Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hideaway in comfort

Posted May 18, 2017
Beauty hotel and situated around and within tranquility, The features and the hotel facilities are standard for a four star which can be improved with a bit of effort, especially the cleanliness. The room was nice but no AC which would probably be needed in the summer days, it was needed now in May, we did not open the windows due to flies around the hotel lake. Also to be true it was looking s but tired in places, but the Charlie's bar and spa was lovely and fresh. Food and quality was good and standard priced for a four star.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canterbury, Kent

Excellent location for a weekend break

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: My hotel room was on the upper floor which offered scenic views of the lake and Walton Hall
Cons: My room would benefit from a makeover. A couple of defective fitments the room were note i.e. cracked hand basin and broken ceiling light in dressing
Location: This hotel is tucked well out of the way and private transport or a taxi is advisable.
At the time of my visit, rooms in Walton Hall were not available however, I was offered a Executive suite in the Waterton Park Hotel. The suite was spacious and comfortable, if a tad tired in appearance. There is no air-condition in the room. Wined and dined at the Bridgewalk Restaurant in Walton Hall; excellent food and wine; attentive waiters and pleasant surroundings. It can be a tad noisy from party revellers; there was a wedding and reception at the time of my stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Xabia Spain

Beautiful grounds and facilities outside!

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Stunning grounds that are well maintained.
Cons: Long overdue for modernisation and refitting with new beds! Would not stay again until this has happened.
Location: I was visiting family so cannot comment on location etc!
I booked for 4 nights from Mon-Fri. First 2 nights I was stuck in a small dark room and felt like a mole! My view was of generators and the windows of surrounding rooms. As I was on ground floor I couldn't even see the sky! Eventually i was taken pity on by the receptionist and moved to a room with windows that opened and a view of trees around the car park! Great improvement. The beds in both rooms are hard and lumpy and now I am home am paying for it with back issues! The bathrooms are dangerous and ill equipped. The shower is over a deep bath with no grab rails so when wet is extremely dangerous. There is no counter space in the large bathrooms for putting cosmetics etc on - just a glass shelf about 3 inches wide which then tilts under the weight! Carpets in both rooms were filthy dirty with many stains. Long overdue for modernisation and refitting with new beds! Would not stay again until this has happened.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

lovely scenery for a peaceful break

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Spacious room with a lovely view over to Walton Hall.
Cons: We could not fault it
Location: Stopped at Newmillerdam for a country walk with afternoon tea.Wakefield is great for shopping too.
had an overnight stay for our 40th wedding anniversary.We could not have picked a better hotel.Staff were pleasant and helpful,nothing too much trouble.Food in Charlies bar lovely and well presented.A hidden gem that we have now discovered and can't wait to stay again!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bolton

Beautiful

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Everything about this hotel is beautiful - the rooms, the setting, the food, the lovely staff - a little taste of luxury and peace.
1 out of 5
by Sonny

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by David

Top hotel!

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
The best I've stayed in and I've stayed in a lot! Service was warm and friendly, food was luxurious, location was stunning and rates were reasonable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Our first impressions were positive and the whole experience proved to be the same. Room was very comfortable with a large en suite area. All staff were helpful and friendly. Ate in the restaurant and found the food to be of a high standard. Overall an enjoyable experience, one we will do again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 stars! I hope we can welcome you back in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but not nice beds.

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
We found the bed to be very uncomfortable. We were in room 71 which was large and fairly decorated. The bed was quite hard and the pillows are terrible. Room service has a very limited menu but the food was nice. The staff were also very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I will pass your feedback on. I do hope we can welcome you back in the future.