Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Exceptional staff

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: The staff are exceptional - so attentive and welcoming. The atmosphere is very relaxing.
Location: Access to the hotel is via a long gravel road.
From the moment we arrived we felt like valued guests. Chris organised complimentary drinks and nibbles then left us to relax and complete the obligatory check-in paperwork. We were then shown to our lovely room in the Manor House. To look out of our bedroom window and see a herd of wildebeest wandering past was amazing. Later in the afternoon we were sitting on the terrace and three giraffe appeared in the valley below. It was truly magical. Dinner was part set courses and part buffet and one of the best meals we had during our 9 day trip to SA. Delanie, our waitress, was delightful. When we went back to our room, we found the electric blanket had been switched on which was most welcome as it had turned quite chilly. The next day we joined an early morning game drive. It was a thoroughly enjoyable experience thanks to our guide, Duan. We were well aware that there are a limited number of animals living on the reserve and found that we enjoyed seeing the fabulous scenery as much as we did game spotting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic place to stay

Posted Nov 21, 2016
This was our second visit. We love everything about it. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful. You are made to feel special from the moment you arrive until you leave. The activities can be booked when you arrive we loved the Game Drive horse riding safari and walking with lions. The food is amazing . We stayed in the Manor House with fantastic views and a beautiful pool area. The only problem was the water in the bathroom did not flow well and was not always warm. We will be back x
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Game and Fine Dining

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Go for the game drives, stay for the excellent food and dining. Amazingly friendly and attentive service from everyone from the guides to the cleaning staff. Every meal was beautifully presented and delicious. Quite a value as well compared to game lodges around Kruger. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a game drive and lodge experience along the Garden Route. Didn't want to leave!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by The Botlierskop Team, Hotel Management
Good Morning, Thank you for the compliments! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Excellent hotel in a stunning location!

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Pros: Beautiful decor and facilities, excellent staff who are friendly and passionate, activities (game drive, horse ride, canoe ride) were fun!
Cons: Additional privacy for toilets - the concept of an open bathroom seems nice but with no doors at all, it's not the best when the toilet smells!
Location: Location is fantastic, we stayed on the hotel property the entire 3 days as there were plenty of activities to keep us entertained.
My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in December. From the moment we arrived, we fell in love with the place! HOTEL & FACILITIES The hotel itself is beautiful, well furnished and styled with animal furs, leather lounges, candles, and African-themed decor throughout. Our tent was stunning, the bed was HUGE and there was ample space for two people with double basins in the bathroom and a comfy stone bathtub. Everything was clean and we'd been gifted a bottle of wine and some cute chocolates. We looked onto a grass hill near the water so there was privacy and around the grounds, the views were breathtaking - rolling grass hills and a river and plenty of game/wildlife around. There were however a few things which let us down - the outdoor shower is amazing and a really great idea but can be a nuisance if you want a shower at night as it can get very cold and there are mosquitoes and bugs. The outdoor lights for both the back shower and the front deck were both broken, these were not repaired until our 3rd day so we had to use candles outside and couldn't have a shower after it got dark. And the pedicure at the day spa was not the best. Overall however, the place is stunning! SERVICE Overall, the service was excellent. Our check-in was a little slow, we arrived at 9pm and didn't get to our rooms until 10.30pm! But aside from this, reception/restaurant/activities service was excellent in all cases. Staff are super friendly and happy to assist and passionate about their jobs
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Fantastic Experience

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: The staff, the building and rooms, the views, the animals, the spa, the pools, everything .
Cons: Can't fault it.
Location: Don't know as we never left the game reserve.
The game reserve is accessed via a very long gravel track and it makes you wonder what you are coming to! When we arrived we were met by our assigned guide who arranged the car to be parked and took us on a tour of the main buidling which is amazing. We were then offered complimentary drinks and a snack whilst we browsed the selection of activities. I was worried that they would all be booked up but there was plenty of space and they were so accomodating. We booked walking with lions, horseback riding and a Game Drive. All were excellent value and were fantastic. We booked a luxury manor room. The Manor was down a steep drive but there are plenty of golf cars around to take people up and down if they so wish. The Manor House was stunning with its own private lounge where a fire is lit each evening. Our room look out onto a grassy plain where wildebeest and spring bok were grazing-fantastic. There was also a swimming pool for Manor House guests to use which was a stones throw from our veranda. It was sheer bliss. The room was fabulous we couldn't fault it. Our food was not included but we opted to eat breakfast and evening meal as it was difficult to go elsewhere. The prices were very reasonable and the food superb. A real experience to eat there. One evening there were African Drummers and we sat round a large fire pit learning how to play the drums. We only had a two night stay but it was fantastic and look forward to going back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide South Australia

Wish we had more time there

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Great place to stay, clean, classy but not pretentious, amazing food and great staff. Wish we could have stayed longer. Well done everyone :)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful experience - poor drives, food and room

Posted Sep 8, 2015
This place is a scam. They go out on fewer than 20% of the committed game drives and spend their whole time trying to sell spa treatments to you. It's not a safari experience it's a tacky sales engine. The food was inedible and the staff incredibly rude. Be careful not to get stung and try elsewhere. In addition we overheard someone saying that the place is for sale and that they have a few weeks to screw as much money out of their visitors as possible. Together with the flooding and fire risk we couldn't recommend this place to our worst enemy. STAY CLEAR!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Staying with the wildlife

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Wonderful family experience, calm, relaxing and a quality destination. Walking with lions, was memorable! The guides were attentive and informative, taking time to explain the ecology and master plan for repopulating the area with wildlife. These lions are captive, not wild, they seem better off and well cared for. A must do, but have your eyes wide open to the circumstances to why your there!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

Somewhat ersatz, but wonderful

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Oysters in Knysna, beach activities (in summer), and Walk with the Lions at Zorgfontein (affiliated).
Unexpectedly luxurious, interesting, and convenient, this hotel and private game park has many ancillary activities to make it even more pleasurable. While very close to Knysna, the night is quiet and calm, while the game drives (reminiscent of Safari West in the U.S.) are interesting and exciting if you have not yet done the full-on Safari experience. Food and drink are above average, though not in the 5-star range. Rooms are very comfortable and staff is friendly. It was perfect for us on our way down the Garden Route.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from great britain

Brilliant experience, great location

Posted May 3, 2015
Reserve & staff so friendly & helpful, food good, drinks great, definitely recommend to anyone thinking of booking, superb experience