Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from East Grinstead, West Sussex

Lovely for a short break

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Pros: Friendly atmosphere
Cons: A little more attention paid to condition of rooms e.g blown lightbulb, rattling door
Location: Arundel has some lovely cafe's & antique type shops, & it is only a mile from the Wetland & Widfowl Trust reserve which is well worth a visit.
Went for a two night weekend away. Small & friendly place, a couple of small issues with the room quickly fixed. Perfectly situated just a few minutes walk from the town centre, but on a quiet road. Good full English breakfast & we had a lovely meal there on the Saturday night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and staff, however.......

Posted Feb 10, 2016
The check in was welcoming and they made us quickly feel at home., the pub was pleasant and welcoming. Host explained they were experiencing difficulties with the water and moved us to a downstairs room but the water pressure was very poor there, however this could improve once present difficulties are sorted. Our overriding concern was the electrics, there was a cover to a plug that kept falling off (they had explained it had only just happened and was OK) but then also I found an extension cable that the television was plugged into. When I tried to plug in my phone charger also it gave off sparks, worrying enough for my partner to unplug the lot, so we had no television in the room. Internet was sporadic. We let the staff know in the morning and he reassured us it would be resolved. So needs to be said that it was a nice room, the staff were lovely and the pub/hotel is really well situated with a very handy car park. I cant recommend as is but once hosts have addressed those current issues, I would definitely recommend. Regrettably we stayed on a Monday night so weren't able to sample dinner but the menu looked very good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing for a New Year stay

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Location in Arundel is outstanding
Cons: The advertised family room should be a double unless a guest explicitly requests a z-bed for a third person.
A high New Year's Eve premium was charged for a very modest family room which should really have been a double only, due to the space available. Unadvertised, the expect cooked breakfast became a pastry and some fruit / juice on a tray delivered the night before and to be consumed in the room. The furniture did not allow any means of achieving this. No wifi (advertised and essential) and a door lock that trapped us in the room until released by the landlord, prompted a decision to leave. The management were very apologetic and understood the complaints. A full refund was forthcoming without further issue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Last minute...

Posted Nov 13, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Room decoration and water pressure for the bath / shower.
Location: Great location near the Catherdral and a short walk into town with its many restaurants.
Due to work commitments we booked on the evening of our stay and had the last room, the Castle Suite. We were shown to the room by a helpful memember of staff who explained that because we were in the older part of the hotel the water pressure wasn't up to much so the shower left a lot to be desired. Other than this the room decoration was a little bit "tired" but was clean and comfortable. We have stayed here before and would definately stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gavin

A little gem in Arundel!

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
It was a lovely hotel and Paul and his staff were exceptionally friendly and very helpful and hospitable. The hotel was well located and the food very good indeed and great value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alison from Bristol

Short holiday break in Arundel

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
We found the hotel very friendly. The chef was excellent, but the menu was very limited with no change from day to day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Linda from Hampshire

Great pub

Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
Very pleasant stay staff friendly location good great to have a car park
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Stian from Telemark

Enjoyed this place

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
Friendly and service minded staff. Friendly and nice locals in the pub. Must also say that the local taxi drivers Norman and Jon was excellent as well. Will recomend this place if you are going to a Goodwood arangement.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ulf

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Carol from Javea Spain

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
Very friendly staff