Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Licht und Schatten

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Quad Tour
Cons: Das Personal ist eine Katastrophe
Nun, der Empfang im Nyaru war nicht so, wie man es sonst in SA erwartet. Unfreundlich und schnell, schnell. Überhaupt hat das Personal wohl noch ein paar Schulungen nötig, wie man mit Gästen verfahren sollte. Unabhängig davon war es toll - die Zimmer waren schick und die Quad Tour war das Highlight.
3 out of 5
by Claes-g from Stockholm

Bush life

Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Hotels
Somewhat to casual.
5 out of 5
by Antje

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Claudia from Québec

a very pleasent surprise!

Posted Jan 15, 2016 on Hotels
Well for starters, there was a girafe present for the tour of the lodge! Honestly this lodge was the highlight of our two week trip. The safari was great the room was big and clean (every thing look new).We had a giraffe sleep next to our room (how amazing I that). There was a Meercat who greeted us at our doorstep! It felt like the lion king movie haha! Oh yeah they have two bush pigs hanging around that are also very nice! I highly RECOMMEND this place, the staff was great and the food (we had supper and breakfast) was great. Our dinner was taken right next to a pond where the animals come and drink. By far the best supper (scenery & food) of my vacation!
5 out of 5
by Emma from Cork, Ireland

Superb, value 'Safari Lite' for Families

Posted Jan 10, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic place for a family with kids, a 'safari lite' if you like. They have a tame giraffe, a hilarious pair of warthogs, enough wildlife for a good quad bike safari and an early morning nature walk, both of which we did. They have small swimming pools, good food and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful couple of days at Nyaru, and also went into Mossel Bay a couple of times to eat which was excellent too. This is NOT a Big Five Safari, but once you have the right expectations, you will love this quirky but professionally run, family Safari Lodge.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SA

Game lodge with a surprise

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Cons: Pool area can be improved
Location: Close drive to Mosselbay and I would recommend swimming at the natural tidal pool formed between the rocks at the Point (behind the ice-cream vendors)
From the moment you enter the reserve you will be surprised by "Ayanda" the tame 2yr old giraffe who is always roaming around the accommodation and definately not camera shy. "Rafiki" the cute meerkat was also always close by with the two warthogs not too far behind. The rooms are pleasant and the staff was very friendly and engaging. Would definitely recommend this lodge for a one or two night stay and although they do not have the big five, having such a close encounter with a giraffe is a memorable experience.
3 out of 5
by Not Provided from De wet from Steelpoort

Nyaru Lodge

Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
Very good location, comfortable room, good facilities but food cab improve.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Four Star! (Officially rated three)

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Thank you for making our South Africa visit that much more special! We arrived and were not only greeted by friendly staff but wild (friendly) animals too! It was fantastic - my New Zealand partner was wowed! The room was clean, fresh and just what we expected from a game lodge plus more! Quite frankly, we were surprised this hidden gem was only rated a 3 star. We normally only stay in five star accomodation and we were impressed by the lodge - we'd rate it a four! We have no complaints what so ever! The staff were accomodating when we turned up with an additional guest. The food was authentic but still enjoyable for foreigners (I'm South African but my partner is from New Zealand). The resident meerkat was more than friendly and such a great little addition to our stay! The quad bike safari was amazing! We were able to get close but safely up to the wild life - our tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. And the quad bikes were a lot of fun too! We couldn't recommend this lodge more!! Exceptional! Thank you!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kleine Verbesserungen nötig

Posted Nov 19, 2015 on Hotels
Aufenthalt war sehr angenehm mit 'Hausgiraffe' Das Personal könnte etwas freundlicher sein. Die Betten in den Chalets könnten breiter sein , für 2 Erwachsene sehr schmal.
5 out of 5
by Not Provided from York uk


Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
Great place, very welcoming, went on a quad bike safari with Malcom... Great, well worth a visit.