Ratings based on 1,494 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2017
This appearance of the hotel from the outside was ok but then I walked in and that's where it went down hill. First impression was that it looked like a second hand furniture charity shop. The man on reception was very welcoming and helpful. I had difficulty finding my room. There was a second person who also seemed to have the same difficulty as I did. I found my room and on first appearance it looked clean. I did get a good night's rest. In the morning I had a shower but it was horrible there was no hot water and I found a rather large clump of hair stuck down the plug hole. The television didn't work either on the screen it said "no signal".
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

For the money we paid would have expected better!

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Non much.
Cons: Knock it down and rebuild !
Location: None
Room was dated, doors not fitting properly, no clear instructions on how to find your room, lifts not working, parking spaces were poor and have to lift heavy bags a long distance once a parking space was found & The entrance was poorly signed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

last minute booking, due to missing flight

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Main hotel was lovely with lots of character. Friendly staff. Unlimited free coffee and milk for rooms when asked for.
Cons: KNOCK THE WHOLE BLOCK DOWN AND START AGAIN
Location: Near an industrial site. One pub nearby where we had our meal, (it had a better choice, than the hotel) and it also sold real ale, unlike the hotel.
Room 17 (in an old block around the side of main hotel) was awful, on arrival the toilet seat was broken, lid on the floor, towel rail broken, just left on end of bath, moved it and it didnt look like it had been cleaned underneath for ages. Bed was uncomfortable and not even a full size double which was so close to the wall that you had to climb over the other person or wriggle down to the end of the bed to get out. TV signal was terrible. Seals around the bath were mouldy and in places not even attached to anything. Carpet was dirty in room and filthy all through the communal areas. I am not fussy, I camp with the scouts etc and as a hobby and most of the campsites I have stayed in are 5 star compared to this dump.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Dirty Hotel with motorways surrounding

Posted May 20, 2017
Would not recommend this to my dog to be honest. Staff were lovely but I got bitten by bed bugs
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cornwall UK

Hotel close to Gatwick airport.

Posted May 18, 2017
Hotel needs upgrading. Grounds also need some serious attention.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bristol

better than expected

Posted May 8, 2017
This hotel has had lots of bad reviews. It they were baby and pet friendly, staff were friendly our room overlooked a pleasantly courtyard and there was on site lesuire facilities you could use for a small fee. For the money we thought it was excellent value
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Budget hotel (you get what you pay for)

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Renovations, renovations, renovations.
Location: Location is good. Only 5 minutes to the train station with easy access to both Gatwick Airport and London City.
This hotel is very run down and in serious need of renovation. I stayed in 2 rooms over 6 nights and both rooms had cracked basins in the bathroom. Beds and mattresses were very old and very uncomfortable. The carpets tiles and fittings dirty and old. The rooms never seem clean even after apparently being cleaned. The staff were extremely helpful, friendly and obliging but they can't make up the score on a very rundown hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible experience

Posted May 2, 2017
Brittania hotels are getting worse and worse, not recommended at all. Didn't like it
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fine for a cheap one-off stay

Posted May 1, 2017
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. We had booked two standard doubles but when we got there they said they were all taken so gave us 2 family rooms opposite each other for the same price. We had to move the twin beds together to make a double but other than that is was fine. The room was fine for what we paid. Lots of questionable stains dotted about and the bed was hard. We were glad we only stayed for one night. It is only worth it if you need to stay somewhere cheap and aren't planning on spending much time there!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Very busy due to location. Parking space hard to find. Easy check-in but tatty labels all over the counter offering discounts on dinner and breakfast if prepaid. Car reg has to be entered in screen or maybe clamped/towed. Long corridors out to the rooms, old and tired fittings. Room reasonable size, but tired. Bed OK, but only thin duvet. No extra blankets. Heating goes off at night, so took duvet from the second bed as was very cold. Tea and coffee making OK. WIFI not free in the room after few complementary mins. Generally old and desperately needs refurb.