Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Luxury, relaxing and Tranquil spa break

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Romantic & relaxing stay. Beautiful hotel and spa facilities. Amazing food and dining experience. Genuinely attentive staff. Very comfy bed and cosy room. Cleanliness was never questioned. I'll be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: Beautiful grand Country House. Relaxed atmosphere in the Spa Wing where I stayed. All amenities convenient i.e. pool, treatment rooms, rooms and res
Location: Weather did not permit to walk in the garden
I was disappointed when they showed me my room, it was too small and austere looking with its dark colours and view facing the back building. I was offered to upgrade it for £50. extra. The room they shown me was great, spacious, bright with view on the garden. I was surprised to find out that breakfast was not included. I was told that I should not have booked through a third party because it said that I booked for room only. With a room at £167. initial price, I was expecting breakfast. However, after talking to the manager, he waved the £50. and I paid for my breakfast and evening meal which amounted at the same. I also had two treatments at £70 each, for back massage and facial.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Very nice hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Very nice hotel and facilities we had a spa suite was amazing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel for restful holiday

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Had its own grounds, food and service were excellent
Location: a few miles from east grinstead which is a pretty place
Characterful hotel that has lovely garden to the rear where you can enjoy a drink and or meal whilst soaking up the beautiful views. The reflections restaurant served wonderful tasty food and the service was excellent. In fact all the staff at the hotel were both attentive and excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Jun 2, 2016
All spa facilities are clean and in good condition. Very relaxing stay and beautiful grounds and nature surrounding hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from winson

Overall good

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Overall a lovely hotel and spa masseurs' were very professional and experienced the facilities need improvement in certain areas such as mosaic tiles missing around pool areas,bird poo around aromatherapy pools which was unhygienic so didn't use them.The hotel was clean and tidy the staff were helpful and polite the food was excellent.if I was to criticize it would be that the a la carte menu was limited with choice compared with the other restaurant which was just as good as the a la carte restaurant. . I think that the hotel should have more options in regards to overall deals to link the spa and meals packages to create better value for money as i spent over £1700 for two people for 4 nights,4 no treatments between us,breakfast and dinner for the both of us which I think is very expensive considering what you could get if you went abroad for the same thing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton,England

Needed a rest

Posted Mar 27, 2016
Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to have a rest, relax and use the great spa facilities. The grounds are beautiful and High Beeches & Tullys farm are a stones through away (open from late March).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with wonderful staff

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Our stay at the Alexander House Hotel was really enjoyable with a comfortable room and delicious food. It was made even better by the staff who could not have been more courteous, friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced, low calibre hotel.

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Short stay, inexperienced staff, comfortable bed, overcrowded swimming pool, irritating corners cut for an expensive hotel (eg no body lotion in the bathroom, no space to sit and watch tv in room unless lying down, very sparse breakfast and poor quality)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

good large room with lovely bathroom. good bed

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: comfort and views. peaceful
Cons: cheaper wine
Location: loads - nymans, standen, wakehurst.
better than expected. spa good and room lovely - food good thought wine by the glass overpriced.