Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ely, Cambridgeshire

Highly recommended

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff, Cleanliness and great value for money
Cons: The Stairs to rooms.
Location: Local to town, university and theaters.
Staff very welcoming and friendly, room lovely and clean, beds very comfy. Bar meals great value for money and very tasty. Breakfast very filling. can highly recommend the Cheese and bacon omelette. Over all a great stay and would highly recommend..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An unexpected surprise in Huddersfield

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
Highly recommended for a ramblers break due to comfort of room. The full English breakfast was a bonus. Very courteous service ..
3 out of 5
by Simon from Nuneaton

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
Quick trip to see freiends
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Hotels
Good value for money
4 out of 5
by John from barnsley

shopping and food

Posted Dec 4, 2015 on Hotels
Just an overnight stay to do shopping in Huddersfield and to meet friends in the evening
3 out of 5
by Ian from blackpool

Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
great stay the only issue is check in time. website says from 1400 onwards in reality it is closed from 1430 to 1730 and with no one on site to give access or answer phone. apart from that niggely little thing it was a lovely place to stay
4 out of 5
by Ken from Llandrindod Wells

Worth considering

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed for 3 nights and breakfast a bit disorganised on the first morning (Monday) suggesting there is a communication issue between staff. Food was simple but acceptable and staff friendly.There is some road noise but windows have secondary glazing so sleep not disturbed (I live in the countryside) and bed comfortable. If you need a desk then this is probably not the place for you. Bus stop right outside and run every 10 minutes in day and about 30 minute walk from town centre.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Easily accessed location

Posted Sep 4, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Good breakfast.
Location: Easy access to town centre
Friendly welcome. Good nights sleep. Adequate car-parking. Bad staircase access to rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Single bedroom antics

Posted Jul 22, 2015 on Hotels
Great B&B for the price I paid. Clean and functional room. Good Internet speed, when it was working (80% of the time). Just a little sad the room I was in also accommodated the boiler and so had to turn up the tv volume more than necessary to hear it. Would stay there again like I have before but next time will request another room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

weeknight stays

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: Service
Location: Lovely Greenhead park just down the road toward the centre of town.
I had a fine stay for 5 nights in July, while I was working in Leeds. ‘ Picked off the internet, I was a little concerned that inn / tavern might mean that I was in for a bawdy or raucous evening crowd, with music blearing until the small hours, or irritating gaming machine sounds non-stop? Not really. A little sound came through the floorboards when someone used a microphone downstairs, but fine really. My room faced a carpark at the rear. Croppers is certainly a pub in style but in use more like a restaurant, with rooms upstairs. And quiet enough when I was there. Being an older building, some sounds did travel at quiet times - people movements about 5:30 some mornings, or the rubbish truck about 7am. Breakfast was fine. And the staff couldn't be more helpful, including the chefs. Location - fine, with a little road noise from the street at the front. Loads of buses go to town in the morning, but I walked to the Huddersfield station in 15mins for trains to Leeds. My room was fine and spacious. Would I stay again - definitely.