Ratings based on 446 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice boutique hotel not ideal for business travel

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Headlines: Good central location No car parking (local discounts) Noisy, despite partial secondary glazing. Ask for a room overlooking the canel. Friendly front desk staff Quirky rooms, nice interior design Chunky room key that you wouldn't want to carry out with you unless you have a handbag. Uncomfortably hard bed which smelled of the previous sweaty occupier. Very poor wifi speed Nice toiletries Cleanliness could be petty (hair on carpet) Breakfast overpriced (c.£17 in restaurant or £7 for a muffin and coffee to take away). Just a few doors away, left out of the hotel, there's a small local cafe place very good value. Overall, paid £103.50 for a 'Deluxe Double' without breakfast. This wasn't good value especially concerning the room standard. Style over substance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Not a boutique hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2016
The rooms were last decorated in the 80s, the bed is extremely uncomfortable and the room very dirty. The manager is quite the rudest man I have ever met. Oh and there is a sign in the bathroom saying 'this is not drinking water'
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and location

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Weekend break in Leeds , Hotel was perfect and in a good location at the waterside
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from barnsley

Average for the price

Posted Aug 1, 2016
The room itself was lovely decorated and quirky looking.. it's also situated in a great location. However the bed was ridiculously uncomfortable and dipped in the middle, it was dusty, numerous hairs in the bathroom and spiders all over the window due to the old barn door (looked nice but full of cobwebs). Staff were nice however I didn't like the fact I had to pay another £50 on arrival "just in case". The free glass of wine helped though! I would come back and recommend it to friends however the mattresses needs changing and a more thorough clean would be useful for how much the room cost.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Historic Character and great location

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: The historic character and the central location.
Cons: Carpet looked worn
Location: Great location within walking distance of city centre shops, eating places and attractions. Great day spent at the Royal Armouries.
Enjoyed a three night stay in the heart of Leeds overlooking the River Aire and within easy walking distance of the main shopping districts and the Royal Armories. The hotel was full of character as it was a convertion from a historic riverside building. Lots of exposed beams and slightly quirky rooms. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Room clean but carpet in need of replacement. Good size. Bed comfortable and plenty of hanging space.
5 out of 5
by Colin from Liverpool

Best boutique hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
42 The Calls was ideal for a restful break while being handy for the main shopping and nightlife areas
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely boutique hotel overlooking th canals

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: Location, spaciousness, boutique character
Cons: Dressing gown in bathroom needs replacing.
Location: Very central to all the city activities in leeds galleries night life restaurants, brilliant.
I ahd a delightful night at the calls, with three large windows in my room overlooking the canals. The location was great for the city and station, the room was large and all the facilities good. The shower and bath nice and hot water plentiful. Nice soaps and shower gels, and tea in the room was a nice touch, only the dressing gown supplied in my bathroom was frayed and stained and could have done with throwing away and replacing. Otherwise great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Even happier this time

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
Really pleased with the room in terms of size and amenities. Very friendly service at reception and the hotel location allowed me to explore a new area of Leeds city.
4 out of 5
by Kate from London

Good but a few pointers

Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was lovely although there were a couple of issues. No vegetarian sausages for the breakfast for 2 days in a row even though the sausages are their main feature. There were no parking tickets left when we asked on the second day and the 'discounted' parking wasn't very clearly explained. It was a very comfortable hotel though and brilliant location so we still had a good trip.
3 out of 5
by lewis

Looked better online, not what was expecting

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
The room was ok, it wasn't the cleanest, bin hadn't been emptied from previous occupants, floor was quite dirty and just generally dusty. The WiFi option was poor, only 200mb allowance then charged £12.50 if exceeded the 200mb