Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by sarah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Lincolnshire, UK

Wacky, nostalgic hotel with great view

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Staying here was a different experience. Hotel harks back to the inter-war years of the grand hotels with decor and furnishings themed accordingly. This theme continues into bed heights (ours must have been a meter from the floor!) and the placement of light switches, which in our room were not designed to be turned off from the bed. However, the staff were lovely, as were the breakfasts served up on the patio overlooking the panorama of Plettenberg Bay with the Tsitsikamma Mountains beyond. We ate at the hotel on one of our two evenings and enjoyed nicely-presented, tasty food with quality wines available by the glass.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
Very tired hotel - aims to be shabby-chic but is definitely more shabby than chic. It could be great but it needs a lot of attention to bring it up to standard. French beds very high, no problem but could be for elderly or someone less mobile. Shower floor tiled crazy paving style with steeply sloping tiles and is very uncomfortable for standing. Pool area not inviting, only 2 sunlongers and not comfortable.
5 out of 5
by Carolyn

Charming and very cool

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed in some fabulous hotels during our South African trip but this was a highlight. Unique and quirky, great place to chill out with stunning views, super staff and chic surroundings. We stayed in the Farm suite which had its own secluded courtyard with an outside shower - so liberating! You need a footstool to climb up onto the huge beds. So much charm. A real delight.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

no shower no windows form without function

Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Hotels
terrible room - not even a shower just a hand held tub shower and no shower curtain. lighting in room deficient switches complicated to operate. service staff were excellent. restaurant had great view. location is very good right in the middle of downtown so walkable. form without function...unfortunately could not sleep comfortably in a tall high small bed and with no windows in room and only ventilation available from a standing round portable loud fan...very uncomfortable experience overall
4 out of 5
by Paul

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
We loved this room. The decoration, style and view were outstanding. Location is also fantastic for local bars shops and restaurants. Although it did not affect us or our stay in any way, drawback for some may be the lack of air conditioning and inability to receive wifi signal in the room (no.5).
5 out of 5
by denise

Brilliant place to stay.

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic place breakfast very good, friendly staff would definitely stay again, highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Glorious old style place with fantastic views.

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Pros: Architecture.
Location: To be used as a stepping off point. The town, per se, has little to offer.
First off, the place is unique in it's design and special architectural features. Views of the sea are great from many vistas. Staff is super friendly, gracious and helpful.