Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel in a lovely location.

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness and comfort of the room.
Cons: The food, as it was a real disappointment. The gravy and the mash on both meals were fine but let down by the cooking of the main meat ingredient.
The Hotel is in a nice location but the garden is noisy due to it being so close to the road. It was extremely quiet in the Hotel with only another couple in the restaurant. The room was lovely , again very quiet and very comfortable. Nice linen and pillows and very clean. My only complaint was the food. My partners Chicken was terribly dry, and the Sausages in my Sausage and mash were a big disappointment..very dry and very overcooked. A shame as I would otherwise being giving the Grasshopper a very good revue..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

A good night stop

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: Location and breakfast
Cons: An opening window in the room, please!
Arriving late at Gatwick, the Grasshopper was an easy 30 minute drive. The building is gorgeous, the staff were friendly, the breakfast superb, the room clean and the bed comfortable. Only downside was not being able to open a window in our room, which made for a somewhat stuffy night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Very nice stay, lovely hotel and very friendly staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Nightstop

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: Good food, well prepared and well served.
Cons: Need to improve both mobile and Internet connection
Location: N/a
Room adequate for a nightstop with some small reservations. A double bed on a large frame. Unfortunately, the corners of the frame attract lower leg areas. A smart lit mirror over the sink, but the pixie little lights do not illuminate the face suitable to shave by.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved it!

Posted Dec 30, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely hotel for a couples break; secluded, quiet and comfortable. Great food, wonderful staff, and "olde English" style. Recommended.
5 out of 5
by Nicholas from Southampton

comfy and functional

Posted Dec 13, 2015 on Hotels
Cottage room outside in car park made it a little noisy because of the proximity to both A25 and M25 either side of the hotel. That said the room was comfortable and functional. Food was very good in 'country' atmospheric restaurant, if a little overpriced. Location was far enough from surrounding villages to make it impractical to tarvel-out for food. I intend to visit again and request room inside hotel to see what that is like.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing, bad Price-Performance ratio

Posted Nov 27, 2015
Pros: Friendly Service at breakfast
Location: Very close to Country road to Westerham!
Restaurant close at 9pm! First we get wrong Standard room with no window to open, instead of the booked Delux room! Room Berlin (Delux room) with very small Windows, no few and not really clean and inviting! Very loud noise level from generator or ventilation system all night long.
5 out of 5
by matthew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK for a night

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
We were in the annexe which was OK for one night. The meals and drinks are very expensive and the carvery we had was stone cold. The breakfast wasn't much better and the dining room was cold. Staff were very friendly and helpful though.
4 out of 5
by ROBIN from LYDNEY GLOUCESTERSHIRE

Grasshopper inn

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
the accommodation and served as opposed to buffet breakfast was excellent. The only problem is that the hotel is situated on a fast, and at times noisy road.