Ratings based on 331 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Lovely quiet hotel

Posted May 19, 2017
Arrived a little early but was pleased to be told that our room was available and ready if we wanted. Very pleasant staff, lovely room, very quiet. Breakfast was good with lots of choice and as you don't have to check out until noon it saved you feeling rushed in the morning, we used the leisure facilities which were also very good to the extent my husband said the gym was one of the best equipt ones he'd visited within a hotel environment
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK/USA

Sunday night visit to Leeds.

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Seeing it disappear into the rear view mirror of the taxi.
Cons: Closed and refurbished.
Location: Nice location.
This has to be the poorest standard of hotel I had the misfortune to use in almost 30 years of extensive business & personal travel. The attitude of the staff from the first minute I walked into the dirty reception area was unwelcoming and this did not improve whilst I attempted to check in without having to explain the basic fundamentals of customer service to a uber unhelpful and belligerent reception whom had obviously received the basic training from management. Oh yeah, one tip to Mercure....it helps to have staff who are required to interact with customers on a regular basis to have a good grasp of the English language and to be coherent when communicating with customers. The hotel is so far past needing a major refurbishment it's beyond ridiculous and the rooms only required a 26inch old school tv and it would have been 1990 all over again. Re the bar sitting area, one could die in there and unless you were standing at the bar, I'm pretty certain the staff would ignore you.......I arrive at this assumption having spent a total of 2.5hrs (on two separate occasions) in the area and not once did any of the Mercure staff even attempt to ask if they could offer us any form of service........amazing. Anyhow, this review could go on & on, however, needless to say my opinion of the hotel and staff couldn't be much lower and as a regular visitor to Leeds I will never stay at the Mercure, which in my honest option should be labelled as a "transit" hotel.
4 out of 5
by Abigail

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Basic service but the hotel was lovely if not a little dated. Room was clean and had everything we required as well as access to pool and spa which was a plus. Overall a great stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from beverley

Looks better in the picture than in reality

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: The room was clean
Cons: The main areas of the hotel need refurbishment and to be heated in winter. The swimming area and changing area need refurbishment .
Location: Despite its problems it was easy to get from there to The white rose centre where we parked to go into Leeds.
The room did not seem to have any temperature control so the room got too hot in the night. The rest of the hotel was far too cold. We ate in the bar area which is positively cavernous but which seemed to have no working heating. There was a small fan heater on, but it kicked out no real heat. Despite our mentioning how cold it was, half way through the meal a staff member from another area came and removed the heater without asking us if we where ok with this and took it away. We did try out the swimming pool and sauna but did not stay because we felt it was rather dirty. One thing of concern was that although there was a sign that said clearly no boys over six. While we where getting changed a boy who appeared at least 11 or 12 walked straight through the changing area.
4 out of 5
by Richard

Needs an update.

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
Staying for one night on business, we got there at about 8pm, receptionist was very nice and got us into our room quickly. The room was pretty poor, mould on the bathroom ceiling and just generally dated. Beds are comfy and it was quiet. The food is nice and the service was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel, fantastic staff & fantastic price

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Just all round perfect stay, definitely staying there again!
3 out of 5
by Charles

Dated but ok for a short stay

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Hotels
Very dated but clean. Breakfast and bar area were nice, nothing much in the area and too far to stay for Leeds centre with the traffic. Did not visit the pool etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2016
It's ok nothing special and cost 11 pounds in a cab from Leeds city centre 6.4 miles and 3.2 as on Web site
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Handy Leeds hotel for quick business stopover.

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was well placed for a quick overnight stay for business. Close to Leeds and good transport links. Good fairly standard in the hotel bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Went for my friends 30th birthday.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Was really nice and clean. Was a bit noises outside our room. Food was lovely but abit pricey. But over all we had a nice time. Thanks.