Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Big Bear, California

Posted Nov 25, 2017
I came in very late and Stepanie made sure my room was warm and welcoming, super nice after flying across the United States. The hotel is very clean and in a super cool neiborhood,right on the beach.Amazing, i plan on comming back in July, A truly beautiful motel with and character, and history, located in great place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FAIRFIELD, CT

VERY NICE HOTEL, RIGHT IN FRONT THE BEACH

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: CLEAN AND STUFF
Cons: EVERYTHING WAS JUST FINE
Location: ONE OF THE BEST BEACHES ON THE EAST SIDE FOR SURE...
STEFANIE WAS A VERY GOOD PERSON, AND SHE DID EVERYTHING SHE COULD FOR US... WE WILL BE BACK NEXT SUMMER FOR SURE...!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach

Posted Oct 6, 2017
It was a nice place close to beach and restaurants
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: location, room decorating
Right on the beach, nicely updated rooms, great staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2017
There were flies all over and the shower flooded. There was no one in the office and no one answered the telephone number left on the door.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
Location was fantastic. Bar on the beach was nice (though the service was not).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fun in the sun!

Posted Aug 17, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed the stay very much. Sandy Shore was right on the beach, you can't ask for anything better than that. Parking could be improved. Service very friendly,
4 out of 5
by Mark

Great location

Posted Aug 5, 2017 on Hotels
Location, location, location. Love staying at this motel and the location is wonderful.The room we stayed in was kind of small and the TV was very small. But who goes to the beach to watch TV
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malta, New York

Nice hotel and on the beach

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: As was said above the staff was great and location on the beach was wonderful.
Cons: The bathrooms could be updated.
Location: We were there for the beach and the location was great. There wasn't much to do in the area but it is a great place to go to relax.
Room had an issue with the air conditioner and the staff responded immediately, putting in a new one that same afternoon. Staff was great and reacted right away. Hotel was right on the beach which was wonderful. We would stay here again. Hope to return next year.
2 out of 5
by barbara

Beach yes, motel no!

Posted Aug 3, 2017 on Hotels
First off, it is directly on the beach and that being said is the best thing that can be said about the place. Sandy Shores isn't a budget friendly motel, but when you rent a room for a moderate price a few expectations should of been met. First off, it looks like a 1950's beach motel, once inside it is no better, worn floors and cheap old furniture. The bed linens were clean but when you sat on the bed it sounded like someone farted and every move was met with more noises. There were no hangers in the room nor was there a coffee maker. The bath amenities were 3 towel sets and the thinnest bars of soap, no hair dryer or complimentary toiletries. They advertise free internet but once it let me sign in I was only able to get 10 minutes of service the two days we were there. We had a wonderful time as the beach is what we came for, but the room left a lot to be desired. In addition to being right on the beach the Sandy Shores has its' own bar right on the sand, which can be both a good and bad thing.