Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very well located

Posted May 1, 2017
Well located. Right next to the water front. Relaxed atmosphere. Its a B&B only, so guests need to figure lunch and dinner accordingly. There are enough options to eat, close by.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Paul Fielder, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. Thank you for choosing Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays. Kind Regards Paul Fielder General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ideal family getaway

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel. Maintenance required to ensure fixtures work in the bathroom e.g. Shower heads, shower door not closing properly.
4 out of 5
by Dr MD

Knysna quays Protea

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
I had a problem when checking in. The room was not ready until 14:30 despite being advised that check in time was 14:00. After that everything was smooth. The hotel has a wonderful heated swimming pool. You can walk straight into the waterfront area with shops and restaurants. There are boat trips available. It is a really good tourist venue. The room was clean and comfortable, although being used to a king size bed, the double bed felt a little too small. The free WiFi came in very useful for checking e-mails. The self service breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of food. Overall a very enjoyable stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bellevue, WA

Hotel on the waterfront.

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Location. Right on the waterfront
Cons: Internet connection and room condition.
Motel type hotel. Room could have been cleaner. Internet connection was very poor. Staff not super helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Paul Fielder, Hotel Management
Dear KT man Thank you for your review. GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays again soon. Paul Fielder The General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
We had a pleasant stay however we were told to get out of the pool when all we wanted to do was have some fun.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous Thank you for completing this review. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best! Yours sincerely, Paul Fielder General Manager
4 out of 5
by Tamara

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Adam

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
Pleasant enough environment. One of those places that looks better than it is. Internet only works in lobby area as it doesn't work in (at least some) rooms - the girl at the desk did not deal with this well. One gets the general impression that staff are not treated well here & there seems to be a general feeling of low morale, something I personally did not encounter anywhere else during my time in SA. This is an issue for management as this is usually where the 'blame' resides in such cases. There is a charge for parking & also an extra 1% charge that should be made clearer when you are booking your room as it was a surprise to us. Overall though not such a bad place with an alright spread for breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Adam Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays. Although it is our goal to meet and exceed GUEST expectations, we have unfortunately fallen short on our goal. Please accept my sincere apologies for the intermittent internet connection as well as the poor level of service received from our TEAM. We hope to welcome another opportunity to show you true Protea Hotels hospitality and service. Kind Regards Paul Fielder General Manager
4 out of 5
by Sharon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth, England

Perfect position on The Quays

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Couldn't be better positioned on the Garden Route/N2 and right on Knysna Quays with shops and restaurants at hand. Hotel in very good condition, nice rooms and superb bathroom.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with great location

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed staying at the Protea. Parking is easy and not expensive,the rooms are a nice size and have everything you need! Breakfast is huge and varied and the staff friendly. Great location for boat trips, food and drink!