Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Iain from Southampton

Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
Not quite as luxurious as other places we stayed in BUT made up for this once you explored all the other features to the hotel. Great value for money ....
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Very lovely place , staff were extremely helpful and friendly
4 out of 5
by Karin from Lasne

nice stay but unlucky with the weather

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Nice room, good restaurant indoors
5 out of 5
by Dag from Arendal Norway

Meget bra

Posted Mar 25, 2016 on Hotels
Et meget pent hotel med topp service og god mat
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2016 on Hotels
Perfektes Seafood Dinner im dazugehörigem Restaurant
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stuttgart

Für ein bis zwei Nächte zu empfehlen.

Posted Mar 2, 2016
Location: Unbedingt den Strand besuchen am Leuchtturm und im Gezeitenbecken baden gehen. Schöner Spaziergang vom Hotel, dabei lernt man auch den Ort kennen.
Wir hatten zwei Übernachtungen im Hotel. Für einen Stopp von 1-2 Nächten eignet es sich gut, für längere Aufenthalte würde ich es nicht empfehlen. Die Lage ist perfekt. Hatten das Glück einen Parkplatz direkt vor dem Hotel zu haben, so wurde immer wieder ein Blick auf das Auto geworfen von der Rezeption aus. Das angeschlossene Restaurant ist ganz super fürs Frühstück (war im Hotelzimmer-Preis nicht enthalten übrigens!) und für das Dinner am Abend. Dort ist ein sehr aufmerksamer Service. Es ist in der Hotelanlage allgemein sehr laut, weil man sich der dröhnenden Abluftanlage des Restaurants nicht entziehen kann. Unser Zimmer lag zur Straße und die ging zum Fischerhafen, so daß ab 5 Uhr Betriebsamkeit herrschte. Meine Tochter hatte eine unschöne Begegnung, als sie Abends ins Zimmer ging, Stand dort eine Person, die sich ebenso erschreckte -wie sich herausstellte eine Angestellte, die die Bettdecke aufdeckt und Schokolade verteilt. Das sollte man wissen vorher als Gast, da man ja nicht auf der sicheren Seite sich bewegt in Südafrika. (Ich habe zwei Diebstähle hinter mir in eigentlichen "Safer-Situationen", eine davon in einer sehr schönen Unterkunft.) Wir haben das an der Rezeption auch kund getan. Ein Fön fehlte im Zimmer, den bekamen wir nach zwei Anfragen und 20 Minuten Wartezeit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2016 by V Johnson, Hotel Management
Vielen Dank für die Zeit nehmen, Ihre Kommentare zu Ihrem Aufenthalt im Protea Hotel Mossel Bay zu schreiben. Als zusätzliches Extra wir einen "Turn-down" Service bieten, wo unsere unsere Housekeeping das Bett in der Nacht drehen Sie in der Regel während die Gäste sind zum Abendessen und legt eine Schokolade auf dem Kopfkissen , Entschuldigungen für Ihre Tochter, die erschrak. Wir freuen uns über Ihr Feedback Ihr Feedback und hoffen, dass Sie wieder in nicht allzu ferner Zukunft zu begrüßen. V Johnson Guest Relations
3 out of 5
by John from Stone

Typical seaside hotel.

Posted Feb 20, 2016 on Hotels
Nothing really wrong with this hotel,(except zero wifi reception unless you are in the reception area), but it just seems soleless. Strange room layout, with a non air conditioned first floor gallery bedroom, a ground floor lounge/kitchen, then a further flight of stairs down to the main (air conditioned) bedroom and bathroom. The permanently locked front door requiring staff to let you in, and the rest of the hotel surrounded by barbed wire is also a little off putting. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the restauarant is good, and the views from the room balcony, whilst having another building in front of them do give views of the sea.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Overbooked

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Pros: As we didn't stay there, I can't tell you!
Cons: No overbooking, or, at the very least, earlier warning of problems
I'd like to be able to review the hotel but as they were overbooked and we were "bumped" to a vastly inferior hotel I'm unable to tell you more! The really disappointing thing was that we weren't advised of the problem before we arrived late in the afternoon. If we had been told earlier we may have been able to find an acceptable alternative or extend our stay in nearby Wilderness. This was despite an email a few days before from Protea saying they were preparing for our stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2016 by Valthia Johnson, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time write your comments on Expedia. Again would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your recent visit to Mossel Bay. As discussed this was an error on our part and I can assure you this is not our normal standard of service. We take pride to meet GUESTS expectations and this was a shortfall on our part in this case. Measures has been put in place for this not to occur again and I hope we'll have the opportunity to host you in the not too distant future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Sehr nettes Personal und zuvorkommend. Frühstück im Restaurant war super lecker. Das beste für Urlaubed ist jedoch, dass der Postkasten sich im Garten befindet, da es früher mal das ehem Postgebäude war. Jederzeit gerne wieder.