Ratings based on 1,960 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Billings, MT

great stay

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: uniquely Yellowstone
Location: It's a small town and most everything is within walking distance
We stayed in the oldest, however nicely remodeled, part of the hotel. The decor is wonderfully Yellowstone. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Good dining is in easy walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by AGM, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Great location to anything and everything in West Yellowstone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2017 by AGM, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Good place to stay outside the park

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Siince all the park hotels were closed for the season when we visited, this was a decent alternative. The laundry room was clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by Stanley, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel and would definitely stay again

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Location: Very short drive (approx 1/2 mile) to Yellowstone National Park, West Entrance
Lobby appearance and presentation based on the local surrounding area - very inviting as soon as you walk in the door. Friendly, pleasant, and helpful employees who do their best to make sure you have an enjoyable stay. Clean room and comfortable beds. Included continental breakfast has a good selection of hot and cold items.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by AGM, Hotel Management
Thank you. We try very hard to provide a unique and friendly experience for our guests and we appreciate your feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Great Hotel close to Yellowstone

Posted Oct 9, 2017
It's a very comfortable cozy hotel just a stone's throw from the front entrance to Yellowstone National Park. Great customer service and free breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by AGM, Hotel Management
Thank you. We try very hard to provide a unique and friendly experience for our guests and we appreciate your feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from idaho

Nice hotel are 4th stay.

Posted Oct 8, 2017
We really like the location and the staff are so friendly. We will be back again next year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by AGM, Hotel Management
Thank you. We try very hard to provide a unique and friendly experience for our guests and we appreciate your feedback.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Centrally located with free breakfast

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: Free breakfast and laundy facilities
Cons: worn carpeting and drab room interior
Location: Located centrally in downtown West Yellowstone within 3 blocks of the national park entrance and within walking distance of stores and restaurants.
Stagecoach Inn is a large hotel frequented by bus tours. We stayed there in late September at the end of the tour season. The hotel was full on the weekend, but thinned out during the week. The breakfast was good and included waffles in addition to the usual bagels, muffins and cereal. The Inn is located in the center of West Yellowstone and within easy walking distance of most restaurants. The room had a small refrigerator and microwave. There is also a coin laundry in the hotel, but 2 of the 3 washers were out of order. The carpeting was worn in places and the room could use a fresh coat of paint. Everything was in working order and the mattress was firm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by AGM, Hotel Management
Thank you. We try very hard to provide a unique and friendly experience for our guests and we appreciate your feedback.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington

Worst customer service ever!

Posted Oct 8, 2017
We had no hot water and manager rude. When we asked about not having hot water we were told "wait till morning you might have it". When you are paying almost $200 a night expecting hot water I don't believe is to much to ask. When we asked for a cost break we were told "just leave my hotel". Manager very rude called us lying about water temp. Do not stay here tell friends do not stay here!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by AGM, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Overpriced and over ranked

Posted Oct 6, 2017
This hotel has a great location and nice staff but it is grossly overpriced. They will call your room "historic" but the only thing you will see is peeling paint, caving floor and lack of space. Breakfast is beyond redicoulus including days when they will tell you that they ran out of bananas and the next delivery will be in 2 days. It is worth perhaps $50-60 per night but never over $200. At this price you will find planty of better places around Yellowstone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2017 by AGM, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spokane, WA

Better off camping

Posted Oct 5, 2017
We checked on a Tuesday afternoon after reserving and paying for our room over a month in advance . This was just a one night stay on our week long trip. We planned to stay here after leaving Yellowstone National Park. We walked into the the lobby and the place smelled strongly of old stale cigarettes. Once in the room there was mold all long the shower wall, brown drips of god only knows what on the headboard, and a gap under the door that would allow you to put your hand under the door and reach out to the public hallway. My husband and I immediately decided we could not stay. We collected our things and headed back to the lobby. We let the gentslmen at the front deak know that our room was horrendous and we could would not be staying. They didn’t even seem concerned in the slightest. The only attempt to correct the situation was offering to give back 20% iof the rooms cost... for the dirtiest room either of us have ever set foot in. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!! You would be better of pitching a tent in the park, or the parking lot for that matter.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2017 by AGM, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.