Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Glorious old style place with fantastic views.

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Pros: Architecture.
Location: To be used as a stepping off point. The town, per se, has little to offer.
First off, the place is unique in it's design and special architectural features. Views of the sea are great from many vistas. Staff is super friendly, gracious and helpful.
5 out of 5
by Semion

Unique experience

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
Rooms of this hotel are decorated in very special style. Bed is very high and you need to use a stool to climb. No shower, only bathroom with candle lights. Nice balcony with ocean view. In this room there is a feeling of 100 years ago. They also have nice restaurant. Nice stuff - we left early before breakfast and they prepared for us some takeaway.
5 out of 5
by Flavio

Cooles Hotel mit toller Aussicht.

Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
Schönes Hotel in Plettenberg. Keine 08/15 Zimmer. Gross und cool eingerichtet. Die Aussicht vom Restaurant auf den Strand ist herrlich. Gerne kommen wir wieder.
4 out of 5
by Allan from North Yorks

beautiful view

Posted Mar 19, 2016 on Hotels
A room with a view, arguably the best in South Africa, if you are staying in room 7. An exciting avant guarde experience staying at the Grand Cafe. Large rooms with plenty of classic french atmosphere to complement the position of this hotel. The food was superb, my husband had steak, I had kingclip prepared a la Heston B. The best I tasted throughout our trip. The service on the first night could have been improved but was first rate on the second evening.
4 out of 5
by Emma from Bristol

Fabulous views in Plettenberg Bay

Posted Mar 7, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed in room 5 - apparently the smallest and cheapest. However, the room was very large with a very quirky tall French style bed. Lots of room for clothes etc. The views from the private balcony were amazing (which you do not get from the ground level suites). The hotel is very chilled. Staff were really attentive and friendly. Tasty bistro style food. Excellent included breakfast. The only minor negative would be the lack of a proper shower.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Jederzeit wieder

Posted Mar 3, 2016
Gute Lage sehr individuelle stilvolle Zimmer , super Frühstück mit tollem Ausblick
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
Great quirky accommodation in great location with fantastic views.
4 out of 5
by Christopher

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mossel Bay, South Africa

Fun Hotel with Great Views

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: Great location.
Cons: Street Parking. We were lucky in that we found a spot smack in the front of the hotel, but what happens when one arrives late at night?
Location: It is basically on Plett's main street. Walking distance to shops, restaurants and a little African market.
Sadly we only stayed one night. The place is quirky and fun. The rooms are well appointed, and those insanely tall bed are decked with lovely bed linens and great pillows. The breakfast is nice and you can pretty much have breakfast your way. Dinner was good, though not great. The wait staff while very nice, does not listen closely to the guest's instructions. Blame it on our American accent! Overall a good stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2015 on Hotels
Quaint, quirky, funky place. We really enjoyed our stay.