Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Iain from Southampton

Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
Not quite as luxurious as other places we stayed in BUT made up for this once you explored all the other features to the hotel. Great value for money ....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Very lovely place , staff were extremely helpful and friendly
3 out of 5
by John from Stone

Typical seaside hotel.

Posted Feb 20, 2016 on Hotels
Nothing really wrong with this hotel,(except zero wifi reception unless you are in the reception area), but it just seems soleless. Strange room layout, with a non air conditioned first floor gallery bedroom, a ground floor lounge/kitchen, then a further flight of stairs down to the main (air conditioned) bedroom and bathroom. The permanently locked front door requiring staff to let you in, and the rest of the hotel surrounded by barbed wire is also a little off putting. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the restauarant is good, and the views from the room balcony, whilst having another building in front of them do give views of the sea.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Overbooked

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Pros: As we didn't stay there, I can't tell you!
Cons: No overbooking, or, at the very least, earlier warning of problems
I'd like to be able to review the hotel but as they were overbooked and we were "bumped" to a vastly inferior hotel I'm unable to tell you more! The really disappointing thing was that we weren't advised of the problem before we arrived late in the afternoon. If we had been told earlier we may have been able to find an acceptable alternative or extend our stay in nearby Wilderness. This was despite an email a few days before from Protea saying they were preparing for our stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2016 by Valthia Johnson, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time write your comments on Expedia. Again would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your recent visit to Mossel Bay. As discussed this was an error on our part and I can assure you this is not our normal standard of service. We take pride to meet GUESTS expectations and this was a shortfall on our part in this case. Measures has been put in place for this not to occur again and I hope we'll have the opportunity to host you in the not too distant future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Great hotel for an overnight stop back from the Garden Route
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2016 by Val, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for you feedback and staying with us. Hope we could welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards V Johnson Guest Relations
4 out of 5
by John

Fantastic View, Great history but dated passages.

Posted Feb 7, 2016 on Hotels
Offers normal and self-catering Rooms and only selected rooms have a sea view. Pro’s – Aircon, Spacious rooms, Fantastic restaurants (especially Sea Food) and a bar with a view of the beach front but also central to the town. Rooms are spacious and good modern bathroom. Wonderful pool Con’s – only selected rooms have a view of sea. Have to pay for secure parking, otherwise park on the street. Passages leading to room are very dates, but when you get into room it is good. Service lacked at bar. Had to beg a waiter for a drink.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 24, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Town

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Great time was had by us. Mossel Bay is where I grew up. I stayed at the Protea Hotel to attend a 40 year class reunion. I really enjoyed the amenities and Service.
4 out of 5
by Andrew from Buckingham, UK

Nice hotel, good location, excellent restaurant,

Posted Dec 14, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely modern hotel with clean room & up-to-date well fitted bathroom (no bath but excellent shower). Good location for beach as they have arrangement with nearby museum to allow guests to cut through grounds making beach a five minute walk away through gardens) Staff polite & helpful. Only issue that stopped me giving a 5* rating was sound insulation between rooms. Unfortunately placed next to group of teenage girls who didn't know the meaning of 'quiet' in anything they did! Had to do the 'angry neighbour banging on door' routine at 6am. If walls thicker it would have helped. Overall, a nice hotel though.
4 out of 5
by John from Johnny Moo

Protea Mossel bay

Posted Dec 5, 2015 on Hotels
Overall nice hotel and friendly helpful staff. I did not like the room layout with the bedrooms far from each other but that's because we have a small child. Also thought the balconies could be more securely separated