Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Melba

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Imely

Great place to stay!

Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was wonderful! I was with a group of 9 Family Members. The rooms and service were very good. I would definitely stay there again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

The hotel is close to the casino.

Posted May 17, 2017 on Orbitz
For the price it was fine, the room was clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Karen, We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and had fun at the casino! We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for your stay and review. Amanda General Manager Meander Inn
3 out of 5
by Susan

Probably will not stay there again.

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
Mattresses are broken down and should be replaced. It would have been nice to have real silverware instead of plastic with breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017
Dear Susan, Thank you for the feedback. We use all of our reviews to see what we are doing great at and what we can improve upon. Amanda General Manager Meander Inn
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
Our room had not been cleaned when we checked in. We complained and were given a new room. The door handle of the new room was broken which made it extremely difficult to get out of the room. When we told the desk we were told "I'll let someone know". There was a hole in the bathroom door and tub AND the carpet was sticky
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
2 out of 5
by Joseph

Clean bed sheets?

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
Stopped here for one night while traveling from Chicago to New York. I have stayed in Best Western hotels before so I thought I knew what to expect, but this did not live up to expectation. I knew it wasn't going to be the Ritz, the price was on the low end, but the bed sheets had cigarette burns and I wasn't convinced the sheets were clean as there was a couple of questionable marks/stains. My girlfriend and I were pretty grossed out, but had been on the road all day so just sucked it up and tried to get some sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the rating. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again! Amanda Assistant General Manager Best Western Meander Inn
2 out of 5
by amanda

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017
Dear Amanda, Thank you for your stay and review. We value all feedback received. Amanda Assistant General Manager Best Western Meander inn
5 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
New clerk, didn't know how to handle the third party reservation, but called someone and they walked her through it. Everyone has to learn sometime, but she was very pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017
Dear Micheal, Thank you for your valuable review. We appreciate all feedback received. I am sorry that it took a little to get you checked in, but glad the process went smoothly. Thank you for your stay and review. Amanda Assistant General Manager Best Western Meander Inn
1 out of 5
by Christopher

Smokers Only!!!!!

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
Very disappointed by this personal stay with my young son. As someone who stays in hotels 2-3 times a month on business this is the worst property I ever stayed in. The entire property from the lobby, hallways, and our room had a heavy smell of cigarette smoke, even though every room we saw was labeled on the door as non-smoking. The beds, carpet, and towels in our non-smoking room smelled like a cigar bar. It is obvious that management is ignoring and openly allowing smoking through the facility. It was 32F outside but we slept with our 2nd floor window full open, heat on, and towel under the door. In addition the carpets and stairwells are covered in muddy boot prints and dirt. We planned to eat at the restaurant on-site but left to get away from the smell. Unless you are a smoker or enjoy second hand smoke do not stay here. Just a terrible experience that I will not repeat when back in the Youngstown area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017
Christopher, I apologize that your stay was not better with us. We do have some smoking rooms here. We try to keep the smoke smell down to a minimum to keep all guest feeling welcome here. I also apologize for the dirt and mud. We try our best to keep the hallways and stairwells as clean as possible. I am very sorry that your stay with us was not better with us. We take all feedback to improve on what we are not doing great at and to see what we are doing great at. We thank you for your stay and review. - Amanda - Assistant General Manager - Best Western Meander Inn