Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Penzance

Beautiful quiet location in Sussex countryside.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Very good food and lovely garden in which to eat and drink. This clearly made it very popular with locals.
Cons: We could perhaps have been warned in advance that it would be extremely busy in the evenings for dining.
Location: Seemed to be plenty to do but we were involved in a wedding. Will definitely be back to explore the location.
I was very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the inn which was a random choice online. The room had everything we needed though was perhaps just a little small. The situation was idyllic and peaceful. The breakfast was excellent and the service good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dont expect to pay the price you book

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Not much to recommend. The location is lovely, but the rooms are cramped, and the food is barely average. Vey busy in the evening. Staff are polite
Cons: Transparent pricing.
Location: Goodwood, Chichester, nice walking. Singleton open air museum, west dean gardens
Rip off alert! This place is basically a pub with rooms. But because it's close to Goodwood the managers think they can rip off their customers with overcharging and dubious practices. I booked through Expedia, at the price they quoted on the Internet. I got an e-mail confirmation from Expedia, turned up at 6pm on the night, only to be told they were going to charge me £60 more per night 'because the wrong price was on the website and it's the festival of speed'. Excuse me, what happened to honouring an agreement? They claimed to have sent an e-mail to me with the new information, but I never received it and they didn't give me a copy, so I've no way of telling whether they did or not. At that time of the day, I didn't feel I had much choice but to pay up. But that kind of sharp practice should be unlawful. And to be honest, whilst it would have been ok at the original rate, it was rubbish value at the increased rate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Twickenham

Weekend stay

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: It is attractive and beautifully situated in the Sussex countryside. The staff were all pleasant and friendly and helpful. The accommodation was great
Cons: I can't think of anything
Location: See above
The room was clean, comfortable and well equipped. The staff were welcoming and the atmosphere in the bar and the restaurant was warm and cosy. We ate in the restaurant on both evenings and there was a good choice of food all of which was delicious and the breakfasts on both mornings were excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

excellent in every way

Posted Feb 15, 2017
I stayed in one of the courtyard rooms, a most comfortable en-suite twin with all amenities. Plenty of tea/coffee etc. provided. The breakfast was excellent. Staff friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Excellent find - wonderful brief stay.

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Lovely genuine welcome and comfortable stay.
Cons: Nothing we could think of.
Location: Chichester: small, friendly, Cathedral City; Chichester Festival Theatre; Goodwood Racecourse; Weald & Downland open-air Museum; Beaches.
A lovely find, well-situated just outside Chichester - open-hearth fires in the grates, and lovely atmosphere throughout. Delicious, finely-presented food and much to choose from. Overnight stay in very comfortable Room, with good-sized ensuite and fine shower. Genuinely-welcoming but not guest-fussy staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from guildford. surrey

Lovely old pub, lots of atmosphere.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Beautiful room in outside annexe. Would have been an old parlour one time. Very comfortable and warm. Food excellent. Very relaxing. Nothing but positive words to describe the experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

excellent stay food distinctly average !

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely accommodation and excellent service however, the food in my opinion was over priced , I had the fish pie which was very average and the garlic bread tasted of pure oil. I would stay here again but would eat somewhere else prior to staying.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay in a great pub with great food!

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable accommodation. We stayed in rooms in the converted outbuildings off the pub forecourt which were excellent and appeared newly converted. Well worth using the Fox for evening meals as the food was excellent and very good value. Staff were excellent. We were warned when ordering food there might be a wait as a large party was booked in and had just ordered. Dispite this, our food came very quickly which indicated they had juggled around the orders so we would not have to wait. We greatly appreciated this and indicates a level of care and consideration from staff towards their guests that deserves a five star rating.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good quirky Country Pub/Hotel with good food

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
Business trip and near to my first call next day. I checked in at night. That wasnt so good - directions were poor. The road the Pub is in, isnt referred on the booking form, just the village. In the dark that made it a bit challenging to find
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Welcoming pub, just needs comfy bar furniture

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Google search
Cons: Replacement of old bar furniture which more comfy seating
Location: The pub was very remote, could only be reached by vehicle
As a couple, we found 'The Fox Goes Free' to be a warm, welcoming pub. Our room was clean and tidy with lovely soft furnishings. Whilst the bar food was tasty, the staff welcoming and the pub warm with open fires, the bar furniture let it down for us. Upright wooden pews and rickety wooden chairs need to be replaced with comfy armchairs so that people can relax in the bar area - we actually cut our evening short in the bar as we were so uncomfortable.