Featured Image

Reviews of The Sleigh Maker Inn Bed and Breakfast

3 out of 5
The Sleigh Maker Inn Bed and Breakfast
87 West Main St, Westborough, MA

Overall score and ratings

4.8

Exceptional

Rating 5 - Excellent. 49 out of 56 reviews
5 - Excellent 88%
Rating 4 - Good. 5 out of 56 reviews
4 - Good 9%
Rating 3 - Okay. 1 out of 56 reviews
3 - Okay 2%
Rating 2 - Poor. 1 out of 56 reviews
2 - Poor 2%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 0 out of 56 reviews
1 - Terrible 0%

4.9/5

Cleanliness

4.9/5

Staff & service

4.8/5

Property conditions & facilities

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Very nice!
It was a gift for our son and his wife. They had a wonderful time. The inn was clean and the owner was more than hospitable! Would definetly recommend!
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2018
Response from Deborah on Dec 26, 2018
Lesley, Thank you for choosing The Sleigh Maker Inn Bed and Breakfast for their wedding night. We really enjoy newly weds and creating a romantic first night for them as husband and wife.

5/5 Excellent

My stay at the Sleigh Maker Inn was wonderful. The Writer’s room was exceptionally cozy and comfortable. I wanted a sweet treat at night and Deborah pointed me to the perfect place (Uhlman’s ice cream). Jim and Deborah were perfect hosts; the breakfast portion of the stay was gourmet including carrot, coconut spice waffles and even breakfast dessert... a broiled banana with chocolate sauce that was delicious. Deborah makes her own shampoos and soaps that are in the bathroom; the lavender/mint lotion was my favorite. Far beats staying in a hotel!
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2018
Response from Deborah on Sep 10, 2018
Beth, thank you for your kind words. It wasa treat having you stay with us. Jim and I try to cater to our guests and reviews are the best way to find out that we are hitting the mark. We look forward to seeing you again. Deborah

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
we really enjoyed our stay at the sleighmaker. jim and deborah are excellent hosts. highly recommend for any trip in and around the boston area. do not eat at the sapporo korean restaurant down the street.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2018
Response from Deborah on Jun 21, 2018
Being excellent hosts is easy when we have wonderful guests. Thank your for staying with us. Please send me a private message about what your experience about Sapporo's. Thanks

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great hospitality. Nice touched. Customer oriented.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2018
Response from deborah on Jun 19, 2018
Chris, it was lovely meeting you. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Response from Deborah on May 16, 2018
Thank you for your great rating our our 1893 Victorian Bed and Breakfast. Thanks for posting the night time photo.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great little B&B in Central Mass.
My husband and I needed a place in Central MA near Hopkinton for the night, and he found this place online. We’re in Westborough every few months or so but had never seen or heard of the place. I’m so glad we chose to stay there! The place itself is adorable, the hosts are great, and the breakfast was delicious. Highly recommended for either an overnight stay or a week’s vacation.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2018
Response from Deborah on Apr 15, 2018
Thank you for writing a review of our little B&B. We are so lucky to have wonderful guest like yourselves! It make our job easy. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
A week of being pampered...
We stayed in the sleigh room for a week while visiting our daughter and her family nearby. It was absolutely the best. Jim and Deborah are amazing people and everything was perfect down to the soap and shampoo made by Deborah. The breakfasts were delicious. It felt like we had come to stay with old friends. We will definitely stay here when we visit our daughter next time.
Stayed 7 nights in Jan 2018
Response from Deborah on Feb 2, 2018
Pampering is what it is all about! Love meeting you during your visit to Westborough and look forward to seeing you again on future stays. Jim and I try to make the Sleigh Maker Inn a comfortable place to stay with a casual feel and friendly environment. When our guests want to converse we love chatting but if guests prefer to not talk we also respect their preferences. Thank you for posting a review of our little bed and breakfast.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Home away from home
The Sleigh Maker Inn was the perfect stay. Our experience was relaxing, fun, and comfortable. I felt like we were at home! The staff is very friendly and welcoming. The Inn is walking distance from restraurants and stores. We had an amazing time here!
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2017
Response from Deborah on Dec 5, 2017
Amanda, It was a our pleasure having you stay with us during your time in the Westborough and Grafton area. I hope we were able to help with the information about living in Central MA.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2017
Response from Deborah on Nov 8, 2017
John, thank you for rating us on your stay. Hope to see you again soon.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2017
Response from Deborah on Dec 5, 2017
Thank your for taking the time to review our little bed and breakfast.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
This is a bed and breakfast done right! Innkeepers were very friendly and helpful. They had thought of every detail!
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2017
Response from Deborah on Oct 22, 2017
Thank you for the review. We do try to have everything our guests need. Thank you for staying with us this month.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Sleigh Maker Inn is memorable
Our stay at the Sleigh Maker Inn was a wonderful experience. Deborah and Jim are experienced hosts and really know how to make their guests feel welcome. Dexter, their in and out cat, was welcoming as well. The house itself is historical and is furnished appropriately to allow these Texans a real Massachusetts experience. The location is walking distance from a number of restaurants and downtown Westborough. We stayed in the Sleigh Maker's room which had a nice view of the neighborhood, a very comfortable bed, a spacious bathroom with Jacuzzi hot tub and a separate shower. We stayed two nights and enjoyed complete, made from scratch, three course breakfasts on the following mornings. They really pay attention to minute details to ensure guests will have everything they need. Deborah even makes the soaps and lotions that are in the bathrooms. My wife and I have stayed at many B&B's and think the Sleigh Maker Inn to be among the best. Thank you Deborah and Jim for the great memories!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Lovely B&B
Beautiful B&B. Quiet, cozy, and comfortable- highly recommend to others

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Quaint, clean, and convenient inn.
Very nice, close to home but a getaway. I would recommend to anyone .

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Response from General Manager on Dec 21, 2016
Thank you very much for leaving a review rating. Deborah

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Bed and breakfast was very comfortable.
The place was very comfortable and inviting. The owner a pleasure to work with. Breakfast was excellent. Would stay there again.
Response from Deborah on Dec 21, 2016
We look forward to having you stay with us again. These reviews are so important to us and Jim and I greatly appreciated your taking time to write a review.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Perfect B&B :)
What a wonderful stay!! Although I usually stay in the big box hotels when traveling for business, this was simply perfect. Deborah could not have been more nice or accommodating (I had a late arrival and a late departure the next day). The bed and bedding and toasty electric fire place was so lovely, I think I had the best sleep of my entire life!! Also I am a cat lover and their house cat Dexter is magnificent. Would stay here again and again!
Response from General Manager on Dec 14, 2016
Thank you so much for writing a review. It was treat to met you and chat about your business. Jim, I and Dexter look forward to seeing you again soon. Deborah

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
A Particularly Good B&B!
Wonderful old house but with updated amenities -- good bed, nice bath. Great breakfast (waffles were especially good). The owner makes her own soaps and lotions, so that was an expected -- and delightful -- perk (I bought some to take home). Very friendly hosts and -- surprise -- we thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast companions. The decor was very true to the house's era without being too cute. We wished we'd had more time to enjoy the sitting room, the garden and so on!
Response from Deborah on Nov 19, 2016
Very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Sleigh Maker Inn. Other things to do in the area include Tower Hill Botanical Gardens, Willard Clock Museum, Worcester Air Museum along with parks and lakes for walking, biking and kayaking. We are 35 miles from Boston so depending on the time of day by car the ride can be 45 to 65 minutes. There is also a commuter rail station in Westborough and takes about 50 to 60 minutes to reach So. Station. We do hope to see you again in the future.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Comfortable, Historic B&B
Nice B&B with accommodating Innkeeper and a very nice, 3-course homemade breakfast. Only three rooms to keep the Inn intimate. My room was at the front of the house and as a historic spot, was very close to the road along with some noise, but quieted down by 11pm. Definitely served the purpose, and a nice alternative to a hotel chain that I needed for a business meeting in the morning in Framingham.
Response from General Manager on Nov 19, 2016
We love taking care of our business travelers and providing a tasty and healthy breakfast to start their day. It was lovely to met you and I hope we have the opportunity to see you again.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Comfortable Inn
I enjoyed my stay very much. I was in the area on business but this Inn was so comfortable and relaxing that I felt like I was at home. Breakfast is amazing!
Response from General Manager on Nov 19, 2016
Jim and I work very hard to make all of our guest feel pampered at a very affordable price. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and had a chance to relax and unwind while in the area on business. Looking forward to your next visit.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Delightful!
We thoroughly enjoyed the Sleigh Maker Inn. Rooms were charming, clean, and comfortable. Little "extra-touches"everywhere added to the experience. Homemade toiletries and locally sourced foods were an added plus. Our host and hostess were warm and professional, a balance not always found in B&B accommodations. The three course breakfast was remarkable! We would gladly return and would recommend this establishment to family and friends.
Response from General Manager on Aug 25, 2016
Charlene, thank you for taking the time to write a review. Jim, I and Dexter, the cat, enjoyed meeting you and having you stay with us. Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
A great getaway
A very nice B & B. The hosts were lovely and accommodating. The breakfast was delicious!
Response from General Manager on Sep 6, 2016
Thank you Colleen for reviewing us. It was great to met you and Jim and I look forward to seeing you again. Fall here is lovely and there are a number of things to do in the area such as apple picking, antiquing, biking, kayaking, visiting museums or relaxing. Deborah

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Amazing
It was outstanding!!
Response from General Manager on Sep 6, 2016
Pilar, thank you for your glowing review. We love being only 35 miles from Boston. Deborah

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Excellent!
Fantastic hosts, food, rooms, location, etc. Hosts were very helpful, knowledgable, kind, considerate, and excellent gourmet cooks! Not much else to be desired! They provided everything we needed! Would return there in a heartbeat!
Response from Deborah on Jul 2, 2016
Louis, Thank you for your review and kind words. We have lived in Westborough for 11 years and know the area well. We love providing our guests with information to help in their visit to the Central Mass and the Boston area. Food and Hospitality is what we are all about. Hope to see you again.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
5-star Plus!
The hosts were extremely gracious and hospitable, making us feel as if we were old friends. Their care and attention to detail was amazing, from the decor of the parlor to the bedrooms. The breakfast Debra prepared for us was creative and original; we would definitely rate it a 5-star!!!
Response from Deborah on Mar 19, 2016
Michele, it was our pleasure to have you as guests. Jim and I look forward to seeing you again.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Beautiful, well maintained B&B
We stayed overnight and were extremely pleasantly surprised. The property was well maintained. We stayed in the Sleigh Maker Room and it was beautiful, spacious and comfortable. The owners were delightful and,although I didn't call ahead to advise that I follow a vegan diet, Deborah made phenominal carrot walnut waffles for breakfast to accomodate me.
Response from Deborah on Nov 7, 2015
Melanie, thank you posting such a nice review of our little b&b. Jim and I love this business and the opportunity it provides to met people from all over. After 10 years in the business, we have a number of dishes for breakfast that can work with most dietary restrictions or life styles. Looking forward to seeing you again

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Highly Recommend
My wife and I had a wonderful stay. The breakfast was fantastic!
Response from General Manager on Sep 6, 2016
Hi Seth We do love making our guests smile with our breakfasts. Hope to see you again soon. Deborah

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice, friendly inn
Nice people; nice facility.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Very nice experience
My fiancée and I stayed here for one night while visiting family. Overall, we had a very nice stay. The Sleigh Maker room was large and had a big jetted tub and stand up shower. The proprietor was very friendly and accommodating and the breakfast was terrific.
Response from Deborah on Nov 6, 2015
Darren, thank you for writing a review. It was wonderful to met you both. Maybe on your next visit we will have a King Bed.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great location close to everything with excellent
Fabulous owners with incredible breakfasts in an idyllic setting close to everything. Warm & welcoming.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Super kind, friendly bnb owners, very comfortable, beautiful home. The breakfast was delicious!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Quaint getaway
I loved the decorations and sitting on the wrap around porch having tea. I stayed in the editors room which was the smallest. Next time I will stay in the biggest room. It was wonderful with a big tub.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice Bread.& Breakfast
It's a very nice place. Better than the conventional hotels.

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Staff & service, room comfort
Horrible location
If you want to feel like you live at home again and like being yelled at by mommy then this is the place for you. Horrible location. Non stop traffic ten feet away from the inn....
Response from Deborah on Jul 2, 2016
We are not sure how to respond to this review as we did not have a guest make this complaint to us. The Sleigh Maker Inn owners show respect to all of our guest and provide a clean lovely room and 3 course gourmet breakfast each morning. The building is on a main street in town and the traffic is busy at certain times of the day but not all the time.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
excellent place but just a little out of the way
extremely nice place to stay, but it is just a little ways out of the way from the things that we wanted to see.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
An excellent choice
Very comfortable and clean. Hosts very helpful. Breakfast was terrific. Would stay there again.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
will stay again
Very nice B&B

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Pretty 19th century b & b
This place is quiet, comfortable and convenient with a very good breakfast. It's on a road that is busyish during the day but I noticed no nighttime noise . The place is quite well cared-for.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great breakfast. Very nice hosts.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Quaint and cute is hard to find in a Boston suburb
If you're looking for a great bed and breakfast, look no further. I wasn't able to stay for breakfast due to having to work constraints, but the hosts were warm and welcoming. It felt like they were opening their home to me and wanted to make sure that I was comfortable at all times.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Wonderful Autumn Weekend
I can't say enough good about the Sleighmaker Inn and owners, Deborah and Jim. My daughter and I were treated like family in their lovely home. Deborah and Jim have the perfect attitude as hosts - friendly and helpful without being overbearing. The breakfasts are amazing!!!! Healthy and scrumptious, all at the same time. I can heartily recommend this establishment and hope to return again myself. I'm already picturing a cozy winter weekend, with snow falling outside and plenty of warm hospitality inside.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Well-located in central Mass.
Welcomed late, cozy, fine accommodations. Hosts prepared a lovely breakfast. Charming common rooms, porch, garden in characteristic New England setting.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Good home base
If you need to stay in Westborough, this is the place to be. An oasis in a pretty sterile suburb. Our host was a delight, the food ample, creative, and delicious. The Inn is on the main drag, which means street noise. We felt comfortable and cherished as guests.

3/5 Okay

Place was easy enough to find late at night. Location is on a busy street and somewhat noisy through out because of passing vehicles. Could not try breakfast because of our late arrival - sleeping through it in the morning etc. Room and bathroom are cluttered with many decorative pieces but was clean. An average, no-frills place to crash at night.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Excellent room Deborah is a great host Breakfast was out of this world

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Wonderful attention to detail
Our hosts did everything possible to make us comfortable. Breakfast was the best I've ever had.