Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Lovely stay and very comfortable. Nice to have bar and restaurant so no need to go far if don't want to. Only thing is when your feeling lazy and have a question or query no phone in room. However lovely stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel 5 minutes walk to the town centre

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Just one small issue, they took a payment before we arrived when it was agreed that we would pay on arrival but the owner soon solved the problem.
Location: A really picturesque wildfowl reserve nearby with several different breeds
Warm & welcoming staff, great old character, lovely menu with specials always available. Breakfast amazing. Just across the road from the cathedral which is a beautiful building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cosy room & pub. Decent shower too!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
It was a very convenient walk from the wedding we attended. Very cosy room & pub. Only thing letting it down was the dog poo all over the car park!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Great Hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. 16th Century hotel so loads of character and ambience. All the staff were lovely and extremely helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect accommodation for our stay

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay. Friendly and helpful staff. We took our two puppies and had a pet friendly outside room, which was ideal. Everyone made a fuss of the puppies and they were welcomed in the bar where they made friends with local dogs. We intend to go back next year again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cosy and freindly place to stay.

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
When I arrived I was surprised to find the room was not in the main building but in Motel type accommodation which was fine as there was little noise from the pub and you felt you had more privacy. The only issue is that the window backed onto the garden in the pub so if anyone was in the garden you could hear them but as the pub wasn't very busy it was fine. The room was clean and the towels had been artfully arranged as elephants which was a nice touch. The location was great as you are at the top of the town. The staff in the pub were very friendly and chatty and you were made to fee welcome from the off. The breakfast couldn't be faulted. Full English however you wanted it. The waitress, who also does the rooms, was very chatty and friendly and attentive. All in all a very nice break for a couple of nights. I think any longer and you'd get bored. Added bonus is although the cathedral is right on your doorstep there was no early morning bell ringing!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
Really nice Inn. Good pub, good facilities and in an excellent location near Arundel Castle, the bars, restaurants and amenities in this lovely town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good access, clean and comfy

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Good access to room in annex building by car park. Clean, comfy, excellent breakfast. Some of the doors and furnishings in room need slight attention
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Lovely weekend 😀

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, great breakfast, good sized modern room.
Cons: Wifi connection
Location: Cathedral is next door, the town a 5-10 minute walk downhill, and the Castle approx 10 minutes along Mill Road. Wetland Centre is about 25 minutes
I booked the St Mary's Gate Inn for 3 nights to celebrate my husband's birthday by spending the weekend in Arundel. The inn is situated at the top of a hill next to the Cathedral. We arrived early, Nevin the landlady was there to greet us and show us to our room in the annexe at the rear. There was ample free parking. It was a nice size, with good quality matching furniture , a TV and a comfortable bed. It was spotlessly clean, with a full complement of tea, coffee and biscuits. The shower room was modern and had lovely white fluffy towels and toiletries. We slept well, although it would have been nice to have been able to open a window. There was free Wifi, easily obtainable in the bar, but a little intermittent in the room.( Just open the door and it reconnects!!) We spent the 3 days roaming round Arundel, visiting the Cathedral, the Castle and the Wetland Centre. The breakfast was ample, with juice, cereal, yogurts, and a Full English of your choice. The sausages were particularly delicious. Toast and tea/coffee refills came quickly by a pleasant and helpful server. We ate in the bar/ restaurant on 2 evenings, the food looked and tasted nice, standard Pub Grub with a Specials Board and was a good portion size, especially the starters. The whitebait and mini Camembert were tasty and filling. The beer and wine was well chilled. The room was cleaned daily. All in all we had a great time here, and would thoroughly recommend to others.