Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Peter from Oxford

Bags of character

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
Delightful hotel. Really characterful. Great food and friendly staff. Would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weekend stay

Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoy food and staff were helpful. You need a car to explore the area.
4 out of 5
by Miss S from Leeds

Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Hotels
If you like good food, rustic, wood beams and stunning gardens you'll love this hotel
5 out of 5
by ann from Oldham

Posted Nov 28, 2015 on Hotels
Enjoyed our stay. Staff very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by Faith from London

Great hotel, people but need for improvement

Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
Business trip to Halifax, my first night was not convenient as it should be. There where no ventilation inside my room and I couldn't sleep in the night, I had to pick up the phone and ring the night shift receptionist asking for fan but no luck. The following day when I came back from work, I complain about it, and the day receptionist told me that there is ventilation, but many don't know how to open the window glass and then she came to help me open it. My suggestion to the hotel management and staff to help guest up front by given them awareness regarding possible challenges they might come across and how to solve. Beside this, the hotel and it staff are great people and great place to stay.
4 out of 5
by Sally from London

Relaxing stay

Posted Oct 10, 2015 on Hotels
Really great stay and staff were very friendly and attentive. At the weekends when the hotel hosts weddings it can be very quiet in the bar areas with most guests taking part elsewhere - which is a plus. However, at breakfast, the large wedding groups can cause it to be bit busy at times. Otherwise, the hotel was ideal for exploring the area and a relaxing environment to stay in.
5 out of 5
by John from The Villages, FL

Best Kept Secret in the UK

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
Beyond First Class hotel. First Class staff. First Class Food. Just an incredible experience
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from stevenage

Nice hotel steeped in history

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: Friendly helpful staff and a good quality room at a reasonable price
Location: We were visiting a relative who showed us the town which was lively with plenty of shops. Yankee candle shop is very good.
Staff were very attentive and helpful. The building and gardens are superb. There are lots of nooks and crannies and you can get lost walking around the hotel but only for a moment or two. Breakfast is a must. A proper full Yorkshire breakfast preceded by a good selection of cereals and fruit. Proper fresh orange juice rounded of by what tasted like home made marmalade and jam. Plenty of tea and coffee. Got a complimentary glass of wine on arrival which was a nice touch. Will definitely be using again.
2 out of 5
by Alexander from London

Needs improvement.

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
Quite a pretty hotel with nice communal areas, but the rooms are very small and in desperate need of refurbishment, especially for this price in this area. Service at breakfast was very poor.
5 out of 5
by mark from Leicestershire

Birthday treat

Posted Aug 12, 2015 on Hotels
A lovely hotel and very welcoming staff, would highly recommend.