Ratings based on 515 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

Gorgeous Hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: I loved the quirky old building and the little extra touches like shortbread in the rooms and a glass of wine on arrival.
Cons: £50 deposit in case the room was trashed. I think they should have just taken your card details in case this happened. I'm still waiting for a refund.
Location: Try the 'Alchemist Bar'. It's beautiful with amazing cocktails. The new shopping centre where John Lewis is looks really impressive as well.
I loved it here. The room was a quirky shape with exposed beams, a massive gorgeous bathroom, and the beds and pillows were so comfy. The only slight problem was that I was too tall to stand up in the shower and had to do a slight limbo to get my head under it, but the water flow drenched you, and was so lovely it was hard to get out!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel close to station overlooking river

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Clean, friendly and relaxing.
Cons: The rooms a little to warm.
Location: Leeds centre Royal Armouries with free ferry to the station. The footbridge.
Arrived late so took taxi from station to hotel. Next day found it easier to walk with cases. Reception welcoming and the wine was very nice. Room overlooked the River Aire and Brewery Wharf on opposite bank. The century bridge almost next to the hotel making walk along river and to the local attraction very pleasant. Breakfast in small basement restaurant almost at River level. Good food with generous portions. Room clean. Bed comfortable. On suite good facilities and clean. For business trip free wifi ample speed and 3 good quality reasonably priced restaurants near by. Not noisy. lift to floors above ground but not to basement. Accessibility facilities not visible. Good hotel. Will go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Good view overlooking the river Aire.

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: View over the river and central position.
Cons: See above and reception staff should develop the smiling skill and learn to be more welcoming.
Location: Easy access to all Leeds central attractions and shops: minster, armouries, town hall, art gallery.
Room,although clean, was in need of refurbishment: carpets worn, furniture damaged and bathroom wanting brightening up. I suspect nothing has been done to keep the room in tiptop condition since the hotel was opened.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leeds

Wonderful hotel with loads of character

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Special night away for my wife's birthday..was upgraded to a king size riverside room ... loved everything about the room, the service on arrival was brilliant and would come back tomorrow if we could.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

42 The Calls

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Whilst the hotel building was excellent and really smart the mattress in the room was awful and the breakfast unacceptable. My eggs were raw in the middle and sausages microwaved. After a 30minute wait for my breakfast to arrive, when we were the first and only people in the dining room, we really expected more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from leeds

nice

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: locality,quaintness
Cons: maybe complimentary drink from minibar for higher price rooms
Location: everything leeds city centre has to offer,all close by
nice place close to all amenities[pubs restaurants etc]quaint if a little pricey for what you get,enjoyable anyway
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great position

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Very friendly staff and clean comfortable room would stay again and recomenend it
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A superb hotel

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
An amazing hotel, great location, welcoming staff, superb breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
Didn't realise that 'taxes & fees' would be added to the rate you advertised, there is no overnight parking @ hotel nearest is 5 mins walk & cost £21.00.... made the stay expensive, staff friendly & helpful
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel.

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
Thouroughly enjoyed our short stay. Nothing was too much bother for the staff.The room was very comfortable with good views over the river. Convenient for the shops and restaurants. Would recommend this hotel.