Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, ME

Average hotel

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Cons: It would be nice if the shower had a curtain or a door so the bathroom floor would not get all wet.
Location: The Robertson Brewery is right down the street.
This chain is owned by Marriott, which seems to mean it is more expensive than other local hotels or brands, but that's about it. We were offered a welcome beverage which was nice. Other than that the accommodations were very average, even outdated. There are other hotels in the area that look like nicer options at a lower cost.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Laura Thank you for taking the time to place your reviews. We hope that you may return soon to experience the changes we have now made to the showers and floors. Look forward to welcoming you and showing you true hospitality.
5 out of 5
by Sophia

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
it was a lovely experience. The staff are warm and friendly. Thanks to Naeesha, Strealza and Candice for making my experience worth while.
5 out of 5
by David Francis from Halifax

Golf base camp

Posted Feb 11, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect base for golfing trip with your own room at a reasonable price and great breakfast
3 out of 5
by Marlene from Wellington, New Zealand

Comfortable and clean

Posted Jan 21, 2016 on Hotels
Paid extra for secure parking, which was worth it. Comfortable, clean room, but our room was located in noisy area of hotel. Had no towels one day, due to a laundry problem. Received some at 7:30pm that evening. Had four extra drinks on my account, which wasn't mine. It was eventually removed from my account.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Wouldn't go back

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Staff not particularly helpful (told us they didn't have a luggage cart, then we found one a few meters away), room small but clean. Not in a particularly exciting area. Adequate, but there are other places in the area for a comparable price that are much nicer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2015 by Gail, Hotel Management
Dear Laura Thank you for your review on Expedia. We are very sorry about the wrong information your were given about no luggage cart - we luggage carts and gentlemen that will assist you with your luggage. We will be looking into this as this is unacceptable and certainly not the norm. We find most guest choose our quaint hotel as they find the location so convenient - close to restaurants, shops, banks etc. Many within walking distance.
3 out of 5
by Linda from Wetherby

Protea hotel OK for a stopover

Posted Feb 16, 2015 on Hotels
Not a particularly good example of a Protea hotel but OK for a stopover. The staff and reception area were good but the room was a bit worn and in need of a make-over.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2015 by Gail, Hotel Management
Dear Linda We appreciate your comments on Expedia. The great news is that we have undergone a refurbishment programme since yu were here and we hope that you wil have an opportunity to return and experience our hospitality again!
5 out of 5
by David Francis from Halifax

Location Location George

Posted Feb 4, 2015 on Hotels
Ideal location in George Excellent buffet breakfast Free Wi-Fi Would stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2015 by Gail, Hotel Management
Dear David Thank you for taking the time to place your reviews on Expedia. We are so pleased you had such a good stay. We are fortunate that we have a great chef and our location perfect for guests who want to walk to restaurants, shops or banks. We look forward to your return.
4 out of 5
by The Common Man from Cape Town

Did the trick

Posted Mar 6, 2014 on Hotels
Was charged with organising a golf tour for 8 persons and we needed somewhere to get our heads down for the night. This hotel proved to be more than adequate and very reasonable value. Situated in the middle of George with a number of restaurants nearby the only criticism that came back to me is that the electrics in some of the rooms need a bit of TLC. Otherwise, fine and would use again
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2014 by Gail, Hotel Management
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are aware of one or two little faults but are in the process of redecorating all the rooms and this is one of the factors that are part of the updating process. We appreciate your comments. Protea Hotel Outeniqua Management