Ratings based on 370 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Nice airport hotel

Posted May 21, 2016
Pros: Clean and friendly staff.
Cons: Shuttle to the airport.
Stayed here for one night on our way back from Italy before heading home to Canada. The hotel was very clean, the staff was friendly and the room was very nice and spacious. The only drawback was that the hotel is located a bit further away from the airport so you have to pay for a cab to get you to and from. Other than that I would stay there again for sure.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from living in sunny Spain

Lovely hotel in a quite position

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: Clean good food
Cons: Nothing
Location: Crawley was a good time waster, m flight was later in the day.
Staying alone in a hotel can be daunting, but I soon felt safe and happy.The staff were very kind.The room was wonderful and very clean. Breakfast was perfect.The staff called taxis for me. A lovely experience Thank you
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but out of the way

Posted May 14, 2016
Pros: Clean, room large enough, meals OK.
Cons: Not sure if anything can. Apparently it fulfills the needs of a lot of people who fly and leave their cars there. Ideal for that purpose.
Location: As I said without more research we had to take a taxi to get anywhere. Not ideal for a longer than overnight stay.
The hotel fit our needs but we were on,y in town overnight. It is not located very near to any attractions. We had to take a taxi to get anything worth while out of the area. Our fault for maybe not researching more.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Not as close to the airport!

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: n/a
Cons: Makeover the hotel. Beds, walls, carpet, walkways etc!
Location: Not much!
This hotel was not as close to the airport as expected, especially since it's called Holiday inn "Gatwick." Beds were not really comfortable and seemed very cheap. I'm glad we only had to stay there one night. Hotel staff was nice though. But the hotel needs a makeover for sure!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Gatwick but..

Posted Apr 10, 2016
The hotel is in the middle of no where. Staff were not friendly, parking for 1 night is expensive, walls are so thin. I was kept awake by the people next door. The hotel itself was clean and well kept. I forgot some items there that were thrown away, got no email asking if I still wanted them.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from usa

Nice and friendly place

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Nice place friendly staff, rooms are nice and comfortable only thing was my 2 y old hurt himself on the sofa bed as a metal piece on the corner was sticking out but other than that it was nice
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

GREAT STAFF

Posted Apr 2, 2016
The staff is very her!pful and accommodating. Jonathan went out of his way to take good care of us!!!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel charges £10 for parking !!

Posted Mar 19, 2016
It does not state on booking. The hotel is in the middle of no where so should not have to pay. It's not a premium location like central London. Iv never had to pay for parking at a holiday in. It's a scam! When I spoke to the manager they said report to Expedia. It's the hotels responsibility to ensure the listing is correct. Also there was a smell of cannibis in the bedroom. I reported to cleaning staff to bring an air freshner and they did not. Staff are friendly but after a 4 hour drive I don't need costly surprises.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2016 by Hans Berends, Front of House manager, Hotel Management
Dear visitor, thank you for your candid feedback. I am aware of your comments, and feel that, after review, we have to inform you that on Expedia and Hotels.com the information is reflecting that parking is chargeable at our hotel. As our property is often used by guests, using Gatwick for holiday, and leaving their car with us and paying for parking, we have paid parking in operation, like many other hotels in our area. I do feel your disappointment, i hope this does not deter you from choosing us again. Kind regards, Hans Berends
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chester

Disappointing

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Pros: Room was ok - spacious and clean.
Cons: Hotel staff - customer service was poor. The way that the room and car parking is charged - poor advertising / misleading
Location: Nothing to do nearby, other than fly away via Gatwick
Food was between bad and mediocre Hotel bar was very uninspiring Staff did not handle my complaint well - booked through expedia and the car parking charge was not mentioned at all during the booking process. It was only when I arrived at the Hotel that I was told that I had to pay 10 GBP extra just for parking! I brought this up with the staff on reception and it was handled very poorly. They said I need to pay to stay and I would need to bring the issue up with the manager in the morning, even though I explained that I did not have time in the morning as I'm travelling for personal business.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2016 by Hans Berends, Front of House manager, Hotel Management
dear nick, i am sorry to read you feel that the information on Expedia/Hotels.com was misleading in regards to the parking charges. We have checked this, and both websites do display that we, as many hotels close to Gatwick, have paid parking in operation. Kind regards, Hans Berends
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Net hotel, met OV wat lastig te bereiken.

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Prima hotel, nette kamers. Wifi ontvangst in de kamer was niet optimaal. Met het OV is het wat lastig bereikbaar, dichtst bijzijnde bushalte is 10 minuten lopen. Personeel was vriendelijk. Ontbijt was goed, kan het best een dag van te voren besteld worden (scheelt 6 pond).