Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Exceeded expectations.

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: dinner - the evening was just what we wanted to celebrate our wedding anniversary, i.e. good food, good wine, good atmosphere and service.
Cons: Plantation shutters in the bedroom.
Location: Really loved Arundel and the castle. The castle and the gardens were really great and we will efinitely come back to see the gardens at other times.
Great location but no hotel parking. Adjacent car park costs £7 per day (but only £1.20 per hour). it was very busy on Saturday afternoon but OK at other times, but this is not high season! Staff very friendly and helpful. The dinner and breakfast were both very good; good quality ingredients, interesting menu, and well presented Bedroom very clean, nicely decorated and good quality cotton bedding.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Everything ok.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay ; helpful staff

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed three nights. Rooms are largely situated over the pub/restaurant. Our room was well equipped and the bathroom recently furnished. There was no problem with noise, although in our particular room there was a slight smell emanating from the 'laundry etc' room below. Staff were very pleasant and helpful and the restaurant food for both dinner and breakfast was good. The price per night was relatively expensive but cheaper than the nearby Norfolk Arms Hotel. The hotel was also very helpful in accommodating an extra guest at short notice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would stay again.

Posted Aug 24, 2016 on Hotels
Value for money especially when you gake into account the great choice at breakfast. Friendly staff and nice atmosphere in the bar deserve a mention. Just remember the hotel is by a road and certain rooms will be noisier than others.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Awesome staff ....

Posted Aug 21, 2016
The staff were amazing and could not do any more to make our stay more enjoyable. Food in the restaurant was excellent and catered for our little one well. The 4 am start to the town market did restrict our sleep somewhat. However the hotel has no control over this! If booking ask for a room that is not located at the front.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Good Hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Nice hotel with good facilities based in the heart of the town. Excellent food menu day and night. Comfortable bedroom.
Cons: Some of the room facilities could be updated, for example no blackout blind/curtain to main bedroom window; bathroom window would not stay open.
Location: Lovely town to visit with some nice shops. Arundel Castle is a must for any visitor to the area.
Stayed one night in order to visit Arundel and it's Castle.
4 out of 5
by Bob from Chipping Ongar

Convenient for Goodwood

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
Nice stay - only gripe is the blind in the bedroom is unsuitable. Needs to be a blackout blind.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A mixed experience

Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
The good: This hotel is well located in Arundel. Our room was clean and nicely presented. Very nice complimentary biscuits. Staff all pleasant and friendly. The not so good: there is no air con and the room was stuffy, the windows only partially open so we didn't sleep well (a fan is provided but this is very noisy). Breakfast was good one day, but not the next (almost raw hash browns, anaemic toast, burnt sausage) - different chef maybe? The wi fi is very poor. Our room had window boxes and the watering system for this comes on in the middle of the night - might be a good idea to adjust it! However, the biggest issue for us was security: housekeeping left our room unlocked. The rooms are accessed from the back of the bar area so it's very easy for anyone to wander up there without staff noticing. There is no safe in the room so it was worrying that our room was left unlocked like this for several hours. We did mention this on checkout and the staff member expressed concern. However, on reflection, this is an important issue for us so we would not stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DELIGHTFUL STAFF MAKE THIS HOTEL SPECIAL

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Staff, food and location
Cons: A bit of tidying up of scuffed paintwork was all I could find to fault.
Location: Great location in the centre of Arundel close to the castle and other places to visit.
Stayed here for one night during the busy Goodwood Festival of Speed so price reflected this but despite the high cost I really enjoyed my stay. Comfortable room with everything I needed. Fresh milk with the tea tray was a lovely surprise as were the delicious complimentary brownies. Dinner in the restaurant was good value and delicious and the breakfast was great with local bread particularly lovely. The staff were all lovely, really polite and helpful and clearly know and look after their regular customers.
5 out of 5
by Zoey from Sheffield

Good Business Stay

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
Nice room, good location and great pub in the hotel itself.