Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Tara from Surbiton

Posted Jan 13, 2016 on Hotels
We had a great time. We were put in a decent double room in the new extension, but upon request we were then given a HUGE double that was more like a suite in the older, original part of the hotel, which was fantastic and bigger than my flat! We didn't understand why they didn't give us the better room in the first place, but we loved it once we were there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

Good job it's being refurbished.

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: It is close to the India Gate restaurant which serves the best food.
Cons: I think the whole of the inside needs demolishing and rebuilt to up to date standards.
The only good thing about our room was the view of the castle, the room was quite small and the dressing table was slanting so things rolled off it as the floor was sinking. There was a blue suite in the bathroom which was well worn so there was no way was I going to sit in there, and the shower head was useless and to get to the bath you had to walk sideways as there was a wall there with a very small gap to walk through. The breakfast was cold and seemed like it was pre cooked, the sausage was solid and just needed the egg to be added once we decided which one we wanted. My husband treated me to our stay there New Year's Eve as he comes from Arundel but he has said we will never stay there again, he felt totally ripped off.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Pros: Breakfast
Location: Very Central
Shower not working properly, old furniture, broken curtains...
2 out of 5
by Martin from Evesham

It requires more than a lick of paint

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
Oh dear, where to start. Yes I understand that the hotel is being redecorated but..... The general feeling about the hotel is tired, the staff appear disinterested in their customers. The check in/out was mot what I would expect. The carpet has been removed up the stairs, revealing a stone staircase which I was informed will be kept. (Heaven help anyone who slips!) Thr workmen don't even cover up the are in which they are working, consequently dust is left to fall/remain on view. At breakfast, there was no marmalade? We asked for some to be told it is on order! But the next morning, still the same response. Why doesn't anyone simply pop across the road and buy a jar? You are allocated ONE egg for breakfast, which amused many of the guests. You cook your own toast. The soap in the bathroom, is carbolic, the type you would find in a garage, the shower room was dark and dingy. Wall paper hanging off the wall, paint stains in the bedroom etc, a job which could be rectified in an hour or two, but left on show. I feel that this hotel could be superb, but it requires more than a like of paint. Attitudes, personnel, service need to be addressed. Despite everything, we enjoyed our stay, probably due to the hotel location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

town centre location next to castle

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Pros: Meals, close to town centre
Cons: Being updated at present
Location: Town centre location. next to castle
hotel is being updated. free car park during stay. meals and room were fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing special, but totally fine.

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
I think most of the negative reviews expect a bit too much from a three star hotel. The hotel is fine, not luxury, but clean and relatively comfortable. The heating is very good and the facilities are decent. It's centrally located, but considering how small Arundel is, unless you are miles out of town you can walk anywhere in the town within 5 minutes. That said, I probably wouldn't stay here again. My room had a part of a pipe running through it which loudly gushed with water anytime another guest emptied a bath - I ended up wrapping the blanket around the pipe to muffle the sound. The hotel seems to cook smoked fish at breakfast, which means the downstairs area smells very strongly well into the afternoon. Room service is offered, but there is no menu in the room, there's also no hairdryer provided. The hotel is fine, but it is overly expensive - I've stayed in much nicer 4 star hotels that charge less per night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Pros: Its central location
Cons: Looking a bit shabby but I think improvements are underway, they were working on reception during our stay
Location: The castle however, please note it is not open on Mondays!!! The reason we pick Arundel, so will have to go back.
Generally good. Reception was in the process of being done up, so bit noisy. Carpet being replaced on the stairs. All work that is best done out of season I.e. now. Room a little shabby - staff friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by Elisabeth

Charmigt hotell

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
Hotellet är en charmig, gammal byggnad som jag verkligen tyckte om! Det är väldigt många trappor (ingen hiss) vilket kan vara bra att känna till (jag älskade det). Mycket trevlig personal! Ingen överdådig frukostbuffé men ett stort plus att man kan beställa varm mat som tillagas efter beställning. Jag hade ett enkelrum som var rymligt och sängen bekväm. Jag är nöjd med min vistelse!
3 out of 5
by John

Couples stay in Arundel

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
A couples weekend in Arundel. We stayed in room 5 that was right next to a wedding that was very loud. The function room is on the 1st floor near the bedrooms. The room is adequate but in desperate need of a refurb. The bed was very comfortable and the view of the castle ok but the windows were dirty. The bathroom was like a room that time forgot (and not in a good way). Breakfast was good and served by very attentive staff.
5 out of 5
by Edwina from Croydon

Long Week-End at The Norfolk Arms

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was excellent. The staff were all extremely helpful and pleasant and could not do enough. We had dinner in the hotel on the first night which was very good. Breakfast was also very good. There had been a wedding party on the Saturday so breakfast on Sunday morning was really busy and I understand there were a couple of staff members who had called in sick so the two waitresses were working flat out. There was obviously a delay on breakfast arriving but it was still good. All in all I would highly recommend this hotel.