Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wakefield

Beautiful setting

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: New Inn public house only ten minutes drive, excellent service and food.
Friendly, polite and helpful staff. Double room, but only one easy chair, although room comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Worcestershire

A beautiful hotel with plenty of facilities

Posted Oct 14, 2016
As I was staying here for work purposes I was originally booked into a single room, however when I arrived I was upgraded to a double room with a four poster bed and a perfect view out over the bridge to the mainland. The bathroom needed some updating but was clean. The bar lacked some atmosphere but was pleasant serving a good choice of food. Unfortunately I didn't have time to use the spa. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of freshly cooked dishes to choose from. The staff were all very helpful. Overall an enjoyable stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by Kate Clough, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire

Gorgeous location and excellent customer care

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: Everything but particularly the view across the lake.
Cons: Nothing - practically perfect in every way!
Location: With the wonderful location I'm not sure I would have wanted to go anywhere had this been a leisure trip!
My partner booked our stay as I am currently working in the area and usually commute from home. Having a very early start meant I was unable to use all of the facilities but what a beautiful place. When I arrived from work we were able to enjoy the last rays of the sun while having a glass of wine overlooking the lake. Simply wonderful. A table was reserved for us in the bar and we had a very good meal. My partner had been able to use the gym and pool while I was at work and he thoroughly enjoyed his afternoon. We had breakfast sharp at 7am so I could get to an early morning meeting. Apart form an error in my order when I was given scrambled not poached eggs (not a problem as they were delicious and cooked to order) everything was excellent. Wish I'd had longer to enjoy a soak in the bath but had to make do with a shower in probably the largest bathroom I have ever experienced! All staff were extremely pleasant and very professional. I hope to be return again for a more relaxed visit very soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by Kate Clough, Hotel Management
Thank you for your fabulous review! We are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay and I do hope we can welcome you back soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, England

Stately home from home

Posted Aug 29, 2016
An XVIII century mansion on an island in a lake surrounded by wildfowl and a golf course. You park on the 'mainland' and walk across a vintage iron footbridge onto a perfect lawn. The only modern intrusions are an indoor swimming pool and gym, but these are discreetly out of sight. Charming lounge and dining room which also serves a good breakfast. Rooms spacious and mostly modern, with wi-fi, though mine looked rather tired and a rotten window frame produced some Wuthering Heights sound effects when the wind rose - all part of the experience. Beware of ostentatious wedding parties.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Great staff, amazing food!

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Location: Yorkshire Sculpture Park; Hepworth Museum; Leeds Art Gallery
Lucky enough to stay on the island in a very clean and tidy, first floor room. The staff were excellent, extremely helpful and very pleasant. Delicious food - the carrots were delicious (we'd like the recipe, please!). Good location and ideally placed to visit some of the local museums and sculpture park
5 out of 5
by Emma

Amazing hotel with brilliant service

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing hotel with brilliant service
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

Lovely hotel, terrible noise

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Hotel was lovely, had a nice day. Grounds amazing as were the views. The evening meal and drinks in Charlies bar were very nice and the staff very attentive. Why the poor rating? We were in room 6 Waterton. At 5.30 we were woken to a crash and bang. On investigation it seemed our room was next door to the store room and kitchen. The noise was awful and very loud. I telephoned reception and politely asked them to investigate. The noise continued and was louder than before (bread crates being thrown on floor directly outside the balcony door). On check out I was asked about my stay, again I politely told the receptionist about the noise. She said'sorry about that' and then handed me the bill. £100 to be woken at stupid o'clock . If you stay here avoid room 6 like the plague
1 out of 5
by Jon from Warwickshire

DIsappointing standards and dreadful food.

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
Very disappointing. Admittedly stunning views but the the bar, my room and the general hotel is shabby and poorly maintained. Food in the bar was dreadful. To his credit the bar manager refunded the entire drinks and food bill for lunch which was an anaemic baguette smothered in mustard (pic attached). Staff, while keen, are poorly trained and are unable to deal with basic complaints. The mattress in the room was very uneven, and so flat in places that the base of the bed could be felt. No air con in room, hence it was oppressively hot overnight. It feels as if they are making half an attempt at bringing things up to date, but with no real clue or direction in how to do this. All of these issues were raised, with an apology offered but no other action taken. Overall, a great shame, the hotel could be stunning, but the team there need help.
4 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Steve

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
Not enough attention to paying customers, who weren't part of the wedding group, I will never stay again for £175, I was a bit cheesed off