Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, England

Stately home from home

Posted Aug 29, 2016
An XVIII century mansion on an island in a lake surrounded by wildfowl and a golf course. You park on the 'mainland' and walk across a vintage iron footbridge onto a perfect lawn. The only modern intrusions are an indoor swimming pool and gym, but these are discreetly out of sight. Charming lounge and dining room which also serves a good breakfast. Rooms spacious and mostly modern, with wi-fi, though mine looked rather tired and a rotten window frame produced some Wuthering Heights sound effects when the wind rose - all part of the experience. Beware of ostentatious wedding parties.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Great staff, amazing food!

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Location: Yorkshire Sculpture Park; Hepworth Museum; Leeds Art Gallery
Lucky enough to stay on the island in a very clean and tidy, first floor room. The staff were excellent, extremely helpful and very pleasant. Delicious food - the carrots were delicious (we'd like the recipe, please!). Good location and ideally placed to visit some of the local museums and sculpture park
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

Lovely hotel, terrible noise

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Hotel was lovely, had a nice day. Grounds amazing as were the views. The evening meal and drinks in Charlies bar were very nice and the staff very attentive. Why the poor rating? We were in room 6 Waterton. At 5.30 we were woken to a crash and bang. On investigation it seemed our room was next door to the store room and kitchen. The noise was awful and very loud. I telephoned reception and politely asked them to investigate. The noise continued and was louder than before (bread crates being thrown on floor directly outside the balcony door). On check out I was asked about my stay, again I politely told the receptionist about the noise. She said'sorry about that' and then handed me the bill. £100 to be woken at stupid o'clock . If you stay here avoid room 6 like the plague
3 out of 5
by Steve

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
Not enough attention to paying customers, who weren't part of the wedding group, I will never stay again for £175, I was a bit cheesed off
4 out of 5
by Ian from Essex

Lovely hotel, great views

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in a stunning location with wonderful views. We were fortunate to be on the island on the top floor so the views were even better. The food was very clean although it was a little dated. I would have preferred air-con but it was always unlikely in an older building. Whilst we were there we used the bar whilst our room was being prepared, room service for dinner and the restaurant for breakfast. Each time the service was very good and the food/drink was excellent. The room service in particular was very reasonably priced. Our only real negative was the lack of lifts. One of the staff did take our bags to our room however. All in all, a very nice hotel in a lovely location. Very pleased.
2 out of 5
by Kevin from Doncaster

Very Disappointed

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Massively overpriced and poor service.
4 out of 5
by IAN from Burton on Trent

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
Very tranquil & relaxing
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Looks good from outside but too many let downs

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
Room was far too warm even with heater turned off. Food is very average, even in the main restaurant. Poor choice of wine and and no ales available at the bar. There is a big gap between what the hotel is pretending to offer and what it actually offers. The setting is beautiful but it is just not enough. I will stick to to the Wentbridge Hotel which is a much better value for money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rotherham, UK

Posted Mar 30, 2016
Great hotel Can be a if of a maze like experience to get to your room. Remember breadcrumbs!
5 out of 5
by Dave from Liverpool

One to experience

Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely fantastic Hotel