Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rutland

Beautiful hotel, comfortable quiet room, friendly

Posted Feb 24, 2017
We has a lovely evening at Holds worth house. The staff were chatty and polite. Book early for dinner though, tables go fast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

Excellent value for money

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Beautiful setting and a lovely building. Staff are so helpful and pleasant. Excellent customer service, including a free glass of wine on arrival! Superb value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The staff were so helpful.

Posted Jan 24, 2017
I booked for my boyfriends 40th. They left a postcard and chocolates to wish us a good stay. The staff were amazing. I have worked as a manager in the industry and was very very impressed. The hotel is beautiful. We just relaxed, but easy to get to tourist destinations.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
My stay at Holdsworth House was sadley cut short, I was booked in for 3 nights but only stayed 2. My mother had a sever stroke and so I had to leave a day early. Holdsworth were very good and did not charge ne for the night lost. Staff were very sympathetic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Absolutely beautiful! Like walking back in time!

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Beautiful old building like walking back in time. Set in a country setting.
Cons: You had to book the restaurant at the front desk even if it was minutes before going to the restaurant kind of strange.
Location: In walking distance to a really nice pub! Short cab ride to The city center where you can catch a train to Leeds,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In need of better management

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
We had a wonderful dinner with terrific food & service which was then completely marred by a wedding reception at the hotel whose guests evidently drank from 6 pm to 3:30 am. They were raucous & disrespectful, singing loudly & slamming doors and despite calls to the night porter at 2:30 & 3:00 am, they couldn't be contained. The hotel needs to develop and enforce policies to protect their guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: The old world feeling and the gardens.
Cons: A few of the items on the dinner menu were unavailable when we were there.
It was a charming old hotel, dating back to 1598 with a great staff. Upon arrival we were greeted with a glass of wine.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place to relax

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
Nice place to g e t away from it all. Food is excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Home feeling hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was great; the staff very friendly; the gardens excellent; the meal superb! The room was very small even though we paid extra. No way ndow, no view- just a velum window..,