Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2016
If you are looking for some place to chuck your bag in the corner and get your head down for then night this place is fine. Wasn't impressed when reception claimed the price I had booked at was a mistake but they'd let me have it at agreed price as a favour.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Just too basic

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Location?
Cons: Rooms need some basics added.
Location: Very short walk into the town centre. Has parking too which was a plus.
Haven't stayed anywhere before that doesn't have a bedside table or bin or mirror or anywhere to hang anything (not even a hook on the back of a door). Thought it was overpriced for what it was.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maidstone

Central location - traffic noise

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Room was nicely decorated and bed was comfortable.
Cons: Shower needs looking at. A bedside table lamp would be nice.
Location: Location was central but very noisy and traffic continued most of the night, therefore didn't get much sleep.
A central location but on busy cross roads therefore was lots of traffic noise throughout the night. Parking was very limited and not easily accessable. No bedside light or chair and the shower was almost useless. However, it was quite nicely done and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2016
Basic room but very comfortable. very friendly staff and within easy reach of town centre and train station
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from SOUTH WALES

easy access to trains

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Pros: Access to transport and easy to get to shops and bars.
Cons: The rooms need a wardrobe or a better set of drawers in which you could store more than a pair of socks.
Location: Bars and shops, though not high quality are very easy to access.
I enjoyed my stay at the Old Post Office where I stayed for 2 nights. 24 hour access to rooms via a back entrance. Transport is good with easy access to trains and buses. Rooms were adequate for what I paid although there is no tea/coffee facilities in the room. One problem was that there is no wardrobe space and only a set of drawers to store your clothes and no coat hangers or coathooks at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2015
A small quite pleasant hotel the bed was comfortable clean room the only thing missing was tea and coffee making facilities
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2015
It was okay but the rooms at the top of the hotel in the eaves with very tight spaced I am 6 foot three and at the end of the bed it just drop down into a shallow corner the bed was comfortable and the room was clean and the bar staff were friendly and efficient I would recommend it but Book a double room not a single and definitely not the top floor
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orpington

Not enough thought has gone into the room.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Location in the centre of town
Cons: Wifi access
There were no hooks to hang anything on, there was no wardrobe, the room was cramped, the shower was difficult to use, the shower curtain was not long enough and worst of all from my point of view the wifi did not reach my room and in fact appeared to be only accessible with any consistency in the pub itself.
1 out of 5
by Les from Merseyside

Reason to leave early

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: It was clean
Cons: Most of it
Location: Didn't stay long enough to find out
On arrival the young lady behind the bar served customers then commenced cleaning and didn't notice me until I called her. I asked for a receipt for the room and all I got was a booking form? The rooms where accessed from the rear and the access door shared the same small area as the washing line, once in I was faced with a narrow and steep staircase which eventually led to another narrow steep staircase and then to a narrow corridor with timer push switches switches which gave you about 45 seconds of light. God knows how this passed fire regs? When I eventually found my room it was very clean but claustrophobic beyond belief and the bed had a small single pillow which was not worth bothering with. After a few minutes i thought sod it and left ... preferring a long drive home then back again for my appointment the following morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location and friendly

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Very convenient location for Halifax. Very helpful friendly staff. Clean and comfortable.
Cons: We didn't require it because we were out so early but adding breakfast might be good? Though lots of places very near by do breakfasts.
Location: Central to Halifax and very close to Sowerby Bridge, Hebden Bridge, etc. Also near to rail station for easy access to further afield.
We found the receptionist very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is very clean and has facilities that would not usually be expected, like a fully fitted (shared) kitchen and cooking facilities. Lovely room - beams and large velux window. Very good value for money.