Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2017
An attractive hotel, with excellent rooms. Sadly our stay was very short.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from preston

Very impressive

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Nice building and lovely setting
Cons: Parking was a bit squeezed
Location: Some very quirky old pubs and some nice eateries on the square.
Lovely hotel in fantastic grounds. Staff extremely friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saltburn

A lovely, typically English hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Everything - I had no complaints whatsoever.
Cons: None that I can think of.
Location: The market town of Retford is a quaint town with shops and restaurants.The hotel has plenty of literature of things to do and places to visit nearby
This was a lovely hotel - an old building but with modern facilities. The bedrooms are delightful - spacious, clean and well equipped with everything you need. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the gardens are beautiful. The restaurant is spacious and tastefully decorated, where friendly staff serve good food. Also, it is within easy walking distance of the market town of Retford where there are shops and other restaurants. There was a wedding taking place during my visit and I thought what a wonderful venue with lovely grounds for photos.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Pros: Convenient for easy access to town and surrounding area
Location: Hotel was in an ideal location for visiting friends in the area. Food excellent
Made very welcome at reception and given directions to room, which was very comfortable and clean. Could maybe point out not to put key card not near phone or credit card.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
rooms nice, reception desk swift and friendly, food ok but nothing special.
5 out of 5
by Prisna

Beautiful vintage hotel

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is so comfortable. The room is clean and spacious for two people. It is amazing that there is beautiful garden behind the main building. The room rate is reasonable. I will come back again if I travel around this area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Local visit

Posted May 21, 2017
Hotel was convenient and ideal for our purpose a great room and adequate breakfast
5 out of 5
by craig

Quality hotel

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
What a lovely hotel. I stayed here whilst in the area on business. The room was of a high quality with a very comfy bed and a nice bathroom. Went into Retford for dinner, which was just a short walk. The town is very nice as well and I will return again and stay at this hotel again
5 out of 5
by John

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Enjoyed our short stay. Was ideally situated for things that we wanted to do in the immediate area.
4 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
My wife and I booked a stay here just to get away for a night. Was a lovely room, with a roll top bath (booked specially). Food was good though, like the drinks, rather pricey (as is often the case at hotels). Overall very happy with the experience.