Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north wales

Town centre hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Convenient location, warm and clean.
Cons: More staff available to help. Breakfast could be served later and hotter!
This was our second visit to hotel as convenient to to stay when visiting relatives in the area, however there was no one on reception had to go to the bar staff to get our room key. Hotel so busy we were allocated time for breakfast - 8am a bit early on Sunday morning. Room had shower not bath bit disappointing. Also disappointed that hotel restaurant was closed so no food available. No staff on reception or bar at checkout so just left room key as others had done - not very satisfactory this visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon

As before, very good for the money

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Friendly and efficient staff and convenient free car park. Also no problem with wifi.
Cons: Nothing of any significance
Location: Ten minute level walk to/from rail station. Bus station same distance but uphill if walking from hotel. Convenient for services/concerts at Minster.
Everything about this hotel is very good. Over the years there has been a rolling programme of refurbishment. The reception area in particular is very pleasing. Rooms are clean and tidy. My last room could have done with a comfier chair but the four poster bed I suppose took up most of the available space.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Cons: Check-in and shower
The hotel is OK for an overnight but the main issue was that I couldn't get in at 8pm even though check-in finished at 11pm. I had to go to the bar after a fellow customer let me in. The staff were pleasant enough but the shower was also not great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very handy for the town centre.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Location, price, cleanliness.
Cons: For the money, it is fine.
It is having a few upgrades since my stay last year. Better but still in the 3 star category. Clean, simple, friendly staff who are helpful should you need anything.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Great Hotel very near the central shops etc.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Centrally located, tidy and good breakfast.
Cons: Small bottle of water in the room was a nice touch, it would have been nice to have been mineral water and not just still.
Location: Near main shopping centre and near a sainsburys
Great Hotel very near the central shops etc. Great price also for a hotel this near the centre. Staff where very friendly, room was great and the breakfast was really good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Merseyside

Great location and good budget hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Car park is round the back and had plenty of spaces. We had to phone to get let into reception, a doorbell would have been good. Our room was good, although had a dirty towel in it. Tea/ coffee facilities good and included water and biscuits. Breakfast was reasonable, cereals/ toast/ cooked breakfast buffet/ tea, coffee and juice all included. We would stay here again, close to the shopping centre, train station and eureka
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs to get a good clean

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
Horrible never stay here the bed the towels the rooms were very unhygienic and I caught a rash and reaction I actually left after 2 hours
3 out of 5
by James from Scotland

It did the job!

Posted Nov 24, 2015 on Hotels
There was an issue with the room booking that took a bit of time to get resolved so we didn't get off to the best of starts. The room was ok although there was an unpleasant smell in the room. Breakfast the following day was good and there was plenty on offer. The staff did seem nice and the location is good as it was near the town centre.
2 out of 5
by Isabel from Hertford

Disappointing room

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
Positive - breakfast was plentiful and delicious - plenty of light in room Negative - hotel needed a makeover - stains on carpet, plastic lid on floor needed to be put in bin - somebody's top in drawer - 3 saucers but only 2 cups - electrics hanging off wall behind bed (was looking for somewhere to plug in phone) - yes we could have complained at the time but it was late and I had just driven from Scotland, not wanting to walk down three flights of stairs! Payment for this hotel was more than Fleece Inn in Halifax (where we stayed on the Sunday before our journey to Scotland) - comparing the two Fleece Inn was far more friendly, pleasant and comfortable - very disappointed with the Wool Merchant Hotel
4 out of 5
by Paula from Birkenhead

Posted Aug 16, 2015 on Hotels
Really enjoyed our stay will be using this hotel again in future