restaurants nearby
I stayed at this hotel twice in October, with 2 different experiences. The second weekend the "breakfast" was donuts, bagels (no cream cheese) , bread for toast and oatmeal packets. No milk, no eggs, no cold cereal (all were there the first stay). The room was clean, but the housekeeper did not even empty my garbage or ice bucket the second day of my stay. If the hotel had been like this the first time, I would never had returned.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Teresa We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are working hard to make improvements to our breakfast. We realize that as of now it is not ideal for our guests. We hope to have the necessary permits in place to allow us to do more of a breakfast in the future. I'd like you to know I will be working closely with housekeeping as missing a guestroom for service is not how I would like our guests treated. We will make sure we correct this issue right away. We hope to have you return at a later date to see newer and better things at our hotel. Sincerely, Armando Lopez General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Toilet leaking into bedroom!

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Walked in to the smell of moist carpet. Took of my shoes and immediately stepped into a puddle. Fell asleep woke up next morning to find a pillow on the floor completely soaked and yellowish. Notice toilet is barely hanging on to the wall. Everytime you flush it would fill the bathroom floor with a pleasant yellow pool. Contacted management for a refund. We will see what happens.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Josue Our team is grateful for you choosing to stay with us. We certainly apologize for the conditions of your rooms. I am embarrassed our staff checked you into a room in such condition. We will work hard with our teams to correct our issue in the room you stayed in. We have compensated you back for the stay as I felt in know way should you have to pay for the conditions you had. We hope that you'll give us another chance in the future so we can show you that what you experienced is not typical of our hotel. Sincerely, Armando Lopez General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean & Tidy - Nice fountain and landscaping

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Nice - Would recommend! Very clean rooms and tidy landscaping! Great cuisine in the restaurant as well!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Mark, Our entire team would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate the positive feedback and we're happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Armando Lopez General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vacaville

Disappointed, compared to pictures the Facilities.

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: The rooms and always need major elevations.
Cons: Rooms need to be updated and need a work station versus a 24 inch round table.
Location: We stayed here for the convention that was inside of Portland Oregon. The room was quiet.
Hotel is located fairly convenient area; with a lot of conveniences around. From the outside the hotel is very quaint and old.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Steven, On behalf our of our team I'd like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We value your feedback, and this will help us moving forward with planned renovations to address the items our guests need the most. We hope to have you back in the future and that you'll find better amenities. Sincerely, Armando Lopez General Manager