Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington

Magical escape

Posted May 29, 2017
Being here for two days was an incredibly relaxing escape. Beautiful views, great food, and very nice staff. Stayed at the Fynbos villas which were very spacious and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great safari experience

Posted Apr 23, 2017
For safari lovers I would recommendtwo nights .. expensive but great .. the atmosphere is unique and staff are excellent.. food is good .. rooms has some insects but this is safari.. the games are good but number of animals was slightly less than I expected but still amazing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Prince George BC

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Gondwana was a first class experience. The staff were exceptionally friendly and energetic and all the facilities exceeded our (high) expectations. Tour guides were knowledgeable and the food in the restaurant was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Very unique experience.

Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Orbitz
Very classy and cool spot, only compliant was lack of active options onsite. We got a little cramped after two days.
5 out of 5
by David

Very high quality facilities and accommodation

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
We have been on many Game Reserves and this one certainly had the opportunity to be the best of all. The lodge facilities and room were the best we have ever experienced. New facilities, great quality fittings, and outstanding in every way. The only let down was the quality of the food. Not as good as it should have been for a facility of this quality. #Staff were lovely and wildlife happy to turn out and be photographed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago, IL, USA

rustic but comfortable.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Cons: I thought we would sit around a fire and grill meat outdoors instead of being served an average meal in the dinning room.
game park was great and Delicious, our guide, was very knowledgeable
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Strand

Gondwana Bliss

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
We wanted to visit a game reserve but we didn't want to travel too far so we decided to search for a local western cape game reserve. We found Gondwana Game Reserve and wow what a experience. From being greeted at gate one till we left we enjoyed every minute. It's still good to see there are people taking their jobs very serious and going the extra mile for their guests. The game drives were just amazing and very informative (thank you Delicious!). I will highly recommend Gondwana Game Reserve and we hope to be back soon...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abu Dhabi

Great safari experience catering to families

Posted Aug 19, 2016
The Gondwana game reserve was such a great experience it surpassed all expectations we collectively had as a family. The location made us feel completely isolated in the wilderness as true a simulation to being somewhere in the wild. The landscape, the flora the beauty was surreal. Though we stayed for three nights I feel that two would be sufficient as you could easily fit in a few game drives. The kids got slightly bored in between as there was no cable TV but you could rent DVDs (not the best selection available unfortunately) and find other means to pass the time such as short walks in the fenced areas. We stayed at the Sunset Ridge Lodges which was a good distance away from the main reception area and was a bit laborious getting to and fro especially at night. The lodge we had was very large and would be more suited to a party of 8 and was very well equipped with all mod cons though the furnishings and decor was not to my taste. The food was very good and staff were all wonderful and attentive. The highlight of our time though would have to be our Ranger, Eugene. We learnt so much from our drives together and he has such a wonderful way with children and adults. His passion for his work is so evident and we were very fortunate to have him as our Ranger.