Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with wonderful staff

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Our stay at the Alexander House Hotel was really enjoyable with a comfortable room and delicious food. It was made even better by the staff who could not have been more courteous, friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced, low calibre hotel.

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Short stay, inexperienced staff, comfortable bed, overcrowded swimming pool, irritating corners cut for an expensive hotel (eg no body lotion in the bathroom, no space to sit and watch tv in room unless lying down, very sparse breakfast and poor quality)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

good large room with lovely bathroom. good bed

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: comfort and views. peaceful
Cons: cheaper wine
Location: loads - nymans, standen, wakehurst.
better than expected. spa good and room lovely - food good thought wine by the glass overpriced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2015
We had a one night stay for a treat. Stayed in Treetops room. Very nice facilities. We also walked around the property on the longer path which took 1.5 hours & is beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Donna

Amazing weekend

Posted Aug 22, 2015 on Hotels
It was great, The only negative was that the sauna was dirty. And the breakfast staff where quite stingy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kings Lynn, Norfolk

Very nice hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Spent 2 nights here for anniversary very nice hotel with all you need and a very high quality. My only gripe is I felt £15 for the continental breakfast was steep for what you got. However very nice hotel in a great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Richard from London

Great hotel not quite 5 star

Posted Aug 6, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely hotel. They thought alot of them selves but didn't get everything right. Food was average but came with high charge and spa could have been organised better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very Small Room

Posted Jul 31, 2015 on Hotels
The room I was given was tiny! I am only 5ft 4ins and I had to 'duck' to avoid banging my head. There was no air con, the window opened 3 inches and so the room was extremely hot! This room was not worth the money paid!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, staff & foods but Spa disappointing

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Food and surroundings
Cons: Spa, the water temperature was too cold and indoor jacuzzi was not working.
One of our main reasons for staying at this hotel is the Spa. Previous visits have all been lovely. Sadly on this occasion the indoor jacuzzi was out of order and the temperature of all the areas, pool, hydro pool and even the outside jacuzzi were all cold. Usually we would spend several hours enjoying the Spa but on this visit cut it very short as got too cold. However the staff were all friendly and helpful as ever and we had superb views from our room (Chelsea ) over the grounds, would definitely recommend. The other main draw for this hotel is the food and once again they did not disappoint on this front.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel to celebrate special occasion

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: Exclusivity, good staff.
Cons: Sauna and steam rooms that could be used by both sexes.
We stayed for the night for our honeymoon. We had a lovely room, the service was exemplary, everyone was very helpful. The food was delicious.