Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Exceptional hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Historical and luxurious accomodation
Cons: Just a refresh the bathroom tiles and fittings
Location: Close to the coast and also other historic towns like Arundel
Wonderful ambience, great staff, exceptional cooked breakfast and fresh fruit. Only comments are that the ensuite bathroom was a bit tired, but functioned perfectly. Also there was no fridge in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

A special place to stay

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Very special location, steeped in history, lovely surroundings and beautiful suite.
Cons: The opportunity to dine less formally.
Location: Lots to explore, Arundel, the coast, Midhurst and Cowdry Estate. Good wood is nearby
Behind the gatehouse lies the hunting lodge where most of the accommodation is situated, but we were upgraded to a suite in the converted cowshed just outside the walls. The accommodation was really well appointed, and really comfortable. It was a little disappointing not to be in the main castle, but it was peaceful and relaxing. The bed was super comfy. We dined in The Queens Room on the first night. It was a nice treat but very pretentious. The dining room lacked atmosphere, it could do with some music. This is the only dining available in the restaurant. There is a bar menu (but no bar area) to be served in ones room or in one of the lounges, but there are no tables to sit and eat, only low tables. We opted to eat elsewhere after the first night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely location, quiet, unusual, friendly, comfort

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly, efficient staff. Lovely location, quiet, interesting, good facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely Hotel and very helpful staff.

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Room: Bathroom with heated floor, great big bed, lovely complimentary biscuits. Staff were helpful and quick
Cons: Cooked breakfast portions could be a little bit bigger :)
Location: Amberley is a lovely village. Small but very pretty. Nature-lovers will enjoy long walks in the country-side. Lovely pubs nearby.
We enjoyed our stay at Amberley Castle very much. The room was cosy and clean, the breakfast was lovely and the staff were very helpful when we needed something.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami Beach

Beautiful country castle setting.

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Very beautiful place. Only issue was our room had no comfortable sitting chairs, only 2 Dining room type. A bit strange. Also, no safe. But staff and hotel were superb.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fabulous!!!!

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
An absolutely gorgeous property. Exceeded our expectations on every level. The grounds keeper was a wealth of information and suggested the hike up the hill from chanchtenberry ring. It was well worth the climb. Amazing!!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent stay , very friendly staff .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Paul B review from 13 Aug 2016

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
Outstanding, beautiful hotel in very impressive historic castle and grounds, lovely country setting - perfect for a romantic weekend break. Dinner at the Hotel restaurant was a great experience, though was very pricey @ £67 pp for a 3 course dinner - the food was of the highest standard and exquisite, but tiny portions for each course. I booked a standard classic double room, but was upgraded free of charge (without asking) to a very spacious suite over two floors which was lovely. I would recommend the hotel on the basis that price is not a concern.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels