Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kent

Lovely grounds, excellent service and great food

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: The staff were friendly and helpful though sometimes, their foreign accents made understanding them difficult. The bed was exceptionally comfortable.
Cons: Steam Room and Sauna in the main spa so couples can share the experience! Lift agonisingly slow.
Location: We didn't leave the hotel!
We stayed for a couple of days to enjoy a spa break. It is not a cheap place to stay but we knew that before we went. We didn't have the breakfast included in our room rate and it therefore seemed very steep to pay £15.50 for a bowl of cereal and a croissant! We ate in both the Brasserie and the Restaurant and found the food and service in both excellent. The spa we found quite noisy - not from the people in it necessarily but the echoing nature of the space and the fountains that were quite loud. The outdoor hot tub and sauna were a treat, we had them to ourselves! We were really disappointed that the steam room and sauna facilities were in each individual changing room and my partner and I could not therefore do that together. The room was large and the bed really comfortable. Especially nice to have different teas on offer. The shower was underwhelming, expected better in a junior suite but the bathroom was enormous and well equipped.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

Nice hotel but....

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Rooms and staff
Cons: Room checks and bottled water in the room on arrival. Some water appeared during turn down but it would have been nice in the room when we got there.
Location: Nice grounds and country location
The hotel was really nice and the staff couldn't be more helpful. However, I wanted a relaxing Spa break and the pool facilities are small, very busy and noisy. Had to search for the tv remote and eventually found it under the bed. This caused me to question how well the room was cleaned.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Luxury, relaxing and Tranquil spa break

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Romantic & relaxing stay. Beautiful hotel and spa facilities. Amazing food and dining experience. Genuinely attentive staff. Very comfy bed and cosy room. Cleanliness was never questioned. I'll be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: Beautiful grand Country House. Relaxed atmosphere in the Spa Wing where I stayed. All amenities convenient i.e. pool, treatment rooms, rooms and res
Location: Weather did not permit to walk in the garden
I was disappointed when they showed me my room, it was too small and austere looking with its dark colours and view facing the back building. I was offered to upgrade it for £50. extra. The room they shown me was great, spacious, bright with view on the garden. I was surprised to find out that breakfast was not included. I was told that I should not have booked through a third party because it said that I booked for room only. With a room at £167. initial price, I was expecting breakfast. However, after talking to the manager, he waved the £50. and I paid for my breakfast and evening meal which amounted at the same. I also had two treatments at £70 each, for back massage and facial.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Very nice hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Very nice hotel and facilities we had a spa suite was amazing
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old English comfort and style.

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here following an evening event at the hotel and found it comfortable, with a good, although rather expensive, bar. The spa is first class with lovely facilities and a wide range of treatments.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxury

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Staff, hotel and spa all outstanding
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A bad room at a nice hotel ruins the experience

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
The room seemed like an afterthought or just trying to squeeze space out of an attic. The room sits at the top of a dodgy spiral staircase with thick soft carpeting. Easy to take a tumble. The room had two separate half bath and a small bedroom. If you go, be sure to request (demand) the newer building.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy rooms

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
We choose this hotel to relax in countryside. It has amazing park surrounding but most of the rooms windows overlooking at the inside court yard with the extremely noisy vent pipe in it. We're very disappointed of such urbanistic nights in heart of Sussex.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money, shame.

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
Visited for a friends wedding, but overall was disappointed with the hotel. Service was hit and miss and breakfast was poor. Rooms in the main house have no Air Conditioning so in a heatwave it's like a sauna. Pillows in room were poor. Best thing about hotel though was the location, and the Spa area which were terrific. Shame hotel wasn't worth the money it charges so unlikely I would return as expected more from a 5 star hotel.