Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Great staff, amazing food!

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Location: Yorkshire Sculpture Park; Hepworth Museum; Leeds Art Gallery
Lucky enough to stay on the island in a very clean and tidy, first floor room. The staff were excellent, extremely helpful and very pleasant. Delicious food - the carrots were delicious (we'd like the recipe, please!). Good location and ideally placed to visit some of the local museums and sculpture park
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

Lovely hotel, terrible noise

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Hotel was lovely, had a nice day. Grounds amazing as were the views. The evening meal and drinks in Charlies bar were very nice and the staff very attentive. Why the poor rating? We were in room 6 Waterton. At 5.30 we were woken to a crash and bang. On investigation it seemed our room was next door to the store room and kitchen. The noise was awful and very loud. I telephoned reception and politely asked them to investigate. The noise continued and was louder than before (bread crates being thrown on floor directly outside the balcony door). On check out I was asked about my stay, again I politely told the receptionist about the noise. She said'sorry about that' and then handed me the bill. £100 to be woken at stupid o'clock . If you stay here avoid room 6 like the plague
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Looks good from outside but too many let downs

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
Room was far too warm even with heater turned off. Food is very average, even in the main restaurant. Poor choice of wine and and no ales available at the bar. There is a big gap between what the hotel is pretending to offer and what it actually offers. The setting is beautiful but it is just not enough. I will stick to to the Wentbridge Hotel which is a much better value for money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rotherham, UK

Posted Mar 30, 2016
Great hotel Can be a if of a maze like experience to get to your room. Remember breadcrumbs!
5 out of 5
by Dave from Liverpool

One to experience

Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely fantastic Hotel
4 out of 5
by Gillian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Peter from Melksham

Great hotel

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
Superb setting Staff very friendly and helpful
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2016
The hotel actually has two sections on two sides of the bridge. We were expecting to be on the water side but was disappointed. The room only has a small window facing the back of the hotel. Nothing impressive at all. The staffs were not helpful on anything. We were asked by the front desk to go across the bridge to make booking at the hotel restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2016 by Cloughk, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I hope we can welcome you back in the future
4 out of 5
by Rebeca from Selby

Adequate but not impressed

Posted Jan 9, 2016 on Hotels
We'd book the executive room as the pictures looked great. On arrival we were shown to a room that was nothing like it, it was very dated, small, and the condition of the carpet and bathroom wasn't great. We went back to reception and mentioned our disappointment, so the staff very kindly showed us another room in the spa's building opposite the main house. This was more like it! We had a lovely stay there and ordered some food from room service which was really nice too. Breakfast was adequate but nothing special, I was particularly not impressed by the coffee or the sausages, which I couldn't eat as the taste was so unusual. We didn't see the restaurant but we ventured into Charlie's bar, however we found it dark and uninviting, hence we opted for the room service in the end. Another issue was that the mobile phone signal was terrible all over the hotel, something to bear in mind if you need to be contactable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2016 by Kate Clough, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, I will certainly pass these on for you. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Away from home

Posted Nov 21, 2015 on Hotels
Country house elegance, special room and swimming pool. Friendly staff and good breakfast. Special stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2016 by Kate Clough, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.