Ratings based on 561 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Easy to get to from the Mass Pike

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Cons: The clerk was a little grumpy
Location: Near Stockbridge, Great Barrington etc in the Berkshires
Easy to get to from the Mass Pike but very quiet. Clean comfortable room with microwave and. fridge, swimming poll in season.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Location is beautiful.
Cons: Beds could be more comfortable. To firm. Need pillow tops on beds.
Location: Lots to do in Stockbridge which is a few miles down the road.
Owner very pleasant. Very accomodating. Room and bathroom Very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Consistently good

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Price and location
Cons: clean up a bit more, dust and cobwebs
You pay $50 for a room and you get a comfortable, clean room, helpful and pleasant staff with no frills. We frequent Pleasant Valley Motel because it's such a good deal.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland, UK

It was a long way from anywhere, including shops

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Make the breakfasts more tasty and give a better choice. Either provide tea/coffee machines in every room, or change the advertisements on the web.
Location: As long as you have a car, too far to walk to anywhere.
Advertised coffee making machine in all rooms on their website (and on other websites) there were none at all in any of the rooms and they claimed they didn't even have a kettle we could borrow even with our own coffee/tea etc. No coffee or tea or water in the lobby either. The room was dark and dismal (even with the lights on). Had a stale smell to it. Dusty behind the bed, fridge, and on the Breakfast was very poor and it had to be eaten on the patio outside as no seating inside. Okay in the Summer but not much good in the rain or the cold weather. It was a long way from anywhere, including shops or towns etc.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

You Get What You Pay For

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Convenient to the event I attended and low cost.
Cons: Needs to be renovated.
Inexpensive and it shows. Very cramped bathroom. Cracks in floor tile. Badly lit room. Breakfast was cold cereal and what seemed to be day-old sugar coated donuts. No water in the pool but I wasn't planning to swim. Wonder if pool is ever available.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

Adequate place to sleep while in the area

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The Bates Motel... the staff was ok, but the English challenged clerk could not help me with a statement on check-out. Hair dryer broken, hot water slow, shower was a bit sad... but it was $50 a night, and I just needed a place to sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for an overnight

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Location and price. We just needed a place to stay for one night.
Cons: Continue upgrades
Location: Endless...it's in the Berkshires!
We have stayed here before. Our room was very clean and appeared to be upgraded in the bathroom. It is an older motel and as long as you know that ahead of time, you won't be disappointed. It's very reasonable and our room was very clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from rochester nu

Inexpensive, but not clean

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Dirt in bathtub and a drop of blood on sheets. Bottom of the line place to sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island NY

Close to Tanglewood

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: The beds are comfortable & great hot water for a shower. We also like the refrigerator and microwave.. The continental breakfast is a nice touch.
Cons: There is mold around the bathtub. The lamps and especially the bathroom fixture were covered in dust. The door on the inside needed a paint job.
Location: Close to Tanglewood and the historic homes and museums in the Berkshires.
We have stayed here several times in the past because it is close to Tanglewood, the summer home of the Boston Symphony. It is an easy ride to this motel after an evening concert at Tanglewood.
4 out of 5
by Andrew

Recommended

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
Slightly dated but clean, and very nice family who runs this place. A great option for cultural travelers to the Berkshires on a budget. Great location between Stockbridge and W. Stockbridge villages, and about 4 miles from Tanglewood. My only complaint is the ridiculously early 10 AM checkout time.