Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: The old world feeling and the gardens.
Cons: A few of the items on the dinner menu were unavailable when we were there.
It was a charming old hotel, dating back to 1598 with a great staff. Upon arrival we were greeted with a glass of wine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stevenage

Nice hotel steeped in history

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: Friendly helpful staff and a good quality room at a reasonable price
Location: We were visiting a relative who showed us the town which was lively with plenty of shops. Yankee candle shop is very good.
Staff were very attentive and helpful. The building and gardens are superb. There are lots of nooks and crannies and you can get lost walking around the hotel but only for a moment or two. Breakfast is a must. A proper full Yorkshire breakfast preceded by a good selection of cereals and fruit. Proper fresh orange juice rounded of by what tasted like home made marmalade and jam. Plenty of tea and coffee. Got a complimentary glass of wine on arrival which was a nice touch. Will definitely be using again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Nice retreat in Yorkshire

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Two days in tranquil surroundings with good food & service
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2015 by Holdsworth House, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, please choose to stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

lovely hotel spoiled by constant wedding parties

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: good breakfast and friendly staff
Cons: It's not great value considering the size and quality of the room and I actually don't like hotels that are dedicated wedding venues.
it,s a wedding venue ,so normal guests feel ill at ease. the rooms smelt damp
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2015 by Holdsworth House, Hotel Management
We are sorry that your stay was disturbed by other guests on this ocassion. All rooms are checked every week by maintenance and any issue rectified straight away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

Beautiful hotel and extremely friendly staff

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: clean and tody.
very comfortable room-snug double was ample size. food delicious if not a little over priced
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2015 by Holdsworth House, Hotel Management
Thank you for your five star review, we hope you'll return soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Caring kind staff and service

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Arriving late tired and hungry around 11 o clock, the staff produced us fantastic beef and horseradish sandwiches and pots of gorgeous Yorkshire tea so we settled down in bed to enjoy, before we slept well. All the staff where so helpful and the hotel a beautiful old tranquil spot with a fantastic well kept garden. What's more the hotel refused to charge us for the tea and sandwiches.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2015 by Holdsworth House, Hotel Management
We are glad to have offered great service and delivered such an enjoyable stay. Come back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spot on

Posted Jan 23, 2014
Great location close to city / town, with a rural ambience. Front desk staff a little aloof and disengaged but still great service. Evening meal (room service) and full English breakfast were both excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wiseman from New Forest

Excellent food and very friendly staff

Posted Oct 30, 2013
Pros: Food and Friendly staff
Cons: Dog walking sit for dogs
Location: lovely walks
It was lovely to be able to take my two dogs. The staff made us all feel welcome. The dogs could go in the bar. The food was very good.