Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

The place for space and relaxation on Garden Route

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: The peace and quiet, the location, being able to take one's morning cup of tea down to the lagoon edge and watch the water.
Cons: It was perfect for our requirements, best for families and couples .
Location: Bathing and canoing in the lagoon, hiking and boat trips from the Quay. Restaurants and bars in abundance. Surfing and animals a short drive away.
Lovely self-catering chalets, on the lagoon with private access to it. Well appointed chalets, bathroom and shower room, deck and barbecue facilities, easy access to shops, the town and restaurants but peaceful and easy going. Nothing on the TV so we had a DVD streamed to us. There is a small amount of free wifi, but it is available all around Knysna or you can buy extra time from Reception. We found it an excellent spot to recharge our batteries for the next round of travelling and eating.
5 out of 5
by paul from Johannesburg south africa

Relaxing family holiday

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed on water front unit- more expensive than others but you have a patio in from with in obstructed views looking away from knysna heads over the lagoon Braai has free wood and more if you need Wi FI 100mb free on wireless which is not sufficient but a token and possibly enough - but not ideal as there were time limits etc- you can buy more if requires Kids were sick and staff helped exceptionally well to assist next day Restaurants walking distance - Senza resturant not great Fridge in unit Small heater in unit- unit a bit cold if middle of winter but I am sure if I had asked they would have brought another heater Plenty clean blankets etc 2 bathrooms in unit- I with shows one with toilet- big Units are clean and basic but more than what you need Limited Tv and very small but if you have the view not a problem I would not take a middle unit as no view Parking very cramped Beach in front of houses could get loud from other guests and off the water but we had no issues and slept well Big bonus- you have free canoes 1,2,3 seater so ideal to take kids or spouse for a paddle at high tide and walk on a huge open beach at low tide Will definitely stay again
5 out of 5
by Imogen

Amazing Unforgetable Stay!!! WOW Factor

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely magic location right on the lagoon beach front. Parking is a little tight BUT there is always a helpful visitor or staff member to assist. I only have one complaint and that is I booked on Trivago site and one of the major reasons I chose to got with Hotels.com although not the cheapest option I did not have to pay a deposit upfront. BUT Under Milkwood automatically deducted 50% of the booking value from my credit card. Yes they refunded it when I sent a copy of my booking conditions BUT due to Buy & Sell forex rates I was out of pocket over R120.00. When I checked out I mentioned this fact hoping that I would have been given some kind of rebate/compensation - but that was not the case. Would I go back ABSOLUTELY I can highly recommend the beachfront bungalows. Just a note that in cold windy weather they might be a bit chilly as they are delightful log cabins so not entirely airtight!!
4 out of 5
by Glenn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Chalets in great Location

Posted May 10, 2016
Directly located in the heads of knysna, the under milkwood is a really nice place to stay. We had a great view from the honey moon challets, which was also very cosy and had a big terasse. The bath rooms could have been a Bit cleaner.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jane from Canberra, Australia

Quiet oasis on the lagoon

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
Based away from the main thoroughfare of Knysna, in a quiet residential area. We had a lovely three night stay in a two bedroom cabin. The cabin was clean, spacious and very well equipped. The staff were very friendly and accomodations. Located on The Heads just a short walk to a great cafe surfing good coffee and Italian restaurant with excellent pizzas and seafood. We will return again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome room!!

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Awesome room!! Great view!! The cabin is close to the lake, and there are "Le creuset" everywhere. Therefore, I bought a lot of them.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from A

Wished we had more time here

Posted Mar 28, 2016
After being on the road a few days with different guest houses it was nice to be in a self catered facility that was like a comfortable home setting. Really wished to enjoy this a lot longer as it was away from the humdrum of the town and can enjoy the quiet in a lovely setting. Would highly recommend it here for families or group of friends.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

5 days in knysna

Posted Mar 12, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Staff were good.
Cons: Toiletries could be provided.
Location: On the knysna lagoon.
Stayed in a middle chalet .It was ok.Accommodation was adequate.Nothing special.