Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wakefield

Wow amazing place beautiful scenery

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The staff were amazing and so accommodating. Fantastic hotel and had an amazing stay. Even gave us a late checkout
Cons: Nothing everything was amazing No complaints at all I would recommend this hotel to everyone
Location: Nice and peaceful
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Kate Clough, Hotel Management
Thank you for your fabulous review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wakefield

Beautiful setting

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: New Inn public house only ten minutes drive, excellent service and food.
Friendly, polite and helpful staff. Double room, but only one easy chair, although room comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by Kate Clough, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I do hope we can welcome you back in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcestershire

A beautiful hotel with plenty of facilities

Posted Oct 14, 2016
As I was staying here for work purposes I was originally booked into a single room, however when I arrived I was upgraded to a double room with a four poster bed and a perfect view out over the bridge to the mainland. The bathroom needed some updating but was clean. The bar lacked some atmosphere but was pleasant serving a good choice of food. Unfortunately I didn't have time to use the spa. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of freshly cooked dishes to choose from. The staff were all very helpful. Overall an enjoyable stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by Kate Clough, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire

Gorgeous location and excellent customer care

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: Everything but particularly the view across the lake.
Cons: Nothing - practically perfect in every way!
Location: With the wonderful location I'm not sure I would have wanted to go anywhere had this been a leisure trip!
My partner booked our stay as I am currently working in the area and usually commute from home. Having a very early start meant I was unable to use all of the facilities but what a beautiful place. When I arrived from work we were able to enjoy the last rays of the sun while having a glass of wine overlooking the lake. Simply wonderful. A table was reserved for us in the bar and we had a very good meal. My partner had been able to use the gym and pool while I was at work and he thoroughly enjoyed his afternoon. We had breakfast sharp at 7am so I could get to an early morning meeting. Apart form an error in my order when I was given scrambled not poached eggs (not a problem as they were delicious and cooked to order) everything was excellent. Wish I'd had longer to enjoy a soak in the bath but had to make do with a shower in probably the largest bathroom I have ever experienced! All staff were extremely pleasant and very professional. I hope to be return again for a more relaxed visit very soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by Kate Clough, Hotel Management
Thank you for your fabulous review! We are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay and I do hope we can welcome you back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London, England

Stately home from home

Posted Aug 29, 2016
An XVIII century mansion on an island in a lake surrounded by wildfowl and a golf course. You park on the 'mainland' and walk across a vintage iron footbridge onto a perfect lawn. The only modern intrusions are an indoor swimming pool and gym, but these are discreetly out of sight. Charming lounge and dining room which also serves a good breakfast. Rooms spacious and mostly modern, with wi-fi, though mine looked rather tired and a rotten window frame produced some Wuthering Heights sound effects when the wind rose - all part of the experience. Beware of ostentatious wedding parties.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Great staff, amazing food!

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Location: Yorkshire Sculpture Park; Hepworth Museum; Leeds Art Gallery
Lucky enough to stay on the island in a very clean and tidy, first floor room. The staff were excellent, extremely helpful and very pleasant. Delicious food - the carrots were delicious (we'd like the recipe, please!). Good location and ideally placed to visit some of the local museums and sculpture park
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

Lovely hotel, terrible noise

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Hotel was lovely, had a nice day. Grounds amazing as were the views. The evening meal and drinks in Charlies bar were very nice and the staff very attentive. Why the poor rating? We were in room 6 Waterton. At 5.30 we were woken to a crash and bang. On investigation it seemed our room was next door to the store room and kitchen. The noise was awful and very loud. I telephoned reception and politely asked them to investigate. The noise continued and was louder than before (bread crates being thrown on floor directly outside the balcony door). On check out I was asked about my stay, again I politely told the receptionist about the noise. She said'sorry about that' and then handed me the bill. £100 to be woken at stupid o'clock . If you stay here avoid room 6 like the plague
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rotherham, UK

Posted Mar 30, 2016
Great hotel Can be a if of a maze like experience to get to your room. Remember breadcrumbs!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Ideal break

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Lovely surroundings, staff excellent, pool etc, great,breakfast very good.Bed was two singles put together, nicer if had been king or even double, also mattress bit lumpy, could do with a topper.Overall a lovely chilled break
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2016 by Kate Clough, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Beautiful setting

Posted Jul 24, 2015
The hotel is in two parts,on the island stands 18th century Walton Hall with restaurant bar and pool,while on the mainland stands the accommodation and breakfast room.Picturesque with a bridge linking the two it's popular for weddings . Golf and fishing are also attractions . We chose it for a leisure break as it's only a few miles from the Yorkshire Sculpture Park and Hepworth Gallery. We'd certainly come back to explore more of West Yorkshire.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2016 by Kate Clough, Hotel Management
Thank you Sue for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back when you return to explore some more!