Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton, UK

Delightful accommodation in Knysna

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Characterised by touches you'd normally only expect to find at a top class hotel - cool face towels and tea/coffee on arrival, bathrobes and slippers, and quality toiletries. Hostess was extremely helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. Although located close to a very busy main road, noise intrusion was minimal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Colleen, Hotel Management
Good morning Joe Thank you for taking the time to do the review on your stay with us. We are always greatly encouraged to receive positive feedback from our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful part of the world and obviously to Hide Away Guest House. All the best and kind regards. Cecil & Colleen
4 out of 5
by Philip

Room with a view!

Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
Our host Colleen made us very welcome at her Guest House. She provided great advice on excursions and places to see as well as restaurants. Our room was a good size and opened put onto a veranda which had fantastic views over the lagoon and out to the heads. Breakfast was delivered to the veranda each morning which was a nice touch. We will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from amin

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Great n cosy stay! View was fantastic and breakfast was fresh n good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by Colleen, Hotel Management
Many thanks for the short but great review. It is most encouraging to receive positive feedback. Kind regards Cecil & Colleen
5 out of 5
by Stewart from Sevenoaks

Garden Route meander.

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
Driving down the garden route this made a very welcome stop for a few days with good food in the town lots of day trips to interesting places. Location was superb.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Stewart Thank you for the great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the time with us and hope to see you back in the not too distant future. South Africa just has so much to offer, but a return to Knysna, is always a must! Take care and kind regards. Cecil & Colleen
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fremantle, western australia

A happy Hide Away

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: I like the position and the friendly ambiance
Location: Location excellent. Plenty of restaurants nearby. We were also told about the Elephant Park and Monkeyland
We found Colleen and Cyril very friendly and welcoming. The room we stayed in was beautiful with a gorgeous view over the ocean. Definitely highly rated as a place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by Colleen, Hotel Management
Hello Gill Thank you for the 5 star rating of your stay with us! Positive feedback is most appreciated as we continue to deliver the same high levels of service. We hope that you have plans to return to Knysna and Hide Away as it would be great having you with us again. Kind regards Cecil & Colleen
4 out of 5
by Frankie from Singapore

Very hospitable hosts

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Extremely friendly and helpful hosts. They gave us lots of suggestions on things to do, and where to go; and were so very hospitable. The place is clean, comfortable and safe. Such a pleasant place to stay, wished we could have stayed longer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good morning Frankie Apologies for the delay in getting back to you! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Hide Away Guest House. We certainly hope to see you again. Kind regards Cecil & Colleen
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good morning Anonymous It is rather unfortunate that we do not know who we are addressing this communication to. We note that you have rated us only 3 out of 5 and wonder where it is that we should be improving our product in order that you would revise your review when next you visit us - which we hope will be not too far in the future. Take care and kind regards Cecil & Colleen
5 out of 5
by Damien from Australia

perfect stay

Posted Feb 2, 2016 on Hotels
we loved our stay. the owners went above and beyond to assist in bookings and travel advice. we loved chatting to them both. a great stay and a highlight of our entire trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello there Apologies for not responding to your review sooner! It's great getting reviews such as yours - it just makes our job that much rewarding! When reviews are not that positive it is a little disheartening but then we know that we cannot please everybody all the time. It was great meeting you and we hope that you will return to South Africa for another visit, and please include Knysna and Hide Away in your itinerary. Kind regards Cecil & Colleen
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay, wonderful hosts

Posted Jan 23, 2016 on Hotels
Room was cute and very comfortable - slept like a log! Our host was so lovely, welcomed us when we arrived and sat down to help with out plans for the next day, offering some discount vouchers too which was great to have. Breakfast was nice. Not sure where the gym was, but I enjoyed being close to the knysna broadwalk for a lovely jog. Walking distance to the waterfront shipping area is about 15-20 minutes on the lagoon broadwalk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Anonymous Glad you enjoyed the "cute" room and that you slept well! When travelling on holiday it is great to have a good night's sleep so that you can enjoy the day ahead of you. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Take care and kind regards Cecil & Colleen
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Stay

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful atmosphere, hospitality and hosts.