Ratings based on 419 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely boutique hotel overlooking th canals

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: Location, spaciousness, boutique character
Cons: Dressing gown in bathroom needs replacing.
Location: Very central to all the city activities in leeds galleries night life restaurants, brilliant.
I ahd a delightful night at the calls, with three large windows in my room overlooking the canals. The location was great for the city and station, the room was large and all the facilities good. The shower and bath nice and hot water plentiful. Nice soaps and shower gels, and tea in the room was a nice touch, only the dressing gown supplied in my bathroom was frayed and stained and could have done with throwing away and replacing. Otherwise great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great location for exploring Leeds City centre

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Pros: Lovely atmospheric hotel - converted corn mill we had rooms 107 and 108 overlooking that canal recently refurbished.
Cons: Thought breakfast was expensive so we didn't venture to the restaurant. Thought they were missing a trick here.
Few mins walk from the Corn Exchange, historic market and Trinity Shopping. Small coffee bar next door for coffee (not open at 8am on a Saturday though), Yum yum over the bridge was good for coffee and full breakfast or lighter snacks. Three restaurants nearby too and all the city centre ones too. Parking is tricky we parked in meters outside or NCP carpark -short walk - hotel does reduced rate. Hotel staff very pleasant and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from derby

Lovely hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2016
A lovey boutique hotel very close to the city centre. Very unique with spacious, quirky, comfortable rooms. Staff very friendly, and complementary wine on arrival! Beautiful riverside views from the room and at breakfast. Lovely breakfast! Would definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok experience, but be aware of noise from clubbers

Posted May 30, 2016
Stayed 2 nights, Friday and Saturday. Pros: good location to the centre of town, Trinity Centre shops, Royal Armouries, and Brewery Wharf Cons: location next to Brewery Wharf, no air conditioning Am a light sleeper and didn't sleep very well as my room was near the footbridge by Brewery Wharf. From 11 pm to 1.30 am on both nights, noise of people coming out of the pubs/clubs and walking across the footbridge kept me awake, even with window closed. Not much the hotel can do about this though. Would have liked to have had the window open as room was quite warm, not possible due to noise. And no air con available in the room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Waiting for refund!

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Great location, everything else is poor! Delux room, a youth hostel would have been in better condition. Special request for Birthday didn't happen! £116 for a night! Any hotel in Leeds would have been better value! Very very disappointed. I have made my feelings known and I am waiting for a refund off you!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Characterful but tired

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: Needs smartening up.
Location: Royal Armouries
We have been staying at 42 The Calls for 2/3 nights each year on an annual business trip for about the last eight years. I think it must have come under new ownership as formerly it was a smart boutique hotel with pleasing personal touches. This time the staff seemed disinterested, the touches were missing, breakfast in the room is nothing special and at £12.50 very overpriced (even more so at the £12.95 which they tried to charge), and our room had been left unlocked while we were out for the day. It's location is fun, and it's well positioned for a walk along the old wharfs or for the Royal Armouries, but I think next year we will try somewhere different.
4 out of 5
by Nicola from Tyne and Wear

Couples get away!

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel and great location. You even receive a free glass of red or white wine on arrival which i didnt know about. Only thing that stopped the hotel being a 5 is the carpet in our room was dirty and did not fit the floor correctly. I would defo stay at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
by robert from Munich

Always wanted to stay here

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
Saw that hotel when it first opened and always wanted to stay there - now I have, great location, great design, but very tired now. Clearly in need of some renovation to the fixtures and fittings.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unique hotel, will be returning again

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel. It has its very own unique personality. The location is just yards from shops, bars and restaurants. Will definitely be returning.