Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

fabulous 5 stars

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: spacious, very clean, well maintained
Cons: slightly more choices for breakfast
Location: in the town centre, close to all amenities
I stayed for a weekend with my daughter in the room on the top floor....unbelievable comfort offered- large living room with comfy sofa, big TV screen...king-size bed in the extra spacious bedroom..and a Jacuzzi in the spacious bathroom..and a pressure shower with all different kind of jets...clean, spacious, hospitality trays....tasty meals, yet breakfast failty basic, but tasty..car park free of charge included..great location in the town centre, close to shopping centre...fabulous stay. My daughter is already planning another trip to Halifax and staying in Woll merchant Hotel
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Anglesey

Hotel close to city centre

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Position close to city centre.
Cons: Cleanliness and bar/restaurant open Sunday evening.
Bathroom cleanliness left much to be desired - soap dried onto tap. Bar and restaurant closed on Sunday evening (the only night I stayed).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Nice & clean hotel, very close to amenities.

Posted May 16, 2017
Stayed on a Sunday night, was disappointed that the bar & restaurant were both closed. The room had too much furniture in making it seem smaller.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Clean rooms near centre

Posted May 11, 2017
Arrived late, but was still welcomed warmly. Bit of a rabbit warren and was right on the top floor, so took a while to work out where I was. Room was huge...separate living room, bedroom and bathrooms. Clean and well maintained. Breakfast was a let down though. Bread was stale and the food was buffet style and not very nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value & would stay again - but a few issues!

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: The location, breakfast options, clean bedding and free parking.
Cons: Hoover the hotel room and less rushed breakfast.
Location: Take the train to the little villages and go walking it is beautiful and no need to drive!
The hotel is in a great location - we walked to the train station, into town and to Shibden Hall from the hotel and the free car parking is brilliant. The hotel looks great from the outside and inside has obviously been refurbished which was really welcoming. The breakfast was basic but ideal really - toast, cereals, tea, coffee, orange juice and bacon, sausages, eggs etc - what more could you want! And the fact it is free is excellent. The water in the room was hot and the kettle was a great addition with free biscuits, tea, coffee and bottles of water. An excellent added bonus. Reception staff were friendly and let us remain in the car park even after we checked out - again a nice touch. The only problems were that the staff in the breakfast room were quite loud and started cleaning up before breakfast was finished which meant we felt pressured to leave and felt a bit rushed. Also, we were on the ground floor and the bar was below us and we could hear the music during the day and into the evening. It was fine in the main but we wanted a day time nap which made it difficult to sleep. The bedding was clean in the room and so was the bathroom but it was clear the room hadn't been hoovered for a while. I am happy to stay in the most basic of hotel rooms and even hostels but I do expect it to be clean. Having said all of that it was a great weekend away and such a good price I would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oldham

Beautiful rooms

Posted Apr 17, 2017
We got a cheap deal a month ago and didn't hesitate to book again. The hotel is very clean and has a nice feel to it. The rooms are lovely. They are a good size and have character. They are furnished to a high standard and the rooms in general are very comfortable to be in. They feel more homely as apposed to chain type hotels that lack that characteristic. Breakfast was decent and a help yourself hot buffet in addition to various cereal but a little cramped maybe around the tea/coffee area. We will definitely be back again.
4 out of 5
by Anthony

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was very friendly and clean. Lack of sockets in the bedroom meant one bedside side light could not be plugged in. Shower not brilliant but adequate. Breakfast was packed away at 9 on the dot and very little in food and drink in the last 10 minutes, having said that food which was available was good value.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
Food in the restaurant and service was very good. Room was satisfactory but needs updating. The shower was no more than a trickle and the bathroom was very dated and a bit dirty.
3 out of 5
by Robert

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
Bed was really uncomfortable breakfast was help yourself scrambled eggs were burnt
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mauchline, East Ayrshire

Best value for money I have stayed in.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
No problem parking,easy check in, music gig a bit loud but was finished quite early and so was not a problem, room overall was of a good standard with lots of tea, coffee, biscuits etc., breakfast more than plenty and of decent quality. We were very impressed with the overall package and would not hesitate to stay at The Wool Merchant if we are back in Halifax.