Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bellevue, WA

Hotel on the waterfront.

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Location. Right on the waterfront
Cons: Internet connection and room condition.
Motel type hotel. Room could have been cleaner. Internet connection was very poor. Staff not super helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Paul Fielder, Hotel Management
Dear KT man Thank you for your review. GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays again soon. Paul Fielder The General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth, England

Perfect position on The Quays

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Couldn't be better positioned on the Garden Route/N2 and right on Knysna Quays with shops and restaurants at hand. Hotel in very good condition, nice rooms and superb bathroom.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with great location

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed staying at the Protea. Parking is easy and not expensive,the rooms are a nice size and have everything you need! Breakfast is huge and varied and the staff friendly. Great location for boat trips, food and drink!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced, poor functiinality, stuffy room

Posted Nov 27, 2016
The air cond was very noisy, room was very extremely stuffy. Noisy building works in next room. Full of OAPs on bus tours. Avoid at all costs. Maybe 2 * on a good day
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Comfortable and great location

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Hard to fault. Modern, clean and comfortable room. Good bar and pool. Close to waterfront shops and restaurants and an easy walk into the town centre and Thesen Island.
4 out of 5
by Patricia from Basingstoke

Good hotel, well positioned

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
A well positioned hotel. The staff were very helpful at all times and the breakfast was excellent. Unfortunately I do have a negative comment. We put in a bag of laundry and got it back as per the service, I believe this is a service that is contracted out, not done in the hotel. I would recommend reviewing the laundry company you use....every piece of light coloured clothing came back with small black spots on it....I am trying to wash them out at present. Had we been staying longer I would have brought this to the hotel's attention and asked for the laundry to be redone but we left the next morning so nothing could be achieved.
3 out of 5
by Stephen from Monaco

OK for a night stop

Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
A bit of a tired hotel. The shower flooded and it is fairly basic.
4 out of 5
by Ian from Olney

Comfortable stay

Posted Feb 6, 2016 on Hotels
Great location on Quays. Quiet considering location. Comfortable stay. The hotel had everything we needed.