Ratings based on 1,308 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel is a little further from the airport!

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Cons: could have been a little cleaner. . . . .
The hotel is a little further from the airport than I expected, but they do run a very convenient shuttle so it's not a problem really.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chilliwack,Canada

Hotel close to Gatwick Airport

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Stayed one night before flight home. Nice hotel, comfy beds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fredericton, Canada

Great hotel and good price

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Generally everything here is excellent. The only thing to really very annoy me was how long I had to wait for the shuttle bus from Gatwick. The sign says to call for pickup but the bus runs once per hour. Having just missed it it was then late and I had to wait an hour!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto, CA

Fine for an airport hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Location, pretty close to Gatwick--on the train line to Gatwick
Cons: Needs to be re-done.
Location: Close to downtown Crawley, with some restaurants and a shopping mall.
The Arora is certainly a reasonable place to stay if you need to be close to Gatwick airport. It seems to be getting a bit older and worn over time (I have been staying there for about ten years), but it is still OK. The one thing they have done is to improve the quality of the internet service, which has improved to about 2 megabits/second when it is not too busy. Everything else is about the same, but getting older. It could do with some refurbishment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Great location for Gatwick. All the conveniences.

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Modern hotel with all the conveniences. Complete suite of options for eating, drinking and just hanging out. Restaurant, pub, lounge bar and café. Good range of eating options from three course meal to bar snacks and the food is good. Well-stocked convenience store open from 7 am to 11 pm. Well equipped health club, but no pool. Premier room well worth the 20% discount on food and drink. All the staff, particularly Dejan at the front desk, was very friendly and helpful and exhibited a thoroughly "can do" attitude. The rooms were comfortable, well equipped and big enough that you could just hang out there if you were so inclined. A kettle and a good range of hot drinks are provided. Iron, ironing board and hair dryer are also good. The toiletries provided are good, but if you like to use a bar of soap, I would bring one. The in-room safe was big enough for a 13" MacBook Air (just fit under the lock mechanism) or new 13" MacBook Pro, but a big laptop would not fit. Very convenient to the Crawley railway station, but I would ask for a room that didn't overlook the railway line! An easy 5 minute walk to the shopping mall which has a good variety of shops including a Debenhams. You can also walk through the rear of the property to a nice restaurant district. The below-ground car park is large, well-lit and convenient, but only two handicapped spaces at the front door seems shockingly few for a 464 room hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birminham

Great hotel, super facilities and good restaurant.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Everything was very good.
Cons: I can't think of anything that could e improved.
Location: A little further out from the airport than expected, but normally there is a shuttle bus, so don't see that as a problem.
I booked the hotel as it came up as a Gatwick Airport hotel, as a stop over after a late flight from Prague. I had thought the hotel was closer to the airport, but it has a airport shuttle bus so it wasn't really a problem. We did need to take a taxi as it was after the shuttle bus was running. Very friendly staff, excellent check in - we didn't have breakfast, but had the option, also could have had coffee and pastries which was an ideal alternative. Instead of taking the shuttle bus back tot he airport, we caught the train directly from the hotel at Crawley station to Victoria which was a bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Nice hotel.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Close to Gatwick. Clean. Nice staff. Perfect for what we were after.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barcelona

Perfect in the center of south england

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Bus #10 reach you in 10 minutes to/from Gatwick airport. Crawley is a nice place to visit, shopping & dine. Only 45 minutes from London Victoria Station. You can access the train from the hotel. Perfect!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D.

Nice hotel close to airport

Posted Apr 15, 2017
We had a good 4 night stay at the hotel. We booked it for its closeness to gatwick airport. The staff were friendly and attentive and the rooms were clean. It is not a good choice of you plan on going to central London often, due to its location being pretty far.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E

Very nice stay.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
We enjoyed our short stay. Very comfortable room and the hotel staff were very helpful when I realised I had forgotten something in the room.