Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from brighton england

A touch of class

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: All round quality & service
Cons: Bit more older character to our room would have been nice
Location: The chalk pits nearby.Lovely village,thatched cottages.a couple of nice pubs nearby.
Lovely all round.would have liked our room a little more medieval in keeping with the rest of the castle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, Arizona

Magical

Posted Oct 20, 2017
My husband and I had a truly wonderful and magical stay at a real castle. I would highly recommend Amberely Castle. The staff were amazing and the location and room were stunning as well as the food!
5 out of 5
by Ruth

Comfortable stay in an exceptional location.

Posted Oct 14, 2017 on Hotels
Comfortable stay in an exceptional location. Amberley truely is a gem and from the minute you arrive and drive through the old castle entrance you can feel history coming alive before your eyes. Although some areas are in need of some TLC the overal impression is of a stay in axceptional place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Royal Treatment - but charged twice :(

Posted Oct 9, 2017
I travel quite a bit, and on this trip alone, stayed in 9 different hotels across Scotland and England - THIS HOTEL IS EPIC. Every single aspect of our stay was like a fairytale. The staff was remarkably engaged and intuitive to work ur needs, and so incredibly kind it made me want to stay forever and be their friends! Our room was absolutely delightful - spacious and clean with a huge comfy bed, fresh homemade biscuits, great tea, a lovely bathroom (the whole place smelled great because of an oil diffuser!) There was soft calming music playing when we came in and we got the best night of sleep in the comfiest bed I've ever encountered. Breakfast was included and was amazing, the grounds are breathtaking (croquet yard to play games, stunning garden areas, and beautiful sitting rooms). We left our windows open overnight and woke to the sound of birds chirping in the garden. Dreamy. The only problem I had was that the hotel charged me twice - still sorting that out (even though I was reassured this would not happen by the front desk girl when she initially told me I owed and I presented my receipt of payment)...and now I am back in the States and it may be a big hassle. Frustrating. But I will be back to the hotel as long as this sorts out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Somerset, UK

Lovely hotel, wonderful surroundings

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: The staff and the ambience.
Cons: Maybe a few more toiletries.
Location: You need a car to fully benefit from this location. Arundel is nearby and well worth visiting. Otherwise there are lots of lovely walks.
This is a lovely hotel and the staff are wonderful. The food was amazing too. The only drawback is the cost but for a special treat you would go a long way to find a nicer place.
5 out of 5
by William

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by William

Good experience

Posted Sep 15, 2017 on Hotels
Front desk was not very knowledgable about other place in the area.
5 out of 5
by Brian

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
Very picturesque castle, lovely grounds very relaxing.
4 out of 5
by Jinwook

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Wendy

A Sussex Sanctuary.

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent hotel. Superb location and beautiful grounds - very peaceful. Very high standard of cleanliness. Extremely comfortable. Will definitely return for future visits to the area.