Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient but a bit smelly

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Just ok Would only return if no other option
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and tired with no hot water

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
No hot water in the bathroom so a wonderful cold shower experience on a freezing cold day. Expensive, old and tired. The downstairs ladies cloakroom had a sink that didn't work. Breakfast was OK. Can't recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Quirky but nice

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Feels like home (kind of) For its level it is fine, should not be compared with a five star hotel
Cons: Stayed many times as it is close to my family home, therefore I always feel good about it.
Location: Close to family home in Oxted so very convenient
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the cost. Old and tired

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Location near Chatrwell
Cons: Room, phone, staff and cost
Location: Old mkt town in Kent, sophisticated shops, Chartwell nearby
Did not get room booked,said i could sleep on sofa. Phone didn't work. Lights so dim in room couldn't read...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Good Location For Exploring Area

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Location for exploring a number of National Trust sites and other things in the area.
Cons: Restaurant experience disappointing which I will attribute to lack of staff having seen their notices on entering the premises.
Location: We chose this hotel for its location for its proximity to a number of National Trust premises and other places we wanted to visit.
Pleased with the car parking facilities on arrival and ease of booking in at reception, staff member was very welcoming and impressions of reception area and bars/restaurant led us to reserve an evening meal. Room was very pleasant, roomy, light and comfortable. After unpacking decided to alter our meal booking time so tried contacting reception 4 times by internal phone over the next 15mins but without success. Library restaurant area very nice and service at being seated was good but didn't last. My steak meal arrived but had to be returned as came under cooked and by the time it returned my wife had virtually finished hers. Further drinks were requested but never arrived. As waitress took dessert order from adjoining table we again asked about our drinks to which apologised as she had forgotten them, from over hearing the next tables dessert order it was apparent several dishes were not available which didn't bode well as those were some of our favourites. As our table was cleared the dessert menu was provided but nothing at this time was said about non available items. Over twenty minutes later no one had returned to take our orders so we decided not to have anything else, just then a member of staff appeared as we thought to take our order but presented us with a printed bill. Cooked breakfast etc very nice and staff pleasant and welcoming. I would have rated this hotel higher if it hadn't been for evening meal but shortage of staff seemed to be reason! Shame.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Barry

just what we expected

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
Charming country hotel albeit a quirky shower in bathroom ! Professional staff great breakfast and all at an appropriat
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but disappointing.

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: There was really nothing we liked except the location.
Cons: Just about everything in any category.
The lady on check in was very nice, and helpful. However, the room was very small, dusty and not nice at all really.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average Inn that does the job nicely for 1 nighter

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
The Kings Arms is average. It's great for a one nighter but any more than that and I would pick holes in a fair few things. Internally, it's fine but I would say it's more of an 'Inn' than a hotel! If you go in with the expectation of an Inn then you'll be fine. Our Family Room was big, clean and everything worked. The room and the bathroom need a lick of paint. Overall, generally happy and would probably stay here again if I need a night in the area.
4 out of 5
by Jonathan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 6, 2016 on Hotels