Ratings based on 357 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

North Leeds hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Loads of free parking near hotel, very helpful staff. It's just off a main road with the convenience of getting there without the noise. There was a lot of choice for continental breakfast, the cooked breakfast was not freshly made, but was fine. My only complaint was the bed in my room was very uncomfortable for the two of us to sleep in. It was a bed that could be folded back into the wall. It creaked and dipped towards the middle so we didn't get a lot of sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spacious grounds, good rooms

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Nice grounds, easy ample parking,clean and good rooms. Quiet peaceful. Dog friendly
Cons: No relaxing comfy lounge area to sit in. No "afternoon tea" done any more. I don't like the restaurant refurbishment- lacks atmosphere, too modern.
Location: Nice grounds, short taxi into city centre, good for perimeter/ suburbs
Very welcoming and efficient. Rooms very good and reasonable prices. No relaxing lounge facility. I don't like the new restaurant- would suit business- but too modern and lacks any atmosphere for an evening dinner, nowhere nice to sit after your evening meal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wilmslow

everything on site!

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Fabulous hotel, pub on site and the hotel has a fabulous restaurant. Room was large and airy and spotlessly clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

very good hotel and value for money.

Posted Mar 12, 2017
The hotel receptionist was exceptional excellently. The room service staff need to improve customer service skills. Over all a good hotel and value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Tyne and Wear

Nice hotel, great conference facilities.

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Staff were superb and the food was nice and plentiful. The Italian restaurant is lovely and makes a nice change from standard hotel or pub food.
Cons: This is really picky but I had to unplug a lamp by the bed so I could plug my phone in overnight and there was no clock in the room.
Location: Location if you are using the conference centre is brilliant, a little out of the way for Leeds without the use of a car.
I stay here as I was on a training course in the conference centre. The hotel is a short taxi ride from Horsforth train station (cost £5.70), and check-in was very straight forward. I paid for breakfast on arrival (£11) and wasn't disappointed with the selection. The room I stayed in was on the 2nd floor, and a little noisy from the traffic but the room was clean and the bed was comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Bit Dated

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: friendly, welcoming staff
Hotel undergoing a refurbishment, felt it was a bit dated. Clean and tidy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Overrated and poor value for money.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Location, and the efficiency of check in staff member.
Cons: Breakfast layout; restaurant training and management; display and replenishment of food items; egg dishes - cooked to order. Water heating system.
Welcoming and efficient check in Wed 15th Feb by young American receptionist - a natural talent in a customer contact role. No lift available - Room 6 Room large, but rather dull with dated furnishings. Room temperature difficult to control using radiator valve - either far too hot or too cold; no air conditioning. Small and nondescript toiletries. NO HOT WATER available from 0730 on Thur 16th Feb. Lobby refurbishment - poor project management - numerous trip hazards and limited access. Breakfast: Poor selection and general haphazard layout of items, with the usual precooked fried eggs, lack of replenishment and inedible black pudding, which had dried and baked hard since being put out much earlier (we breakfasted at 0845). Restaurant staff who wandered idly about adding one serviette here and a missing spoon there - painful to watch. N.B. Notable exceptions: a young waiter who was efficiently relaying tables on Fri 17th Feb and a more mature waiter, who kindly brought my wife a glass of water when she suffered a fit of coughing. On Thurs 16th Feb at 0930, we watched in astonishment as the waitress collected partially used milk jugs from each table and then emptied them all into the milk dispenser on the cereal table - unbelievable. Lack of side plates near the toaster, and bread - staff asked for replenishment. Poor selection of pastries, again not replenished. Individual jar of strawberry jam discovered to have been previously opened and partially used.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

Good hotel with very comfortable rooms

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: The stable bar is good and the beer great. Bedroom clean and very comfortable.
Cons: The restaurant food was ordinary and the staff if anything over attentive (trying too hard).
Location: We chose the location as it is close to relatives we visit.
Have stayed here several times. Not convinced the restaurant changes are an improvement. It would appear the restaurant is now franchised and is not in keeping with a smart hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Great value for money stay

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Hotel very near to an event we were attending. Great facility, comfy Family room and great value with 4 (as much as you can eat) breakfasts included! A real low life couple were violently complaining as we were checking out but their behaviour was disgraceful and uncalled for. They mistreated and disrespected the staff who were trying to listen to their complaint. There is a right way and a wrong way to complain, these two were professional complainers looking to get their stay for free by making a huge fuss over an egg. The staff handled it all with grace and other patrons were counter commenting against the complainers. We worth the stay and I'd state there again in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for business travel

Posted Jan 30, 2017
We ate in convive on the first night, excellent food and attentive staff. Staff attitude in stables the pub was poor. Second night room service very limited menu. Room comfortable but some soft furnishings tired with holes. Excellent breakfast and lovely breakfast staff.