Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stunning hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Stunning hotel to look at but the inside of the hotel is dated and definitely needs refurbishing. We upgraded our room to an executive suite, again the view from our window was beautiful but I was really disappointed with our room as it was tired looking and there was no mini bar. Other than that we had a very enjoyable stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Kate Clough, Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry you did not like the decor and unfortunately non of our rooms have mini bars but I am delighted overall you enjoyed your stay. I do hope we can welcome you back in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NKS

Relaxing and delightful setting

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Cons: Nothing
Relaxing delightful setting. Staff very obliging and friendly. They were very busy with 2 weddings...what a delightful venue,... but still had time for guests.guests . We were made to feel very welcome. The second time we have stayed.. great hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Kate Clough, Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your super review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay again and I hope we can welcome you back for a third one!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hideaway in comfort

Posted May 18, 2017
Beauty hotel and situated around and within tranquility, The features and the hotel facilities are standard for a four star which can be improved with a bit of effort, especially the cleanliness. The room was nice but no AC which would probably be needed in the summer days, it was needed now in May, we did not open the windows due to flies around the hotel lake. Also to be true it was looking s but tired in places, but the Charlie's bar and spa was lovely and fresh. Food and quality was good and standard priced for a four star.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Kate Clough, Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Refurbishment is an ongoing process and I am pleased you liked the new Charlies Bar and our fabulous Spa. I do hope we can welcome you back in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canterbury, Kent

Excellent location for a weekend break

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: My hotel room was on the upper floor which offered scenic views of the lake and Walton Hall
Cons: My room would benefit from a makeover. A couple of defective fitments the room were note i.e. cracked hand basin and broken ceiling light in dressing
Location: This hotel is tucked well out of the way and private transport or a taxi is advisable.
At the time of my visit, rooms in Walton Hall were not available however, I was offered a Executive suite in the Waterton Park Hotel. The suite was spacious and comfortable, if a tad tired in appearance. There is no air-condition in the room. Wined and dined at the Bridgewalk Restaurant in Walton Hall; excellent food and wine; attentive waiters and pleasant surroundings. It can be a tad noisy from party revellers; there was a wedding and reception at the time of my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Kate Clough, Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review and I do hope overall you enjoyed your stay. I will certainly pass your comments on regarding the room and I do hope we can welcome you back in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Xabia Spain

Beautiful grounds and facilities outside!

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Stunning grounds that are well maintained.
Cons: Long overdue for modernisation and refitting with new beds! Would not stay again until this has happened.
Location: I was visiting family so cannot comment on location etc!
I booked for 4 nights from Mon-Fri. First 2 nights I was stuck in a small dark room and felt like a mole! My view was of generators and the windows of surrounding rooms. As I was on ground floor I couldn't even see the sky! Eventually i was taken pity on by the receptionist and moved to a room with windows that opened and a view of trees around the car park! Great improvement. The beds in both rooms are hard and lumpy and now I am home am paying for it with back issues! The bathrooms are dangerous and ill equipped. The shower is over a deep bath with no grab rails so when wet is extremely dangerous. There is no counter space in the large bathrooms for putting cosmetics etc on - just a glass shelf about 3 inches wide which then tilts under the weight! Carpets in both rooms were filthy dirty with many stains. Long overdue for modernisation and refitting with new beds! Would not stay again until this has happened.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

lovely scenery for a peaceful break

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Spacious room with a lovely view over to Walton Hall.
Cons: We could not fault it
Location: Stopped at Newmillerdam for a country walk with afternoon tea.Wakefield is great for shopping too.
had an overnight stay for our 40th wedding anniversary.We could not have picked a better hotel.Staff were pleasant and helpful,nothing too much trouble.Food in Charlies bar lovely and well presented.A hidden gem that we have now discovered and can't wait to stay again!!!
5 out of 5
by Paula

Beautiful inside and out

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
Loved everything about this hotel..would highly recommend.
2 out of 5
by Vanessa

Beautiful place, but the bed was dreadful!

Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Hotels
The bed was awful! Pillows were flat and tired, the mattress was rock hard, dreadful! It was a shame because the setting is fantastic! Jack the assistant shift manager was great!! A real credit to the hotel.
5 out of 5
by Lynn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bolton

Beautiful

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Everything about this hotel is beautiful - the rooms, the setting, the food, the lovely staff - a little taste of luxury and peace.