Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Chris from Akron, OH

nice option esp in off-season

Posted Jan 27, 2015 on Hotels
Decided to stay in state park lodge vs hotel (limited in this area). Surprisingly nice, clean, comfortable, quiet and nicely decorated for Christmas. Reasonable rate- we paid around $100 for large double.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Dwayne from Columbus

Christmas beauty in the lodge

Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels
The place was beautiful with all the Christmas trees I would go back every year. Good food in the dining room friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Quiet, clean, just what we expected and wanted

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Quiet getaway for a weekend of hiking and taking in the trails at Shawnee. Friendly staff and clean comfortable rooms. Bar doesn't open during daytime so byob.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by TDW from NYC

Great place to get away from it all

Posted Sep 15, 2014 on Hotels
The lodge rooms were much nicer than I expected, with a firm mattress and quality linens. The public spaces and hallways show a little more wear and tear. I'm not sure why there weren't any covers on the hallway lighting sconces -- just bare light bulbs. The food was inexpensive and you get what you pay for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by JD from Ohio

Nice for a weekend away

Posted Oct 22, 2013
Pros: We liked that we could all stay in one room, and we liked the pools!
Cons: Our room wasn't very clean. We didn't notice it when we first checked in, but many things in corners and under beds.
Overall we liked our stay at Shawnee State Park. We really liked finding a place that let all 6 of us stay in one room. The kids loved that there were bunk beds built into the wall. The location is simply beautiful, and the indoor pool and hot tub were nice. Indoor pool is warm for little ones. The rustic look and feel of the lodge was just what we were looking for. Large fireplaces and comfortable seating around the whole place was great. I think you pay for the atmosphere as we were surprised that the room wasn't nicer (or cleaner) for the price we paid. They had TV but very limited channels. It was a nice weekend get away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by KY Professor

Lovely place

Posted Sep 29, 2013
Great change from the standard motel/hotel experience! We even took a nature walk before we ate breakfast, then went on our way. While we were expecting to find below-average food, our evening meal was quite above average; a delightful surprise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Donna from VA

State Park Lodge

Posted Sep 18, 2013
Lovely location, plenty of amenities for the whole family. Friendly staff. A bit dated since it was build in the 70s, but overall great place to come with the family. Lots of ourdoor activities. the Cabins have been updated and are a terrific value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy accommodations in a peaceful setting

Posted Nov 16, 2012
I was not sure what to expect with no three star or above hotels in the area..I decided to take a chance on this place and I am glad I did. I spent almost half the price of the area's newest two star hotel, and was pleasantly surprised to stay in a clean, cozy room, in a charming and cozy lodge. Food in the restaurant was overcooked but decent and the staff was friendly.