Ratings based on 3,815 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We've been coming to the Hotel Kabuki for 10 years

Posted Apr 26, 2018
Pros: The location, most of the staff, the look, when it is not industrial modern.
Cons: Bring back the soaking tubs, coverup the exposed utility lines, bring back the restaurant.
Location: Movies, transportation, great restaurants, the Korean Spa across the Street.
And they have been renovating the hotel for about the last 2 1/2 years. It no longer has a restaurant. The lovely soaking tubs in the rooms are gone; and something quite unusual, the utility lines in the rooms and in the halls are now exposed. When I asked about this, I was told, " this is the new industrial modern look." I'm not sure. Meanwhile, I love the location, convenient to MUNI, the staff is charming and helpful, great restaurants nearby on Fillmore St. Also a fine movie theatre within the block. The new bar is quite chic and attractive to Millenials. So I will still go there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenient to shopping

Posted Apr 24, 2018
It was a perfect place to stay to enjoy the Cherry Blossom Festival. Everyone was very helpful and accommodating and gave us many suggestions to maximize our experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2018
We found that the bar closing at 9pm on a Saturday night was odd. Plus the room rate was a bit high for the amenities that were provided. I would not recommend this hotel to my friends and family.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mn

Close/affordable parking

Posted Apr 18, 2018
Parking was easy to find, and close to elevators that leads straight to the rooms. The cons about the elevators is that it takes awhile to go to garage parking. The rooms are good sizes, although it feels kind of creepy be alone by myself. Breakfast was pricy, I prefer to go eat out. Not worth the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to hospital.

Posted Apr 6, 2018
Only a desk chair in room; sitting/laying on bed not comfortable to us. Quirky bathroom/ shower door layout!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and it is close to Chinese consulate

Posted Apr 4, 2018
The hotel is very clean and the hotel staff are very friendly. It is located in Japanese town and there are many convenient stores near by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2018 by Brian W, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback! We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay, and hope to host you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Too cool and funky

Posted Apr 1, 2018
New renovation has some design flaws. Huge shower with a glass door not textured or tinted at all in a bathroom area with no door except for the toilet. The bathroom area was very echo-y and voices from other rooms were audible. The new “funky” aesthetic was a bit trying too hard to be cool. But service was great. In hotel breakfast was way too expensive. Still a nice place to stay and we had a great deal from Expedia. Excellent Japantown location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Central location in Japantown

Posted Apr 1, 2018
Nice, clean Japanese-inspired hotel located in the Japantown neighborhood. Was a bit surprised (due to my ignorance) about the nice "complimentary" breakfast that turned out to not be complimentary (~$26/person), but otherwise no unpleasant surprises. Nice robes. Was expecting Japantown to have more Japanese art and the like, but enjoyed it nevertheless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Superb hotel in a great location

Posted Mar 31, 2018
Pros: Great location, spotless rooms, modern yet charming interior, good customer service and stunning views of San Francisco.
Cons: Internet connectivity- would sometimes disconnect and require you to keep reconnecting.
Location: Essentially in the middle of everything- at the centre of the city and most key attractions are within walking distance or a short cab ride away.
Hotel Kabuki provided me with everything I required and more. It enhanced my San Francisco experience and I couldn't have picked a better hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Perfect Hotel for Us

Posted Mar 27, 2018
Loved the location with tons of places to eat without the wait at reasonable prices. Cute store in Japan Center like Daiso. Beautiful lobby, one working elevator. One neg. was there was no AC so we opened the sliding door. Not able to regulate temp that way. Would not stay here in the summer. Provides robes and umbrellas in room. The shower was awesome. No tub. As mentioned by others, no door to bathroom so light shines in the face of the rest of the family sleeping. Staff very friendly. Big screen TV and yes, no mirror in the room, only bathroom. In a great location, safe. Away from the traffic in Union Square. Would stay here again in a heart beat.