Ratings based on 385 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cornwall UK

A convenient hotel for a pre or post flight stay

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Clean, convenient location with helpful staff and free wifi
Cons: The in room TV was poor with continual break up on all channels. We were reduced to watching TV on our laptop via wifi.
Location: Very convenient for the airport
We chose the hotel as we were flying back late to Gatwick and wanted somewhere to stay. This hotel ticked all the boxes as it was clean, convenient and well priced. The hotel was about 10/15 minutes from South Terminal and was very easy to find.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel.

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Location: A great place to take a walk, but you would need a taxi to get anything to do outside the hotel property.
Check-in was quick, and hassle-free. All the staff were kind and friendly. Exercise facilities were more than adequate. The pub/restaurant on the ground floor had good food and a nice variety. All in all, I would say this hotel should get top grades!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ, USA

Convenient airport hotel with fixed price taxi.

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: Modern amenities. Proximity to airport.
Cons: Communication about the taxi service in advance from the hotel and level of service.
Location: airport.
Hotel was modern and clean. Don't bother trying to use the shuttle phone at the airport. Does not work. Call hotel for their preferred cab company before you arrive to call them for transportation. Confusing and frustrating after a long travel. Price is not as advertised on Expedia or their site. 11.50 is for standard cab. They charge 15.50 if you need something larger. each way. Service from restaurant staff was HORRIBLE. Ordered drinks, then food. Kids food arrived before drinks. Took over an hour for our meal to come out after constant follow-up with the wait staff and the quality was poor. Very disappointing for a Holiday Inn.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

7 mins to Gatwick Airport

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Great for early flight. Reached destination nice and fresh after a friendly and comfortable night at hotel. Issues with car park barrier but easily resolved.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phenix City, Ala

The hotel was too far from stores or restaurants

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: The young lady who was a clerk was very helpful in our situation. She gave us maps and tried to tell us how to catch the bus.
Cons: Shuttle buses to town. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to tourist like us. Someone who needs rest and relaxation would want this hotel
Location: Everything was too far. It is a great location to ride horses.
The hotel was nice and the staff were nice. It was just too far to go out to eat or shop. You have to take a taxi all the time. We never saw the bus even though we stood at a bus stop. Breakfast was too expensive 20 pounds, The clerk forgot to give us a wake up call one day but I made sure that they had it down the next time. Our biggest disappointment was that if we needed to go we had to go by taxi. That is 24 pounds every day!! They should invest on a shuttle bus.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Close to the airport

Posted Jun 8, 2016
We only stayed for one night because we were ending our 3 week tour of Europe and flying back to Canada the next day. We had rented a car and drove to Stonehenge. We were so tired and overwhelmed by the driving. The Holiday Inn made it so easy: quick check in, parking, the restaurant for dinner, breakfast, and the most comfortable bed! We slept well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Nice airport hotel

Posted May 21, 2016
Pros: Clean and friendly staff.
Cons: Shuttle to the airport.
Stayed here for one night on our way back from Italy before heading home to Canada. The hotel was very clean, the staff was friendly and the room was very nice and spacious. The only drawback was that the hotel is located a bit further away from the airport so you have to pay for a cab to get you to and from. Other than that I would stay there again for sure.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from living in sunny Spain

Lovely hotel in a quite position

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: Clean good food
Cons: Nothing
Location: Crawley was a good time waster, m flight was later in the day.
Staying alone in a hotel can be daunting, but I soon felt safe and happy.The staff were very kind.The room was wonderful and very clean. Breakfast was perfect.The staff called taxis for me. A lovely experience Thank you
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but out of the way

Posted May 14, 2016
Pros: Clean, room large enough, meals OK.
Cons: Not sure if anything can. Apparently it fulfills the needs of a lot of people who fly and leave their cars there. Ideal for that purpose.
Location: As I said without more research we had to take a taxi to get anywhere. Not ideal for a longer than overnight stay.
The hotel fit our needs but we were on,y in town overnight. It is not located very near to any attractions. We had to take a taxi to get anything worth while out of the area. Our fault for maybe not researching more.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Not as close to the airport!

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: n/a
Cons: Makeover the hotel. Beds, walls, carpet, walkways etc!
Location: Not much!
This hotel was not as close to the airport as expected, especially since it's called Holiday inn "Gatwick." Beds were not really comfortable and seemed very cheap. I'm glad we only had to stay there one night. Hotel staff was nice though. But the hotel needs a makeover for sure!