Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely countryside gem

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
We had a friends wedding, so we weren't here to explore but the Stat and Garter accommodated our early start, and the man who did our breakfast was great. The night we arrived they got the fire going again and we had some wonderful food :-)
4 out of 5
by Derek from Nomansland

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
Nice pub friendly staff, excellent food
4 out of 5
by globalfoodcriticpro from Devon

Country village pub

Posted Nov 18, 2013 on Hotels
A very nice stay overnight for business. The lovely village is very peaceful and seems like it could be out on a whim, but it isn't very far from Chichester at all. Comfortable, clean, attentive personal service and good food. A properly run establishment doing their best. Check in is at opening time of 6pm though - but if someone is there earlier then you will be let in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location close to Chichester and the beach

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: The food was superb, the service outstanding and the location perfect. Both evenings we ate in the pub so did not have to travel to eat!
Cons: Some initial problems with the heating.
Location: Close to Goodwood races, Chichester and its beautiful harbour and beaches at the Witterings. We visited Portsmouth for shopping.
The pub was just under new managment and was experiencing a few teething difficulties regarding the accommodation, but the staff could not have been more helpful or pleasant. The food was totally out of this world; my husband and I have not eaten better food in years. Fabulous location - we walked on the beaches at the Witterings, and visited Portsmouth for some shopping. All in all a very relaxing treat and a gastronomic pleasure!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2012 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

lovely pub, lovely rooms

Posted Sep 26, 2012 on Hotels
We stayed at the Star and Garter as we were at nearby Farbridge for a wedding. The pub doesn't look much from the outside but inside its a lovely space, warm restaurant serving fresh quality food and a small garden area at the back. The room we had was across the road. It was a reasonable size, all kitted out with tasteful decor, lovely clean bathroom and comfortable bed! breakfast was delish, lovely fresh ingredients cooked to order and the service friendly. The village was pretty and quiet but unfortunately we didn't get a chance to walk around it or see what the surrounding area had to offer.
5 out of 5
by Adam

Lovely place in a beautiful location

Posted Aug 1, 2012 on Hotels
We only stayed for one night and our only regret was that we couldn't have stayed for longer! Lovely staff and very welcoming. Will hopefully be back again at some point in the future.
5 out of 5
by Kat

Lovely place to stay and fantasic food!

Posted Jul 21, 2012 on Hotels
Really lovely hotel. Very quiet location and the rooms are situated in another building opposite the main bar/restaurant so if you want a quiet evening without people you can have that too, though everyone in the bar both staff and guests are so friendly you wouldn't want to! As a single female traveller I felt extremely comfortable and safe. The rooms are lovely and very clean. The food here is absolutely fantastic and reasonably priced, I had dinner and breakfast and both were to a great standard. The staff here can't do enough for you as when I was travelling in I was unsure whether I would be in time for dinner and when I called they said they would make sure I had something nice to eat when I arrived and not to worry. Would definitely stay here again and also looking at coming back with my partner for a nice romantic weekend away!
5 out of 5
by Mark

Perfect for Goodwood.

Posted May 27, 2012 on Hotels
This really is a hidden gem, I visit Goodwood regularly throught out the year on business and have always stayed in the premier inn Chichester. Never again the star and Garter is perfectly located and with the friendly staff and excellent food this will be my hotel of choice. There are also some excellent walks in the surrounding countryside perfect for a summers evening.