Ratings based on 521 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Beautiful hotel

Posted May 9, 2017
Cons: Provide either an elevator or someone to help carry bags to the second floor. Everything else was lovely.
The staff were helpful, the place was spotless, the rooms were spacious. The buildings were full of character. I'd recommend it to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Good hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Nice and quiet, with good facilities
Location: Looked as though there was plenty to do, but as this was only an overnight stop did not need to use anything locally
Good hotel, a bit further than expected from the airport, but with a good recommended taxi service, at a reasonable cost very good, worked well. Plenty of choice for meals. Will certainly use again if the occasion arises
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent, England

Useless bedding

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Convenient for Gatwick
Cons: Provide proper bedding and make the bed up so that duvet can cover shoulders.
We don't like sleeping in a hot room, so turned the temperature down from 26 C (!) to to a reasonable 18 C and opened the window a little. The duvet barely covered our chests, let alone our shoulders. It was tucked so securely at the bottom that we couldn't pull it up. It was very thin, the lightest weight I have ever seen. There was no blanket in the cupboard. So, we kept waking up cold and ended up having to put clothes on over the top of our PJs. A terrible night's sleep. I told reception about this when we checked out. They didn't seem particularly bothered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Quiet, spacious and convenient

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: It is accessible and spacious, yet quiet. Very conveniently located for exploring NT properties in quite a large radius.
Cons: Service in the Lion d'Or restaurant Is very slow because everything is cooked from scratch. This was not made clear - so long waits between courses!
Location: Obviously, close to Gatwick Airport. But also very convenient for visiting some great National Trust places in the county, which was why we chose it.
For a large hotel close to a main road, in a built up area, it is most satisfactorily quiet. We wanted a quiet evening, in an area close to some National Trust places we had for some time wanted to visit. For this it was ideal. It is easy to access, with a large car park, and a restaurant with good food.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from crawley

Tired in need of a facelift

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: The fact it has raised room available at short notice
Cons: Everything needs a refurbishment
The hotel is heavily used by large firms connected with the airport resulting in large loud groups using the bars and restaurant. In addition the rooms have no noise insulation so sleep is limited as every door closing can be heard.
4 out of 5
by Richard

Impatient maid ruins stay.

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Fab hotel. Friendly staff great restaurant. Room was great. Only problem was the maid woke us up at 0845 wanting to clean my he room. Must have had somewhere to go n a Sunday morning.then she knocked again at 1000...bang went a lie in on a Sunday morning...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Nice hotel close to the airport.

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Location for the airport and it's surroundings.
Location: Not sure what is close by other than the airport.
We stayed twice in this hotel on 7th and 14 Feb. It is about 7-10 mins from Gatwick Airport. The hotel has 'Olde Worlde' charm. All the staff were friendly and helpful. No problems with check-in / out. Room was clean and tidy. Room was a little cold
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland.

Okay, but not great.

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Can easily access Gatwick south terminal from this location. It's was £10 in a taxi for two of us for each journey. So £20/day. If you have dietary requirements then please beware of very limited menus in all restaurants at this hotel. The first day we got there we were to eat in at the Brasserie and was met with creamy fish pie, creamy tomato pasta and lasagne. I couldn't eat any of it. Settled for a plain burger in the white Swan pub. The burger came with all the toppings and extras I specifically requested not to have. When asking the waiter to take it back I was met with a horrible scorn on his face and an attitude no guest should ever recieve. I was told I was wrong in this instance and that's what I requested. After a long conversation he finally took it back. Room was great but lacked space to store clothing. Like there was a wardrobe but no chest of drawers to store tshirts or underware. I stayed for 3 nights and 4 days so I would have liked to unpack. Overall happy with my stay but disappointed in the staffs attitude at certain points.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Comfortable convenient hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: General ambiance
Cons: Three restaurants. One is very expensive for a short over-night stay, and the other two have the same very limited evening menu. I would like to see b
Location: Location for airport is excellent.
Good comfortable room. Reception was efficient and staff helpful. Plenty of parking. Very vonvenient location
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

No adequate heating

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Room temperature was chilli. Very uncomfortable.