Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely large room with a sea view over the Knysna lagoon. Perfect location to view the Knysna Heads and have breakfast or lunch at one of the top rated cafes which is directly opposite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading, UK

What a wonderful location

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Had a fantastic room with a view across the lagoon. Wonderful breakfast, must try homemade cakes!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Antje, Hotel Management
Hi Kevin, thank you so much for this wonderful review! It was so nice to have you guys staying with us. Please come and visit us again some time soon! warmest regards Antje & Paddy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Clean and top views

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Located in a quiet street, great views of Knysna Heads, Close to the beach, the cleaner Lady kept the rooms spotless and clean top marks for her. The owners are not friendly, very vague and not approachable you don't feel like being in their company so sooner breakfast was over the better. The Lady cooking breakfast should greet the guest she was bubbly, and always had a smile on her face. The owners need to learn customer contact skills, but I would still recommend the guest house as it's clean, big rooms and in a quiet location. It can be challenging with cases going up and down stairs but the owner did say he had someone to help you with your luggage.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by the lady cooking the breakfast, Hotel Management
Hi there, many thanks for this review. We are rather confused by it though. The owner doesn't actually live here. It is Paddy and myself who are running this establishment. We do the breakfast together and always take the time to chat to all our guests. We never had a complaint about our breakfast as we really put our hearts into it. I really hope you come and visit us again. warm regards Antje
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great honeymoon spot

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Augusta Bay. We visited during our August 2016 honeymoon and could not have been more pleased with the accommodations, staff, hotel location and overall ambiance. Our room was very spacious and offered exceptional views of the lagoon. We'd highly recommend to anyone looking for a quiet, well-situated, clean and comfortable stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi there, many thanks for this great review. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. We're looking forward to welcoming you again. warm regards Antje & Paddy
5 out of 5
by Margaret from Auckland NZ

Augusta Bay an idyllic retreat

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
A perfect stop while travelling the Garden Route. A very lovely spot overlooking the Lagoon Heads, the view from our room spectacular. Loved the elegant character of the hotel and our room. Definitely recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Margaret, thank you so much for this review! We hope to see you again some time! warm regards Antje & Paddy
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 30, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Rene from Switzerland

Luxury location and nice rooms.

Posted Nov 29, 2015 on Hotels
Good location. Nice views. Great rooms.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Hotels
Perfect acco, great room with view (deluxe room), breakfast was perfect (different choices from a menu) and a warm and welcoming host.
5 out of 5
by Roy from tel aviv

fanily vacation

Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels
stayed with our 2 11 and 7 daughters and enjoyed much the hotel and proximity to the ocean. The owner was great and as well as the great family room we got with ocean view
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Lovely stay

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Pros: The B & B is in a great position. Certain rooms have great view of the lagoon. Huge room and bathroom! Hot tube in room! Strong wifi signal. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious with an abundance of food. Cons: old fashion faucets (separate hot & cold). A lot of stairs if you have a room on 3rd floor. Unless you are the first two guests to get the private parking inside the garage, the other parking lots are short in length (bumper sticking out on street) and since It is on a slight curve it is not recommended. We parked in a public lot one house away. It is at the end of the street so we felt quite safe leaving our car there.