Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SA

Game lodge with a surprise

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Cons: Pool area can be improved
Location: Close drive to Mosselbay and I would recommend swimming at the natural tidal pool formed between the rocks at the Point (behind the ice-cream vendors)
From the moment you enter the reserve you will be surprised by "Ayanda" the tame 2yr old giraffe who is always roaming around the accommodation and definately not camera shy. "Rafiki" the cute meerkat was also always close by with the two warthogs not too far behind. The rooms are pleasant and the staff was very friendly and engaging. Would definitely recommend this lodge for a one or two night stay and although they do not have the big five, having such a close encounter with a giraffe is a memorable experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Four Star! (Officially rated three)

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Thank you for making our South Africa visit that much more special! We arrived and were not only greeted by friendly staff but wild (friendly) animals too! It was fantastic - my New Zealand partner was wowed! The room was clean, fresh and just what we expected from a game lodge plus more! Quite frankly, we were surprised this hidden gem was only rated a 3 star. We normally only stay in five star accomodation and we were impressed by the lodge - we'd rate it a four! We have no complaints what so ever! The staff were accomodating when we turned up with an additional guest. The food was authentic but still enjoyable for foreigners (I'm South African but my partner is from New Zealand). The resident meerkat was more than friendly and such a great little addition to our stay! The quad bike safari was amazing! We were able to get close but safely up to the wild life - our tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. And the quad bikes were a lot of fun too! We couldn't recommend this lodge more!! Exceptional! Thank you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

Learning about the animals

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: Lovel setting
Cons: Better menu choice as they were obviously having fewer guests and little food choice. The pool looked very oily and in need of a clean
Location: Loads of walks
We were pleased by our lovely room and the range of activeties we could take part in.our guide Christian was very knowledgeable and gave us full value on our safari. We were the only guests on the first night and after eating the staff disappeared.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dana from Cape Town, South Africa

Off season, but still a very pleasant stay

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Christian, one of the staff members, was very attentive and helpful. The beds were also comfortable.
Cons: The heat did not work in our cabin, but was made okay by heated pads on the bed.
Location: A 15 minute drive from Mossel bay where there are other touristy things to do and food to enjoy.
The Nyaru Game lodge was a pleasant experience. Christian, the staff who took us on the game drive was very knowledgeable and responsive during the game drive and in general during our stay. Due it being off season, they were out of stock of a few things we requested during our stay, but they were eager to ensure our needs were met and offer other suggestions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jo from london

Lovely lodge with incredibly friendly staff

Posted Oct 19, 2013
Pros: The staff made you feel welcome and that they would like nothing better than to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. rooms were also amazing.
Cons: I loved it just the way it was
Location: It is not far from mossel bay where you can go Cage diving with the great whites if that is your sort of thing. Or you could drive to see the lions.
When we first showed up we were greeted by very friendly staff and offered a drink and a choice of rooms. The rooms fit in amazingly well with the settings with your own outside seating area and a very cozy lodge to relax in. We then went for lunch where the staff asked us our plans and if there was anything they could help us with and even booked my Cage diving experience for me whilst I had lunch. The surrounding landscape is a perfect setting to relax on the patio and take a few minutes for yourself whilst watching some wildlife. The game drive was a great experience with the guide stopping and giving us many facts as we went alone. No where else I have ever stayed has a rhino as a guard dog as we first saw the rhino as we drove up to the lodge on our second day there. It was fantastic to get back to nature and chill out in the evening on your patio, you even have your own fire place or bbq !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ron from colchester england

A lovely experience

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Been to lots of places in Africa of varying degrees of quality and this place is at the top end.Lovely people who are great company,good facilities,good food. stay here and you will not be disappointed .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Kleine sympathische lodge

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Angenehme Atmosphäre, freundliches Personal, Tiere direkt vor dem Haus
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Toller Aufenthalt. Wir konnten sehr viele Tiere erleben.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from M

Licht und Schatten

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Quad Tour
Cons: Das Personal ist eine Katastrophe
Nun, der Empfang im Nyaru war nicht so, wie man es sonst in SA erwartet. Unfreundlich und schnell, schnell. Überhaupt hat das Personal wohl noch ein paar Schulungen nötig, wie man mit Gästen verfahren sollte. Unabhängig davon war es toll - die Zimmer waren schick und die Quad Tour war das Highlight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bernheze

Onzettend leuke lodge op klein wild park

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Pros: kamers waren super en comfortabele bedden. Restaurant was goed, hoewel de keus beperkt was.
Location: Sper om de quad safari te doen zodat je heerlijk dichtbij kan komen.
Heerlijk genoten van de leuke cottages op het park. De tamme giraffe en everzwijnen maken het meteen gezellig. We zijn in de ochtend met de quad op "safari" geweest. Het park is niet zo groot dus in 2 uur heb je ook alles gezien, mooie is dat je heel dichtbij komt en schitterende foto's kan maken van de natuur en de dieren. Eten was goed. Toch zou ik hier niet meerdere dagen willen zitten, daarvoor is het park te klein en te weinig in de omgeving te doen.