Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, attached to lovely pub

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: The facilities and the condition of the room.
Cons: More information at reception
Ab very nice hotel, no actual receptionist, but good swimming pool, had to order breakfast before the next morning. Breakfast very good but times limited. The pub was excellent, lovely food and service.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Great hotel. Great location. Thoroughly enjoyed :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from durham

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: there were no problems , everything was great
Cons: none at all
Location: lots of things to do with children , museums ,etc
lovely just what we needed, would come back again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Off the beaten track!

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Simple high standards, friendly staff, remote location.
Cons: Less greasy full-English breakfast!
Pre-booked for a nearby wedding but not somewhere you would find by accident set high on the moors near Bradford. Would have been helpful to know that pub next door is where you check in and have breakfast.
5 out of 5
by fraser from Ayrshire

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent
4 out of 5
by Kevin from Beaconsfield

A nice country retreat

Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
A country retreat that I would happily use again. I would like to give it 4.5 stars. On a country road, but it can get a little busy & the rooms are close to the road. All very comfortable & will use again. Swimming pool looked nice as well. Greta breakfast cooked to order, you order what you want the night before at a pre-dtermined time to eat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Unique experience - with pool.

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: Setting, pool (small but accessible), views, laid-back atmosphere.
Cons: More directions to a) reception & b) where to go when reception is locked. Also access to breakfast in the pub was a bit difficult.
Location: Slightly off the beaten track, but easy access to Haworth & Bronteland. Good walking country. Local steam railway terminus about 2 miles from hotel.
It's an independent Yorkshire hotel, therefore do not expect the slick check-in/check out systems of hotel chains. Check-in experience was very Yorkshire. The hotel itself is well situated with stunning views & its own pool-cum-conservatory, which, because of the room allocation, was virtually en-suite. Plenty of free parking. Has the great advantage over other Bronte country hotels of space and accessibility. The lady running the hotel side of the business (it's linked to the pub next door) was very helpful. The room was clean & comfortable. I'd booked for a bit of respite following my husband's discharge from hospital & it was great being able to have a swim with him sitting safely nearby admiring the view (upland sheep farm, so very peaceful).
4 out of 5
by Suzanne from Warrington

2 night stay.

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
it has a swimming pool which I used during my stay. The pool area was comfortable with seating and towels provided. My mum sat at one of the tables reading a magazine as I swam. our room was clean and a good size with tea and coffee facilities provided. We had a bath with a shower which was lovely. There was also a hairdryer which was handy after my swim. Attached to the hotelis the Gun and Dog pub, which is where we ate a meal on our first night. The meal was really enjoyable and I would eat there again. This was also where breakfast was served. My only minor criticisms would be that you had to decide what you wanted for breakfast the night before, fill in a breakfast form and hand it into the pub. I guess we could of changed our order in the morning when we arrived for breakfast , but as we had already given in our request form we felt obliged to stick with what we had ordered. (I've never been asked to book what we want for breakfast anywhere before). The first Morming we booked breakfast for 8:30 and sat there feeling a bit in the way as someone was hoovering. The Second morning I decided I didn't really want cereal as I wasn't that hungry. I planned to tell them when we arrived, but it was already out and so I felt obliged to eat it. I also feel breakfast time could be extended to 9:30 as we felt 9am was a little early. Can I just say though that if ever I was in the area again I would happily stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peaceful surroundings

Posted Mar 14, 2016
The hotel offers good value for money in a quiet and peaceful location. The staff have now increased the temperture of the pool so it is a more enjoyable experience as part of what the hotel has to offer. The pub offers really nice food for both breakfast and evening meals.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Pub Food

Posted Feb 20, 2016 on Hotels
Very wet and windy, but the pub food was good. The room was big with a huge bed.