Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel for restful holiday

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Had its own grounds, food and service were excellent
Location: a few miles from east grinstead which is a pretty place
Characterful hotel that has lovely garden to the rear where you can enjoy a drink and or meal whilst soaking up the beautiful views. The reflections restaurant served wonderful tasty food and the service was excellent. In fact all the staff at the hotel were both attentive and excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Jun 2, 2016
All spa facilities are clean and in good condition. Very relaxing stay and beautiful grounds and nature surrounding hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from winson

Overall good

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Overall a lovely hotel and spa masseurs' were very professional and experienced the facilities need improvement in certain areas such as mosaic tiles missing around pool areas,bird poo around aromatherapy pools which was unhygienic so didn't use them.The hotel was clean and tidy the staff were helpful and polite the food was excellent.if I was to criticize it would be that the a la carte menu was limited with choice compared with the other restaurant which was just as good as the a la carte restaurant. . I think that the hotel should have more options in regards to overall deals to link the spa and meals packages to create better value for money as i spent over £1700 for two people for 4 nights,4 no treatments between us,breakfast and dinner for the both of us which I think is very expensive considering what you could get if you went abroad for the same thing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brighton,England

Needed a rest

Posted Mar 27, 2016
Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to have a rest, relax and use the great spa facilities. The grounds are beautiful and High Beeches & Tullys farm are a stones through away (open from late March).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with wonderful staff

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Our stay at the Alexander House Hotel was really enjoyable with a comfortable room and delicious food. It was made even better by the staff who could not have been more courteous, friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced, low calibre hotel.

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Short stay, inexperienced staff, comfortable bed, overcrowded swimming pool, irritating corners cut for an expensive hotel (eg no body lotion in the bathroom, no space to sit and watch tv in room unless lying down, very sparse breakfast and poor quality)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good large room with lovely bathroom. good bed

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: comfort and views. peaceful
Cons: cheaper wine
Location: loads - nymans, standen, wakehurst.
better than expected. spa good and room lovely - food good thought wine by the glass overpriced.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2015
We had a one night stay for a treat. Stayed in Treetops room. Very nice facilities. We also walked around the property on the longer path which took 1.5 hours & is beautiful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kings Lynn, Norfolk

Very nice hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Spent 2 nights here for anniversary very nice hotel with all you need and a very high quality. My only gripe is I felt £15 for the continental breakfast was steep for what you got. However very nice hotel in a great location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, staff & foods but Spa disappointing

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Food and surroundings
Cons: Spa, the water temperature was too cold and indoor jacuzzi was not working.
One of our main reasons for staying at this hotel is the Spa. Previous visits have all been lovely. Sadly on this occasion the indoor jacuzzi was out of order and the temperature of all the areas, pool, hydro pool and even the outside jacuzzi were all cold. Usually we would spend several hours enjoying the Spa but on this visit cut it very short as got too cold. However the staff were all friendly and helpful as ever and we had superb views from our room (Chelsea ) over the grounds, would definitely recommend. The other main draw for this hotel is the food and once again they did not disappoint on this front.