Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Becky from Bristol, UK

Quite expensive but convenient location

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
I called ahead as requested on the booking, as we were due to arrive later than 10pm. This meant that we were required to do 'self-check-in' which basically meant finding our key under a mug and letting ourselves in. I understood as it is a guest house and not a hotel but then all the lights were on in the house and I could hear the TV was on, so seemed a bit strange they wouldn't greet us. The room was not very spacious and there was no wardrobe. The room was in desperate need of a revamp with the décor being very old fashioned and some fixtures/fitting being quite worn. The breakfast was offered at an extra fee which seemed unreasonable considering their business cards advertise them as a bed and breakfast, which in my experience means breakfast is included in the price. It was good but nothing to write home about. The woman hosting had very limited English and so it was quite hard to communicate dietary requirements etc. but she seemed nice. Overall our stay was fine as the location was very convenient for us (Hever Castle) but I do think it is very overpriced considering how outdated / old-fashioned it is.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

thank you Victoria

Posted Jun 25, 2016
It was great experience, the rooms were fine and overall look was that of bed and breakfast. The staff is what made the whole thing great. Victoria was there constantly, she either cleaning or helping you out with something. She cooked the breakfast. I was there for a wedding, she found me a cab how to get around Victoria is what made everything so much better
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic fair

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
Staff are helpful and friendly. Rooms are clean but dated. Linen and bedding are very old and matress was well used. Overall noise is low.
4 out of 5
by Ian from Southampton

Good for an overnight stay

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
Good for an overnight stay close to Gatwick Airport. Nice local pub with good food.
3 out of 5
by ashleigh from Southampton

Good for transfers to Gatwick

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
This guest house was chosen for it's price and convenient location to gatwick airport. There was a local charge of £15 for keeping our car there for up to 16 days which seemed reasonable. A price of £50 for the night reflected the convenient location but the facilities were a little bizarre with very thick carpets, floral EVERYTHING, a lot of models of rabbits and an absence of wifi. However, the owner was very accommodating in arranging our transfers with a local cheap taxi company (£10 each way).
4 out of 5
by simon from birmingham

looks can be deciving,,

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels
this is a nice place,,,,,good staff,,,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

From Gatwick in 10 minutes to enjoy.

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Hotel comfortable and friendly. Good rooms, quiet place and all very familiar. Hotel Staff engaged with the well-being of the guest.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location , good service

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels
well i enjoyed it. it was really quite.
4 out of 5
by mr Hughes from west midlands

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels
Gino and his wife were very hospitable. I was able to come and go as I please the room was clean and comfortable and was good value for the money. Thanks for your kindness
4 out of 5
by ElaineP from Fareham

Home comforts - a guest house not a hotel

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels
I only stayed for one night but the staff were courteous on arrival. If staying for business great location as close to gatwick, but still near the countryside so being awoken by the dawn chorus is a nice touch! Tea and coffee available in the lounge 24/7 and a continental breakfast for those departing before 0700. Parking is at a slight premium but as there are only 7ish rooms it shouldn't be too much of a problem. Rooms could do with a lick of paint but with free wifi and keys to both your room and front door, security is high. A home away from home