Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Heapey

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Good room very pleasant staff and great breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uttoxeter

Weekend In Halifax

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Location and room size
Location: Lots of nice places around Halifax. If you have kids the jungle experience is well worth a vist and only £1 admission.
Hotel is great, right in the centre of Halifax, we had an excellent room very large and clean. Staff at breakfast very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Great Halifax Hotel.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Staff were great
Cons: Possibly needs some updating, however this may spoil the charm?
Location: Centre of Halifax location, great for Pubs and restaruants
Great, if a little old fashioned, hotel close to the centre of Halifax. Desk staff super friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Inverness

Excellent value for money

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Everything and the personal service.
Cons: Nothing.
Last minute booking as travelling down south - such a good choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Best hotel in Halifax

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: It is a lovely old building, full of character and charm. A proper, old fashioned hotel which has been fitted out with great bathrooms.
Location: Eat! Halifax and the surrounding area has loads of terrific pubs and restaurants. Sowerby Bridge is foodie heaven.
We love this hotel and have stayed here several times over the past few years. It is in a really convenient location, right in the centre of town and only a short walk from the train and bus stations. The rooms are great, comfortable and very clean and the bathrooms are super. For us, what makes this hotel is the staff. Everyone at The White Swan is lovely; always friendly, always professional; they really are lovely people. Can't fault it and can't wait to come back and stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great hotel in the centre of Halifax

Posted Jun 17, 2016
White Swan is a great hotel, good value for money, the staff is always lovely and rooms are comfortable. Do not expect a shiny Major chain hotel style but an authentic building that has been part of the town for a long while that offers a classic hotel stay experience. I have been staying there for more than half a year and I keep coming back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Nice hotel in the center of the town. Warm staff. Has a old world charm
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris, France

Wi-Fi is horrible

Posted Apr 16, 2016
I stayed here on a business trip. And while most things were ok, the Wi-Fi kept cutting out every few minutes. I'm a software engineer; so I ran every test I could on my computer. It wasn't my fault. But no one knew how to resolve the problem. While I'm traveling anywhere on business, functioning Wi-Fi is a necessity. Without it...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Carlisle

Nice traditional hotel. Very close to centre.

Posted Apr 7, 2016
We stayed 1 night following a concert at Victoria Theatre. This hotel was ideal as it was less than 5 minute walk. Ideally situated for a visit to Halifax (and surrounding area) All staff were very pleasant - especially those in the dining room at breakfast. Breakfast was good quality and there was a good choice. We also ate in the adjoining Italian on the evening - this was again a good choice - not too fancy, just good quality, good service and decent portion sizes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A night at the White Swan

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: Excellent staff, very clean and just worked really well.
Cons: WIFI (in room 305 at least) and drop the air freshener scent in the hallway.
Location: Right in the middle of Halifax, so you have access to everything and anything you could imagine a town offers.
All good, excellent friendly staff and managed to get on-site parking. (They have 7 spots). Sadly the internet in our room 305 was really poor. I tried connecting on four devices and it was so weak it would barely load a website. Just need a wireless extender somewhere in that area to sort out that issue. There was also an overpowering air freshener type scent in the hallway outside 305, that could do with being tailored back a bit. Apart from those two issues, I'd recommend the hotel. It's right in the centre of Halifax, perfect location.